Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-09-04, 11:40 PM   #1
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Angry Just wondeful... Lockups.

OK, I'm not sure WTH is wrong but my machine is locking up hard in UT2004 demo and CoD. Same sort of symptoms - sound is stuck in a loop while it's froze hard.

CoD won't even run for 10 minutes before it happens. I've tried changing the sound settings, dropping the resolution down, and turning models and other detail settings down. It still dies an ugly death.

Any ideas on where to start? The machine will run SETI client for days at a time with no issues. I am going to run memtest86 all night and see what happens. If that passes I'll run 3dmark2001 in a loop all night tomorrow. Should I try going back to a different catalyst version? Currently @ 4.2..
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-04, 11:41 PM   #2
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default

Maybe at this point it would work if you had a fresh start..
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-04, 05:43 AM   #3
Smokey
Team Rainbow
 
Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 2,273
Default

Also make sure that your Audigy isnt sharing an IRQ, that has caused me probs in the past.
__________________
HTPC/Gaming
| Hiper Type R 580W PSU
| Intel Q9550 @ 4GHz | Gigabyte EP45 UD3R |4x 1024MB OCZ Reaper PC9200 DDR2 | Seagate 320GB/ Maxtor 320GB/ Maxtor 500GB HDD|Sapphire HD5850 | Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Pro | Harmon Kardon AVR135 reciever | Jamo S718 speakers | 42" Plasma 720p (lounge room)-Samsung P2450H (bedroom)
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-04, 09:24 AM   #4
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default

As of this morning memtest86 hasn't produced any errors and it's been going for 9 hours. I'm going to check it tonight and consider it a passed test if it makes it until then. After that I'll loop 3dmark2001 overnight.

I'll be sure to check that interrupt as well Smokey and make sure my audigy isn't sharing. It wouldn't surprise me if it did - I have PnP OS turned ON in the BIOS so I let Windows handle IRQ assignments. Never had a problem like this before with that.

Strange thing is that Halo runs fine. But CoD and UT2004 demo don't. WTF??

jAkUp - did you mean a complete reinstall of the OS, etc. when you said "fresh start"?
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-04, 10:38 AM   #5
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default

Yea.. since that usually fixes all my problems

And yes, I never thought about that, but make sure about the IRQ like smokey said. And did you change anything right before you started having problems?
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-04, 10:41 AM   #6
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default

Heh... Get this. The only thing I changed was rebuilding my system.

But I know that sometimes things can go wrong when you do that and you won't realize it until a little ways down the road. To be fair though, I didn't even play with CoD or UT2004 demo until AFTER I had just rebuilt. So, it's possible the problem was there before hand and I never saw it until now.

Before I rebuild I am going to loop 3dmark2001 and see what happens. I am also going to remove the Intel Desktop Control Center, a program I have had issues with before. I doubt it has anything to do with this, but let's just say I do not trust it at all.

Do you think going back to Catalyst 3.7 would be worth a shot? Seems like some people like to run those, even now with as old as they are.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-04, 10:56 AM   #7
Smokey
Team Rainbow
 
Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 2,273
Default

The reason ht eIRQ thing came to mind, was that Ive had the Audigy share an IRQ, mostly with the videocard, on 3 seperate motherboards, before I knew what the problem was

It cant hurt trying the older CATs, its one of those problems, that if no one has had the same problem, its just alot of troubleshooting, and as jAkUp said, you can alsways format
__________________
HTPC/Gaming
| Hiper Type R 580W PSU
| Intel Q9550 @ 4GHz | Gigabyte EP45 UD3R |4x 1024MB OCZ Reaper PC9200 DDR2 | Seagate 320GB/ Maxtor 320GB/ Maxtor 500GB HDD|Sapphire HD5850 | Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Pro | Harmon Kardon AVR135 reciever | Jamo S718 speakers | 42" Plasma 720p (lounge room)-Samsung P2450H (bedroom)
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-04, 11:04 AM   #8
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default

Do you know of any good guides out there on the web that I could print out which might detail the steps to properly install Windows with PnP OS turned off? It's been a long time since I let it install that way and I kinda remember seeing a nice little guide somewhere on how to do it.

It's not as simple as just turning PnP OS to off is it?

What sorts of problems were you having when the audigy shared interrupts with your video card?
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-10-04, 12:03 PM   #9
Smokey
Team Rainbow
 
Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 2,273
Default

Well the thing I noticed most, was shen playing RavenShield. After a few mins, the sound would start screatching, then go all togther, slow my fps right down, then lockup if I kept running it. I also let windows select the IRQs for me, but for some reason, once the Audigy drivers are installed, the card may share an IRQ. If it is, just turn off the pc, and move the card to a different pci slot, and it should reassign the IRQ.

Here is a pic of my IRQs

__________________
HTPC/Gaming
| Hiper Type R 580W PSU
| Intel Q9550 @ 4GHz | Gigabyte EP45 UD3R |4x 1024MB OCZ Reaper PC9200 DDR2 | Seagate 320GB/ Maxtor 320GB/ Maxtor 500GB HDD|Sapphire HD5850 | Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Pro | Harmon Kardon AVR135 reciever | Jamo S718 speakers | 42" Plasma 720p (lounge room)-Samsung P2450H (bedroom)
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-04, 12:37 PM   #10
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default

Sounds like I need to turn PnP OS to OFF and reinstall XP if I end up needing to turn IRQ sharing OFF. There are other ways to do it without a reinstall but it sounds risky. See:
http://www.anandtech.com/guides/viewfaq.html?i=47

Also, I'm not sure how this would effect hyperthreading under XP because it sounds like ACPI might be important to have turned on for it. Not sure yet... Smokey, could you verify PnP OS is OFF in your BIOS and that under device manager, under "Computer" you DO NOT have ACPI in there? If you have ACPI in there you still have IRQ sharing turned on.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-04, 12:47 PM   #11
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default

See attached screenie. If you have ACPI showing up here, then you DO have IRQ sharing turned on. At least, that's what I've been reading so far anyway.

I'm not going to reinstall yet - but will do so after I run out of other ideas.

Last edited by Riptide; 07-13-11 at 11:03 AM.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-04, 02:34 PM   #12
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default

Memtest86 ran for 15 hours of walltime and there were no errors. I'm going to run 3dmark2001 all day today while I'm @ work and see how it goes. If it runs for 8 hours or more without a crash that's going to have me wondering WTH is going on. I'll post an update as soon as I get done running that test.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3D emitter lockups, Computer not locked up DragonDru NVIDIA Linux 15 05-31-12 04:28 AM
Lockups with 302.07 x86_64 8800GT marcnarc NVIDIA Linux 6 05-07-12 10:24 AM
Hard lockups - AGP not guilty milo NVIDIA Linux 11 11-12-02 10:20 AM
GL lockups with ti4200, i845E and 2.4.20-pre7-ac3 baffle NVIDIA Linux 3 10-06-02 08:39 PM
Gnome2 lockups due to bug in X driver hobbes NVIDIA Linux 11 07-29-02 05:38 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.