Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-13-04, 01:02 PM   #1
maximous
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Default NVIDIA1.0-5336 && Frame buffer

Hi all!

Im using kernel 2.6.3 with NVIDIA 1.0-5336 linux driver.
While im not using framebuffer, the driver works well, without any problem, but when I start using framebuffer (for bootsplash, see here http://www.bootsplash.org) there is a problem when I return to console, the letters are enormous.

Certainly is a bug.
Bellow are the informations of my hardware.

Congratulations to NVIDIA linux driver team and cya,
-Maximous

INFORMATIONS:

Distribution: Slackware 9.0
Framebuffer: VESA

Motherboard: a7v8x-x

root@bonat:/proc# cat cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 6
model : 8
model name : AMD Athlon(TM) XP 2200+
stepping : 0
cpu MHz : 1800.924
cache size : 256 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 1
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 mmx fxsr sse syscall mmxext 3dnowext 3dnow
bogomips : 3547.13

root@bonat:/proc/driver/nvidia# cat version
NVRM version: NVIDIA Linux x86 NVIDIA Kernel Module 1.0-5336 Wed Jan 14 18:29:26 PST 2004
GCC version: gcc version 3.2.2

root@bonat:/proc/driver/nvidia/cards# cat 0
Model: GeForce4 MX 440 with AGP8X
IRQ: 11
Video BIOS: 04.18.20.13.00
Card Type: AGP

root@bonat:/proc/driver/nvidia/agp# cat card
Fast Writes: Supported
SBA: Supported
AGP Rates: 8x 4x
Registers: 0x1f000e1b:0x1f000312

root@bonat:/proc/driver/nvidia/agp# cat status
Status: Enabled
Driver: NVIDIA
AGP Rate: 8x
Fast Writes: Enabled
SBA: Enabled

root@bonat:/proc/driver/nvidia/agp# cat host-bridge
Host Bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8377 [KT400 AGP] Host Bridge
Fast Writes: Supported
SBA: Supported
AGP Rates: 8x 4x
Registers: 0x1f000a1b:0x1f000b12
maximous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-04, 04:25 PM   #2
javmss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Default

It sounds like my own trouble, again.

As replied to zarnce in "console/x problem" and my own post, "Broken console after starting X", I still have no idea on how to fix it.

I am not using framebuffer (till where I know), but the same thing happens.

No one has put a letter for me till now, but by seeing your and zarnce's message
I start to think that there is really a problem here. Why do anybody answers is
my concern.
javmss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-04, 05:44 PM   #3
prplxd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by javmss
I start to think that there is really a problem here. Why do anybody answers is my concern.
Because most of us that are experiencing the same darn thing don't have an answer yet.
If I knew the answer; I would definitely share it!

I would love to be able to log out of X back to my console, but I have the same issues,...
once I log out of X, I get a black, blank screen.
However, if I type a command, it works,...
such as startx or shutdown -r now.

So, I know logging out of X is not the issue; it is of a graphical nature,...either with our settings, or there is just a bug in the driver.

There seem to be quite a few of us that are experiencing the same thing,
or something very similar anyway.
Has anyone posted this to Nvidia?
prplxd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-04, 05:49 PM   #4
maximous
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Humm, im feeling better with your message, hehe
Im not alone in the all world that uses nvidia driver.

I think that you can verify if is using framebuffer making this:

$> dmesg | grep '^fb'

If something shows, then you are using fb, else are not.

Any developer of nvidia driver already read this post? If yes, please reply

Sorry by my english,
-Maximous
maximous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-04, 05:54 PM   #5
maximous
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by prplxd
Has anyone posted this to Nvidia?
hahaha! I forgot myself to do this, job... job kill
I will try to call some nvidia driver developer to read this and post a reply to us.

Cya!
maximous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-04, 03:38 AM   #6
maximous
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Default Re: NVIDIA1.0-5336 && Frame buffer

Uow! My problem was resolved!

Im read the readme, and try two options, IgnoreDisplayDevices and ConnectedMonitor.
Well, the first option hangs the system, and the unique solution is reset the machine.
I put this using this option:

Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "DFP, TV"

So, then I tried ConnectedMonitor option:

Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT"

And it works fine!
Please report if this works for you too.

Cya,
-Maximous
maximous is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.