Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-10-04, 09:39 PM   #1
The Punisher
nVidia GeForceFX 5900U
 
The Punisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 133
Question The 256MB Question?

Does anyone know which, if any, of the current games support 256MB of video mem? And is there any tweaks to make them use more than 64MB or 128MB?
__________________
Frank Castle is dead... call me THE PUNISHER
The Punisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-04, 09:43 PM   #2
LiquidX
xxxxxxx
 
LiquidX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: xxxxxxxx
Posts: 2,113
Default

Not sure but I think Call of Duty has features that are only turned on with a 256MB card.
LiquidX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-04, 10:09 PM   #3
MUYA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,795
Send a message via MSN to MUYA
Default

Evolva a DX7 game but when Hot hardware used to test the 128MB vs 256MB radeon 9800s, they noticed the textures were sharper and more detailed on the 256MB version
__________________
I5-2500k@4.7GHz - MSI Z77A-GD65 - 4GB X2 A-DATA DDR3 1600 - Corsair H100 - Antec Quatro 850W
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 680 OC - Dell 24" IPS
Intel 320 300 GB SSD - 1 TB Hitachi HDD - 2x 250 GB WD HDD
Corsair K90 - Corsair Venegance 2000 Headset - Razer Naga Epic
Corsair 600T Case
MUYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-04, 10:11 AM   #4
theultimo
DoD + Sharepoint=Headache
 
theultimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Iraq
Posts: 667
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MUYA
Evolva a DX7 game but when Hot hardware used to test the 128MB vs 256MB radeon 9800s, they noticed the textures were sharper and more detailed on the 256MB version


I thought it was a graphics demo, the game really didn't play well
__________________
MAIN MACHINE: Macbook Pro Currently being used in Clamshell Mode | Core Duo 2.16 | 2GB DDR-2 667 | Mobility Radeon X1600 256MB (Underclocked version) | Windows Vista/OS X | 19' Viewsonic 1912wb
UMPC: Samsung Q1 | 512MB DDR-2 | 40GB | Xp Tablet PC 2005 | Intel GMA 900
XBOX Live Gamertag: theultimos
theultimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-04, 11:35 AM   #5
MUYA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,795
Send a message via MSN to MUYA
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by theultimo
I thought it was a graphics demo, the game really didn't play well
My bad...i didn't know
__________________
I5-2500k@4.7GHz - MSI Z77A-GD65 - 4GB X2 A-DATA DDR3 1600 - Corsair H100 - Antec Quatro 850W
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 680 OC - Dell 24" IPS
Intel 320 300 GB SSD - 1 TB Hitachi HDD - 2x 250 GB WD HDD
Corsair K90 - Corsair Venegance 2000 Headset - Razer Naga Epic
Corsair 600T Case
MUYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-04, 01:22 PM   #6
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default

I think LiquidX is right about CoD. To turn the models up to "extra" vs. "high" you are supposed to need 256MB of memory or you'll end up with severe chop.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-04, 02:32 PM   #7
RoachMojo
Who...who are you..?
 
RoachMojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 291
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by theultimo
I thought it was a graphics demo, the game really didn't play well
Huh?

The full version of Evolva was awesome! I ran it on a TI4600 and it ran beautifully.
__________________
Coolermaster ATC-210-VX1 case w/ Rosewill 850W PSU | Q9650@3.6Ghz w/ Zalman CNPS9700 LED | eVga 780i BIOS P10 w/ 4GB OCZ Platinum PC8500 | 3-WD 640GB + External WD 1TB + Lite On 12x Blu-ray Burner | eVga Geforce GTX470 SC w/ Sony 60EX700 HDTV | Nvidia HD Audio on Denon 1909 5.1 and Polk Speakers | Dual Booting XP Professional SP3 and Windows 7 Enterprise X64
RoachMojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-04, 04:11 PM   #8
theultimo
DoD + Sharepoint=Headache
 
theultimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Iraq
Posts: 667
Default

Well, its ok, but IMO it just needed core gameplay improvements. It was a simple FPS like game.

Far Cry i think also uses 256MB, no?
__________________
MAIN MACHINE: Macbook Pro Currently being used in Clamshell Mode | Core Duo 2.16 | 2GB DDR-2 667 | Mobility Radeon X1600 256MB (Underclocked version) | Windows Vista/OS X | 19' Viewsonic 1912wb
UMPC: Samsung Q1 | 512MB DDR-2 | 40GB | Xp Tablet PC 2005 | Intel GMA 900
XBOX Live Gamertag: theultimos
theultimo is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-11-04, 04:44 PM   #9
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default

CoD ..
& perhaps FC takes advantage of the extra VRAM in higher resolutions.
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-04, 05:38 PM   #10
RoachMojo
Who...who are you..?
 
RoachMojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 291
Default

Oh, I almost forgot: Sacrifice uses 256m ram.
__________________
Coolermaster ATC-210-VX1 case w/ Rosewill 850W PSU | Q9650@3.6Ghz w/ Zalman CNPS9700 LED | eVga 780i BIOS P10 w/ 4GB OCZ Platinum PC8500 | 3-WD 640GB + External WD 1TB + Lite On 12x Blu-ray Burner | eVga Geforce GTX470 SC w/ Sony 60EX700 HDTV | Nvidia HD Audio on Denon 1909 5.1 and Polk Speakers | Dual Booting XP Professional SP3 and Windows 7 Enterprise X64
RoachMojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-04, 02:52 PM   #11
poursoul
i eat people
 
poursoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Orcutt, CA
Posts: 614
Default

man, sacrafice kicks a horses ass.

and that's hard to do, so that means it's really good.
poursoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-04, 03:50 PM   #12
theultimo
DoD + Sharepoint=Headache
 
theultimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Iraq
Posts: 667
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by poursoul
man, sacrafice kicks a horses ass.

and that's hard to do, so that means it's really good.

I could never find the game anywhere, else I would have played it :\
__________________
MAIN MACHINE: Macbook Pro Currently being used in Clamshell Mode | Core Duo 2.16 | 2GB DDR-2 667 | Mobility Radeon X1600 256MB (Underclocked version) | Windows Vista/OS X | 19' Viewsonic 1912wb
UMPC: Samsung Q1 | 512MB DDR-2 | 40GB | Xp Tablet PC 2005 | Intel GMA 900
XBOX Live Gamertag: theultimos
theultimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RDRAM question CMav General Hardware 1 09-26-02 04:37 AM
1st post - XP Restore question Needa916 Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 2 09-12-02 06:24 PM
Newby question about nforce.... superconti NVIDIA Linux 2 09-08-02 12:46 AM
Dual boot question.. Tactics General Hardware 15 09-07-02 11:39 AM
Nvidia Driver Rpm Question Big Booger NVIDIA Linux 17 08-11-02 01:55 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.