Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-23-04, 02:26 PM   #1
NeoXP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 25
Send a message via ICQ to NeoXP
Default Getting nForce to work with kernel 2.6.3

I have succesfully upgraded to kernel 2.6.3 on my ABIT NF7-s MoBo running Mandrake 9.2, but I can't get my onboard NIC to work.

I have heard of a patch to get NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261 to work with kernel 2.6 (nvnet-patch).

Has anyone of you succeeded and if so how did you do it? What are the steps I have to follow, which commands etc.

Thxs,
NeoXP
__________________
Abit NF7-sl nForce2 / AMD Athlon xp 2700 (@2300 Mhz)
2 x 256 Mb PC 2700 DDR SDRAM
Connect 3D Radeon 9000 128 Mb
Western Digital 120 Gb (7200 rpm, 8 Mb)
Maxtor DiamondMax VL40 31024H1 10.2GB (5400 rpm, 2 Mb)
Lite On DVD / NEC ND-1100A @ ND-1300A

Dual Boot:
Mandrake 10.0 CE
WinXP

Last edited by NeoXP; 02-25-04 at 02:37 PM.
NeoXP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-04, 07:21 AM   #2
blueworm
[DEADAGAIN]blueworm
 
blueworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 416
Default

You dont need anything contained in the nvidia nforce drivers package...
Everything is allready in the kernel, as of 2.6.2.
Use forcedeth for NIC.
Use snd-intel8x0 for audio.
blueworm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-04, 07:42 AM   #3
NeoXP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 25
Send a message via ICQ to NeoXP
Default

Then please help me, how do I install them. Are they modules, should I use modprobe?

I'm a newbee but wanting to improve.

Thxs
__________________
Abit NF7-sl nForce2 / AMD Athlon xp 2700 (@2300 Mhz)
2 x 256 Mb PC 2700 DDR SDRAM
Connect 3D Radeon 9000 128 Mb
Western Digital 120 Gb (7200 rpm, 8 Mb)
Maxtor DiamondMax VL40 31024H1 10.2GB (5400 rpm, 2 Mb)
Lite On DVD / NEC ND-1100A @ ND-1300A

Dual Boot:
Mandrake 10.0 CE
WinXP
NeoXP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-04, 11:37 AM   #4
blueworm
[DEADAGAIN]blueworm
 
blueworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 416
Default

Compile forcedeth as a module.
Then to load add to your /etc/modules
Code:
# echo forcedeth >> /etc/modules
What this instruction does is add the text forcedth to the bottom of your /etc/modules.
This will load forcedth every time you boot.
You can also load it manually using modprobe.
Code:
# modprobe forcedeth
Another option is to actually build into the kernel.
Then you must try and configure the eth device.
Once the module has loaded devfs will create an eth device, /dev/eth0, /dev/eth1 etc...
depending on how many lan cards you have.
Try using the mandrake GUI config tool.
I have not used Mandrake since 9.1 and to get nvnet to work I had to configure it manually.
This may not be the case with forcedeth but I am not sure.
Anyhow I you search this forum you willl find an explanation of how to configure manually for mandrake. I wrote it a year ago.
Goodluck.
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...threadid=16954

Last edited by blueworm; 02-24-04 at 11:53 AM.
blueworm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-04, 02:35 PM   #5
NeoXP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 25
Send a message via ICQ to NeoXP
Default

Thxs sofar Blueworm,

But please help me some more, because I'm a complete newbee to compiling and stuff!

I found in /lib/modules/2.6.3-1mdk/kernel/drivers/net the following file forcedeth.ko.gz

I presume this is the one I have to compile, but how do I do that?

When I have compiled it, I will follow the instructions in your last post and I think I can manage within Mandrake Control Center to get it up and running.

Hope to see your reply soon

Thxs
__________________
Abit NF7-sl nForce2 / AMD Athlon xp 2700 (@2300 Mhz)
2 x 256 Mb PC 2700 DDR SDRAM
Connect 3D Radeon 9000 128 Mb
Western Digital 120 Gb (7200 rpm, 8 Mb)
Maxtor DiamondMax VL40 31024H1 10.2GB (5400 rpm, 2 Mb)
Lite On DVD / NEC ND-1100A @ ND-1300A

Dual Boot:
Mandrake 10.0 CE
WinXP
NeoXP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-04, 02:52 PM   #6
blueworm
[DEADAGAIN]blueworm
 
blueworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 416
Default

I took for granted that you had allready compilled the kernel.
please type this and post the result.
Code:
$ uname -r
All this does is print to stdout(terminal) kernel version actually running.
If it prints something like this...
Code:
2.6.3-1mdk
Then I think you should be good to go allready.
Just change directory to /lib/modules/2.6.3-1mdk/kernel/drivers/net.
Code:
# cd /lib/modules/2.6.3-1mdk/kernel/drivers/net
and unpack the forcedeth.ko.gz.
Code:
# gunzip forcedeth.ko.gz
Now you will have the module installed.
You can now try to load it.
Code:
# modprobe forcedeth
Now you can follow my previous post.
blueworm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-04, 03:35 PM   #7
NeoXP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 25
Send a message via ICQ to NeoXP
Default

Thxs Blueworm,

I got it working! But I didn't have to unzip it! First I unzipped it as you wrote, but when I tried modprobe I got a message saying couldn't find /lib/modules/2.6.3-1mdk/kernel/drivers/net/forcedeth.ko.gz.

So I figured what the h*ll is going on! So I did:

gzip forcedeth.ko

and then:

modprobe forcedeth

no errrors or something.

Then I went into drakconf and brought up my connection.

This proves the statement: Once you have done it, it is extremely simple

Thxs again M8!
__________________
Abit NF7-sl nForce2 / AMD Athlon xp 2700 (@2300 Mhz)
2 x 256 Mb PC 2700 DDR SDRAM
Connect 3D Radeon 9000 128 Mb
Western Digital 120 Gb (7200 rpm, 8 Mb)
Maxtor DiamondMax VL40 31024H1 10.2GB (5400 rpm, 2 Mb)
Lite On DVD / NEC ND-1100A @ ND-1300A

Dual Boot:
Mandrake 10.0 CE
WinXP
NeoXP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-04, 03:00 PM   #8
Cigarman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Maine!!!
Posts: 37
Default nforce anger

I also had some problems getting the damn thing to work under linux 2.6.3 with mandrake cooker but here's a new twist. The module nvaudio is not found when booting. If this stuff is suipposed to be included in the kernel then ???? The intel driver seemed to be just a sloppy patch even in the 2.4.xx kernel and didnt work worth diddly then either. Must we recompile the driver for 2.6 or something? I'm trying to use S/PDIF on my board as I do in winXP but no deal so far. I can see NVIDIA's reluctance to embrace the OSS model but sheesh this has been months and no leeway since 2.6.1 of the nforce drivers on their site.
Cigarman is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-27-04, 02:55 PM   #9
blueworm
[DEADAGAIN]blueworm
 
blueworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 416
Default

nvaudio does not work in 2.6 Nobody has bothered to patch it since the alsa driver is better.
The problem with the alsa driver is that getting the SPDIF to work is a nightmare.
blueworm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-04, 03:33 PM   #10
Cigarman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Maine!!!
Posts: 37
Default

well then perhaps its time to go for that M-audio 7.1 card with the spdif and see if linux of any sort supports it. This driver/hardware madness is just silly.
Cigarman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-04, 04:06 PM   #11
kenjiro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brazil
Posts: 6
Send a message via ICQ to kenjiro
Default

Well... I won't go as far as talking about SPDIF.

OK, I got my nforce2 to work on my 2.6.3 kernel (Slackware Linux). I used the forcedeth and 3Com modules, OK!

For the Audio, I followed the tips I read here and I am already listening to music with XMMS and watching movies with MPlayer.

However, I am stuck with 2 speakers only. Has anyone put the Linux box to work with 6 speakers? On Windows it works.

OK, I was trying XMMS and probably the other 4 speakers were not working because the mp3 file was created to use only the 2 front speakers. However, on Windows the driver/software does that for me, splitting the music along the 6 speakers (or faking that *LOL*).

I tried an DivX movie I have on my HD, which supposedly has an AC3 5.1 sound. Even then I could only hear the sound coming from the 2 front speakers.

Ok... that's it! Anyone put the 6 speakers to work? How?

Thanks
__________________
May the Force be with you!
kenjiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-04, 04:26 PM   #12
blueworm
[DEADAGAIN]blueworm
 
blueworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 416
Default

check out the comments at the bottom.
http://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-doc...odule=intel8x0
blueworm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Random crashes, NVRM Xid messages Iesos NVIDIA Linux 90 10-04-12 03:27 AM
Corrupted display - 302.17 - Dell Precision T3500 (G98 [Quadro NVS 295]) gbailey NVIDIA Linux 1 06-27-12 10:24 AM
UEFI+Nvidia - NVRM: Your system is not currently configured to drive a VGA console... interzoneuk NVIDIA Linux 0 06-26-12 04:51 AM
xorg locks-up with newest nvidia drivers w/ vdpau. theroot NVIDIA Linux 1 06-24-12 11:04 AM
Crash when logout from X TGL NVIDIA Linux 10 09-13-02 08:22 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.