Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-05-02, 06:36 AM   #1
Nutty
Sittin in the Sun
 
Nutty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,835
Send a message via MSN to Nutty
Default nforce2 question.

Hi,
I'm thinking of upgrading my pc, but I need to do it in stages cos of the cost.

I'm thinking of getting an nforce2 board, but would I still be able to use my Athlon Thunderbird processor in it, till I can get a new one?

Also is the nforce2 board compatible with the clawhammer when it comes out?

Thanks.
Nutty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-02, 08:06 AM   #2
Smokey
Team Rainbow
 
Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 2,273
Default

Yes, the NForce2 uses a SotA config for the cpu, so yes. I think that you will need to upgrade your memory though, as I dont think any NForce boards will support SDR RAM only DDR.
__________________
HTPC/Gaming
| Hiper Type R 580W PSU
| Intel Q9550 @ 4GHz | Gigabyte EP45 UD3R |4x 1024MB OCZ Reaper PC9200 DDR2 | Seagate 320GB/ Maxtor 320GB/ Maxtor 500GB HDD|Sapphire HD5850 | Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Pro | Harmon Kardon AVR135 reciever | Jamo S718 speakers | 42" Plasma 720p (lounge room)-Samsung P2450H (bedroom)
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-02, 08:45 AM   #3
Nutty
Sittin in the Sun
 
Nutty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,835
Send a message via MSN to Nutty
Default

Yeah sure, thats not a problem.

I should get some speed increase from going to some high speed DDR. Then later I can plug in a athlonxp/barton 2800+ or maybe a clawhammer if it works.
Nutty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-02, 11:52 AM   #4
Smokey
Team Rainbow
 
Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 2,273
Default

AthlonXP/Barton cpu's yes, as for hammer, im pretty sure that they are chaging the format, the cpu looks more like a P4 and uses alot more pins on the underneath if im not mistaken?
__________________
HTPC/Gaming
| Hiper Type R 580W PSU
| Intel Q9550 @ 4GHz | Gigabyte EP45 UD3R |4x 1024MB OCZ Reaper PC9200 DDR2 | Seagate 320GB/ Maxtor 320GB/ Maxtor 500GB HDD|Sapphire HD5850 | Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Pro | Harmon Kardon AVR135 reciever | Jamo S718 speakers | 42" Plasma 720p (lounge room)-Samsung P2450H (bedroom)
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD 2800+ 333mhz fsb AND nForce2 at hardocp thcdru2k CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 25 10-02-02 09:02 AM
1st post - XP Restore question Needa916 Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 2 09-12-02 05:24 PM
Newby question about nforce.... superconti NVIDIA Linux 2 09-07-02 11:46 PM
Dual boot question.. Tactics General Hardware 15 09-07-02 10:39 AM
Quick question about Digital din with the Audigy Tactics General Hardware 4 08-12-02 12:16 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.