Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-13-04, 03:21 PM   #37
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default

Yeah i couldn't find the topic at the time but posted it here while i still had the link. As for the programs you will find they use the same sensors as is used in the BIOS there is only 1 after all.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-04, 03:37 PM   #38
Woodelf
I should be gaming.
 
Woodelf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ferelden
Posts: 908
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dazz
As for the programs you will find they use the same sensors as is used in the BIOS there is only 1 after all.
Well no sometime the bios will use the die temp, where as (some) apps such as Asus probe will be reading the socket temp.
__________________
i7920 @ 4.0 DO - Gigabyte ud4p - g.skill trident 6x2 ddr3 2000 @1600 7.7.7.18.1 - Cogage true spirit/sythe kaze 2000 - 2x Raid "0" WD 500GB (black) - xfi fatal1ty pro - Asus 5970 900/1200 - Corsair 1000HX - Samsung px2370
Woodelf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-04, 03:55 PM   #39
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default

As the article says, no modern boards have socketed sensors anymore and read them from the CPU, the software is used to read them but some times the coding gets changed and the readings go out of wack. This was the case with my software, early version -3C then what the BIOS reads now it's +3C with the updated software.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-04, 04:08 PM   #40
Woodelf
I should be gaming.
 
Woodelf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ferelden
Posts: 908
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dazz
As the article says, no modern boards have socketed sensors anymore and read them from the CPU, the software is used to read them but some times the coding gets changed and the readings go out of wack. This was the case with my software, early version -3C then what the BIOS reads now it's +3C with the updated software.
I'm not really sure who this was intended for since it's in the wrong thread, but all I can say is, what do you consider modern?. The Asus a7n8x (for instance) is one of the top selling (I consider modern) motherboards, still has a socket sensor.
__________________
i7920 @ 4.0 DO - Gigabyte ud4p - g.skill trident 6x2 ddr3 2000 @1600 7.7.7.18.1 - Cogage true spirit/sythe kaze 2000 - 2x Raid "0" WD 500GB (black) - xfi fatal1ty pro - Asus 5970 900/1200 - Corsair 1000HX - Samsung px2370
Woodelf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-04, 06:15 PM   #41
SnakeEyes
Registered User
 
SnakeEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lake Zurich, IL
Posts: 502
Send a message via ICQ to SnakeEyes
Thumbs up

That's absolutely true, just as Woodelf has stated. My A7N8X Deluxe 1.04 has both the socket thermistor and is also capable of reading the on-chip diode. I'm not certain which the bios is showing with this Mobile Barton processor because the bios can't identify it properly, but with regular desktop Bartons I know for sure it uses the on-chip sensor, while for previous CPUs that lacked this feature it switches automatically to the socket thermistor. Motherboard Monitor 5.3.0 actually allows me to see both, but I'm not sure whether it does any 'adjusting' of the values coming from either one. (I currently do have it set to show both, and the CPU diode reads anywhere from 2 to 7C higher than the socket thermistor in MBM, with the difference varying proportionally with the processor loading).
__________________
Snake-Eyes
SnakeEyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-04, 06:41 PM   #42
kraigc
kagogi jum ju ship shiyo!
 
kraigc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Kunsan AB, ROK
Posts: 223
Default

heres my POS. Had to lower the FSB while I wait for the new waterblock.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	oc1.jpg
Views:	127
Size:	48.1 KB
ID:	4873  
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q6600
Asus P5N32-E SLI
Koolance PC2-650BK
2G Corsair XMS PC6400
BFG GeForce 8800GTS 512 (g92)
Audigy 2 ZS
80GB Seagate Barracuda
80GB Maxtor
Plextor 708A DVD-/+RW
Plextor 716A DVD-/+RW
kraigc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-04, 03:58 AM   #43
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default

Any CPU/board capable of thermal management (shut down or throttling) uses the on-die diode. The socketed sensor is for the older processors like the Thunderbird or spitfire which don't have intergraded thermal diode. The socket sensor will be disabled when reading from the die also socket sensors tend to be well off and are slow to react to temps while on-die reads in real-time and can power off the system quickly.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-04, 05:04 AM   #44
MUYA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,794
Send a message via MSN to MUYA
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dazz
Any CPU/board capable of thermal management (shut down or throttling) uses the on-die diode. The socketed sensor is for the older processors like the Thunderbird or spitfire which don't have intergraded thermal diode. The socket sensor will be disabled when reading from the die also socket sensors tend to be well off and are slow to react to temps while on-die reads in real-time and can power off the system quickly.
On the subject of CPU throttling in ABIT nf7-S v2 mothebroards. That option is the BIOS has settings of 75%, 50%, 25% etc and disabled. Any idea what that does?

Would it mean when idle or not doing stuff, it throttles the CPU's activity or whatever to erm the said percetange or...?

/me scratches head

edit : nevermind folsk I just found out here
__________________
I5-2500k@4.7GHz - MSI Z77A-GD65 - 4GB X2 A-DATA DDR3 1600 - Corsair H100 - Antec Quatro 850W
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 680 OC - Dell 24" IPS
Intel 320 300 GB SSD - 1 TB Hitachi HDD - 2x 250 GB WD HDD
Corsair K90 - Corsair Venegance 2000 Headset - Razer Naga Epic
Corsair 600T Case
MUYA is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-14-04, 07:23 AM   #45
RobHague
I like cheese.
 
RobHague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 904
Default

Im in the 'or not' catogory (first post)

Here is mine, no overclock because im too scared and tis pretty nippy as it is....but maybe some point in the future

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cpuz.png
Views:	275
Size:	34.1 KB
ID:	4880  
__________________

There used to be a signature here, but now there isnt.
RobHague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-04, 08:47 AM   #46
Woodelf
I should be gaming.
 
Woodelf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ferelden
Posts: 908
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dazz
Any CPU/board capable of thermal management (shut down or throttling) uses the on-die diode. The socketed sensor is for the older processors like the Thunderbird or spitfire which don't have intergraded thermal diode. The socket sensor will be disabled when reading from the die also socket sensors tend to be well off and are slow to react to temps while on-die reads in real-time and can power off the system quickly.
Although software based (vs bios) programs (like waterfall or VCool) which can throttle to any (acpi chipset) motherboard temp sensor available to it.
overclockers have been using apps. like these for years to control heat.
Though not as fail safe as modern (P4) on die throttling.
__________________
i7920 @ 4.0 DO - Gigabyte ud4p - g.skill trident 6x2 ddr3 2000 @1600 7.7.7.18.1 - Cogage true spirit/sythe kaze 2000 - 2x Raid "0" WD 500GB (black) - xfi fatal1ty pro - Asus 5970 900/1200 - Corsair 1000HX - Samsung px2370
Woodelf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-04, 09:34 AM   #47
Woodelf
I should be gaming.
 
Woodelf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ferelden
Posts: 908
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dazz
The socket sensor will be disabled when reading from the die also socket sensors tend to be well off and are slow to react to temps while on-die reads in real-time and can power off the system quickly.
For bios throttling purposes, not software Monitoring/throttling.
Another thing to note is that the hardware monitoring screen (in bios) uses the socket diode, as any (athlonxp/barton) vapochill owner can attest to. When You build a vapochill (for athlon) the socket is filled with foam thus covering the diode. Bios temp reading's become irrelivent and all temp reading's are then taken from the evaporator. Correct me if I'm wrong, but as far as I know, on die thermal sensors are only for fail safe (and not monitoring by the user) purposes. I can't say for athlon 64's and p4's.
__________________
i7920 @ 4.0 DO - Gigabyte ud4p - g.skill trident 6x2 ddr3 2000 @1600 7.7.7.18.1 - Cogage true spirit/sythe kaze 2000 - 2x Raid "0" WD 500GB (black) - xfi fatal1ty pro - Asus 5970 900/1200 - Corsair 1000HX - Samsung px2370
Woodelf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-04, 11:35 AM   #48
FastM
GeForceFlop
 
FastM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 545
Send a message via ICQ to FastM
Default

@ RobHague

What kinda power supply are u using in that system

Nice system btw
FastM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maintain Your Privacy by Manually Accepting and Rejecting "Cookies" (nV News) MikeC Open Forum 2 02-02-13 07:15 PM
Prime95 and CPU stress testing DaveW General Software 2 10-05-02 12:38 PM
CPU limitations abound! PCarr78 NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 11 10-03-02 07:49 AM
Temp CPU until Barton... pelly CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 9 09-13-02 01:42 AM
GeForce4 owners: Please post your TV encoder and board information ScuzziOne NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 8 08-04-02 06:55 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.