Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-06-04, 02:32 PM   #1
Zeta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 373
Default Has anyone done real testing in Farcy 512Mb ram vs. 1gig ram?

I love far cry and most of the time it plays great. I would like it to run better. I have a nforce2 mobo, athlon barton 2800+, 512 pc3200 ram and a GF FX 5700 ultra 128mb. Has anyone done any solid test with 512 vs. 1 gig of ram in this game? How much does it help if at all? I dont want to spend another $100 for no performance increase. Thanks in advance for any replies.
Zeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-04, 02:39 PM   #2
SuLinUX
 
SuLinUX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 847
Default Re: Has anyone done real testing in Farcy 512Mb ram vs. 1gig ram?

A friend of mine keeps complaining he needs more ram for farcry, he does use aload of ram up on his heavy desktop. I have a 1Gb and from what he's said mine runs alot better as it hits his HD rather bad with 512Mb ram.
__________________
AthlonXP 2600+ / nForce2 Asus A7N8X-X / PNY GeForce FX5900 Ultra / 1024Mb Samsung Ram /nForce Sound / Hansol 920D Plus 19" monitor / Lite-On 32x12x40 / 2x Maxtor HD 40Gb/80Gb / nVidia 7174 driver / Gnome 2.10.1 / Kernel 2.6.11.9 / Slackware 10.0
SuLinUX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-04, 02:45 PM   #3
schuey74
GTX 280 (675/1458/2500)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 819
Default Re: Has anyone done real testing in Farcy 512Mb ram vs. 1gig ram?

I have a dual monitor setup and I've taken the habit of leaving Task Manager open on my second monitor so I can monitor memory and CPU usage. Far Cry breaks 600 megs in memory just during loading and usually average between 750 to 850 megs during gameplay. The max I've seen was 913 megs. I play with everything maxed out @ 1280x1024.
schuey74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-04, 03:06 PM   #4
DMA
Zzzleepy
 
DMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: In bed
Posts: 997
Default Re: Has anyone done real testing in Farcy 512Mb ram vs. 1gig ram?

I bought new RAM last week just because a was so freakin sad how poor Far Cry ran with just 512 MB.
And the difference is huge, it's like another game now.

UT2004 also got a fresh feeling to it with 1 gig.

*Sigh* I remember when 256 MB used to be overkill.
__________________
Gigabyte EP35-DS4 | E6850@3.8GHz |
8800GT@800/2000MHz | 4 GB Corsair 6400|
DMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-04, 03:17 PM   #5
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: Has anyone done real testing in Farcy 512Mb ram vs. 1gig ram?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DMA
*Sigh* I remember when 256 MB used to be overkill.
Heh, I remember when 640K was overkill.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-04, 04:05 PM   #6
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Has anyone done real testing in Farcy 512Mb ram vs. 1gig ram?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riptide
Heh, I remember when 640K was overkill.
That was the time when an 8 mb stick of EDO memory cost an arm and a leg. My parents traded a weekend stay at our summer home in order to upgrade our old 486 to a whopping 12 mb of RAM.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-04, 04:41 PM   #7
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: Has anyone done real testing in Farcy 512Mb ram vs. 1gig ram?

My mom bought us a 486DX (yep, not DX2) 50MHz machine w/8meg of RAM in there. And a (weee) VGA display. Price? $2500.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-04, 05:08 PM   #8
theultimo
DoD + Sharepoint=Headache
 
theultimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Iraq
Posts: 667
Default Re: Has anyone done real testing in Farcy 512Mb ram vs. 1gig ram?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riptide
Heh, I remember when 640K was overkill.
Heck, I remember when 64k was overkill (think C-64)
__________________
MAIN MACHINE: Macbook Pro Currently being used in Clamshell Mode | Core Duo 2.16 | 2GB DDR-2 667 | Mobility Radeon X1600 256MB (Underclocked version) | Windows Vista/OS X | 19' Viewsonic 1912wb
UMPC: Samsung Q1 | 512MB DDR-2 | 40GB | Xp Tablet PC 2005 | Intel GMA 900
XBOX Live Gamertag: theultimos
theultimo is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-06-04, 05:10 PM   #9
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default Re: Has anyone done real testing in Farcy 512Mb ram vs. 1gig ram?

Pl' ease, I invented the word overkill, now beat that!
__________________
primary MBP Core i5 2010 | HR | OCZ 120GB SSD
gaming Core i5-2500K @ 4.1GHz w/ CM Hyper212+ | MSI N560GTX-Ti TF II/OC | MSI P67A-GD55 | Silverstone FT02 | X360 250GB + Kinect
htpc IONITX-A-U | 2GB | M350 | XBMC Linux | SABnzbd, sickbeard, couchpotato | NAS Synology DS411J | 4TB
hometheater KURO PDP-5020 | Marantz SR6005 | Definitive BP7001s, CLR3000, BPVXPs
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-04, 05:20 PM   #10
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: Has anyone done real testing in Farcy 512Mb ram vs. 1gig ram?

Quote:
Originally Posted by theultimo
Heck, I remember when 64k was overkill (think C-64)
OK, you got me beat. I surrender.

I got into the game right around the time EGA had come out. Everyone thought it was awesome - 16 colors worth of goodness. My 10MHz 8088 had 640K RAM, 20meg hard disc, a 16color EGA display, and an Everex 1200bps MNP5 modem. And boy did everyone envy me for that EGA - until about six months later when VGA came out and crapped on it.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-04, 06:47 PM   #11
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: Has anyone done real testing in Farcy 512Mb ram vs. 1gig ram?

Quote:
Originally Posted by |JuiceZ|
Pl' ease, I invented the word overkill, now beat that!
C'mon, that's easy!!

I invented you!!
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-04, 06:50 PM   #12
MUYA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,795
Send a message via MSN to MUYA
Default Re: Has anyone done real testing in Farcy 512Mb ram vs. 1gig ram?

OVERKILL are a decent thrash metal band!!!!!!!!
__________________
I5-2500k@4.7GHz - MSI Z77A-GD65 - 4GB X2 A-DATA DDR3 1600 - Corsair H100 - Antec Quatro 850W
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 680 OC - Dell 24" IPS
Intel 320 300 GB SSD - 1 TB Hitachi HDD - 2x 250 GB WD HDD
Corsair K90 - Corsair Venegance 2000 Headset - Razer Naga Epic
Corsair 600T Case
MUYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.