Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-06-02, 02:23 PM   #1
FastM
GeForceFlop
 
FastM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 545
Send a message via ICQ to FastM
Default I *thought* got to try an NV30!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Edit: To Prevent Futher confusion.

what i actually saw was a GF4TI4600 with a hacked BIOS. Sorry about all this, he had a awesome looking comp with a believable story and i fell for it (boy do i feel foolish).


I just got back from a Wolfenstien Lan Party just south of Providence.

One of the guys there had a NV30 card Rev.A. When the system booted up it said... NV30-A 128meg **Not For Public Use**

He said he got it from a friend who worked for visiontek and he also said he has had it for about 2 months. The Core was clocked at 325Mhz and the Memory was a 710Mhz.

I got to try Unreal Tournament 2k3, this thing averaged 150fps with bots in the outdoor maop. Then i got him to do a 3dmark test, it scored 13,500. Hes was running a P4 overclocked to 2.8Ghz with a Gig of PC2700 Mem. He was using the 40.71 drivers but they didn't fully recongnize the card, In the adapter tab it said NV30-A but then underneath it said it was a TI4600. There was no nVidia tab to do AA tweaking and such. He said using Rivatuner to play with AA and AF would crash his system immidiatly.

So, if nVidia has had working versions of the NV30 for much more than 2 months, considering this is a Revision A i can only wonder what they have now, not to say what clock speed it will be shipped at. Pretty cool stuff..
__________________
AMD Turion™ 64 Mobile Technology ML-37
(1MB L2 cache, 2.0GHz) | Radeon® Xpress 200M | 1GB DDR333 | ATI® MOBILITY™ RADEON® X700 128MB | Realtek ALC250 | Toshiba MK-1032GAX 100GB 16m | Matsh1ta UJ-845S 8x DVD Burner | WSXGA+ 15.4" 1680x1050 | The Ferrari 4005 |

Last edited by FastM; 10-07-02 at 09:02 AM.
FastM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-02, 02:34 PM   #2
volt
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 1,556
Default Re: I got to try an NV30!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Quote:
Originally posted by FastM
I just got back from a Wolfenstien Lan Party just south of Providence.

One of the guys there had a NV30 card Rev.A. When the system booted up it said... NV30-A 128meg **Not For Public Use**

He said he got it from a friend who worked for visiontek and he also said he has had it for about 2 months. The Core was clocked at 325Mhz and the Memory was a 710Mhz.

I got to try Unreal Tournament 2k3, this thing averaged 150fps with bots in the outdoor maop. ..
Bahhh
Did you see the card it self?
__________________
[b]Optimization guidelines by Koji Ashida of NVIDIA:[/b][list][*]Use fx12 instructions whenever possible[*]Use lowest pixel shader version[/list][url=http://developer.nvidia.com/docs/IO/10878/ChinaJoy2004_OptimizationAndTools.pdf]source[/url]

[size=1]The politics are invading the technology. We don't really like to mess with politics because that kind of adversarial relationship has nothing to do with pure technical operations and the technical specifications of what we like to play with, the hardware![/size]

Last edited by volt; 10-06-02 at 09:48 PM.
volt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-02, 02:52 PM   #3
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

wow..two months old, i think this makes sense with the discussions about the nv30 and nvidia redesigning the card.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-02, 03:03 PM   #4
pelly
Registered User
 
pelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Default

Did he say how he ever got ahold of one of these???

pelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-02, 03:06 PM   #5
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

Quote:
He said he got it from a friend who worked for visiontek and he also said he has had it for about 2 months. The Core was clocked at 325Mhz and the Memory was a 710Mhz.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-02, 03:13 PM   #6
pelly
Registered User
 
pelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Default

4yrs of college and I can't even read...

Whoops....
pelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-02, 03:41 PM   #7
intercede007
American
 
intercede007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Destin, Florida
Posts: 331
Send a message via ICQ to intercede007 Send a message via AIM to intercede007 Send a message via MSN to intercede007 Send a message via Yahoo to intercede007
Default

Anyone remember that BIOS editor someone released for the GeForce line of cards? It came with a reference BIOS you could edit, then flash onto the card. I wonder if someone is playing tricks with the cards BIOS.
intercede007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-02, 03:50 PM   #8
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

that's what i was thinking when i read that, yeah you can use a bios editor to edit your nvidia card to whatever you want. however its kinda believeble if he said af and aa wasn't working, and that the card wasn't being detected properly. if it was clocked at 325 and 710 that seems very possbile it could be a overclocked ti4600. the 3dmark score isn't all that impressive, but that ut2k3 score sure is. and if some dude at visiontek was leaking out this card, i'm sure visiontek and nvidia would have definately wanted that card accounted for..cause they're aren't any benchies or images of the nv30 anywhere on the internet..i wanna believe this but my gut feeling is its a bios job.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-06-02, 03:50 PM   #9
volt
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 1,556
Default

FastM said UT2003 ran at ~150 FPS.
__________________
[b]Optimization guidelines by Koji Ashida of NVIDIA:[/b][list][*]Use fx12 instructions whenever possible[*]Use lowest pixel shader version[/list][url=http://developer.nvidia.com/docs/IO/10878/ChinaJoy2004_OptimizationAndTools.pdf]source[/url]

[size=1]The politics are invading the technology. We don't really like to mess with politics because that kind of adversarial relationship has nothing to do with pure technical operations and the technical specifications of what we like to play with, the hardware![/size]
volt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-02, 04:02 PM   #10
intercede007
American
 
intercede007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Destin, Florida
Posts: 331
Send a message via ICQ to intercede007 Send a message via AIM to intercede007 Send a message via MSN to intercede007 Send a message via Yahoo to intercede007
Default

Sounds like a con-job to me. And besides, isn't visiontek basically non-existant? Would NVIDIA send a company a referance board when they aren't even viable? Heck, if thats the case, anyone want to incorporate with me? I figure we could score a couple NV30's
intercede007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-02, 04:07 PM   #11
volt
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 1,556
Default

Visiontek is not dead, nor was it 2 months ago.
__________________
[b]Optimization guidelines by Koji Ashida of NVIDIA:[/b][list][*]Use fx12 instructions whenever possible[*]Use lowest pixel shader version[/list][url=http://developer.nvidia.com/docs/IO/10878/ChinaJoy2004_OptimizationAndTools.pdf]source[/url]

[size=1]The politics are invading the technology. We don't really like to mess with politics because that kind of adversarial relationship has nothing to do with pure technical operations and the technical specifications of what we like to play with, the hardware![/size]
volt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-02, 04:24 PM   #12
INNOVISION
Registered User
 
INNOVISION's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Under a bridge
Posts: 32
Send a message via AIM to INNOVISION Send a message via Yahoo to INNOVISION
Default Re: I got to try an NV30!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Quote:
Originally posted by FastM
I just got back from a Wolfenstien Lan Party just south of Providence.

One of the guys there had a NV30 card Rev.A. When the system booted up it said... NV30-A 128meg **Not For Public Use**

He said he got it from a friend who worked for visiontek and he also said he has had it for about 2 months. The Core was clocked at 325Mhz and the Memory was a 710Mhz.

I got to try Unreal Tournament 2k3, this thing averaged 150fps with bots in the outdoor maop. Then i got him to do a 3dmark test, it scored 13,500. Hes was running a P4 overclocked to 2.8Ghz with a Gig of PC2700 Mem. He was using the 40.71 drivers but they didn't fully recongnize the card, In the adapter tab it said NV30-A but then underneath it said it was a TI4600. There was no nVidia tab to do AA tweaking and such. He said using Rivatuner to play with AA and AF would crash his system immidiatly.

So, if nVidia has had working versions of the NV30 for much more than 2 months, considering this is a Revision A i can only wonder what they have now, not to say what clock speed it will be shipped at. Pretty cool stuff..
Do your self a favor......

EDIT: If you have a problem sir, please PM FastM and don't start another hate thread. Whether it's true or not, you don't need to be rude.
__________________
Leadtek-XFX-Abit-Asus-Gainward-Chaintech-Prolink-Inno3D-Palit Daytona-Suma-Sparkle-Triplex-X Micro-Visiontek-Evga-Elsa-PNY-Power Color-Point of view-Soltek-Jaton-Apollo-Albatron-MSI-InsideTNC-Jetway-Super Grace-Club-Celestica-Eagle-Robanton-Best Data-Club3D-Compro-OCsystem.

MAKAVELI

Last edited by volt; 10-06-02 at 04:29 PM.
INNOVISION is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Get a Radeon 9700 now or wait for the NV30? sancheuz Other Desktop Graphics Cards 88 02-19-03 04:40 PM
nv30 problem rumor bob747b Rumor Mill 37 10-10-02 03:14 PM
NV30 to rape the R300...!? SurfMonkey Rumor Mill 12 10-02-02 04:41 PM
ATI R300 & nVidia NV30 - Different visions Uttar Rumor Mill 6 09-06-02 11:19 AM
NV30 status, rally not taped out? + more than NV30 in Q4 Uttar Rumor Mill 33 08-18-02 02:09 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.