Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-16-02, 11:39 PM   #1
eliteone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 45
Default whats multisample masking?

I saw this option in rivatuner under the D3D anti-aliasing setting and I'm curious as to what it is. Will enabling it boost performance at all?
__________________
athlon xp 2700+@2.4GHZ (200FSB)
Epox 8RDA+
2*256MB Corsair pc3500
Sapphire 9700Pro (371/648)
SB Audigy Plat Ex(modded to audigy 2)
Linksys 10/100 for cable modem
120GB WD SE & 80GB GB Maxtor
16x Pioneer slot loaded DVD
24x Plexwriter
eliteone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-02, 11:48 PM   #2
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

texture shimmering and swimming is greatly reduced using multisample masking. it also seems to have better anistropic abilities than regular 4x fsaa. but it really drags the performance.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-02, 12:07 AM   #3
eliteone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 45
Default

once again you come to my aid hehe. thanx for clearin that up
__________________
athlon xp 2700+@2.4GHZ (200FSB)
Epox 8RDA+
2*256MB Corsair pc3500
Sapphire 9700Pro (371/648)
SB Audigy Plat Ex(modded to audigy 2)
Linksys 10/100 for cable modem
120GB WD SE & 80GB GB Maxtor
16x Pioneer slot loaded DVD
24x Plexwriter
eliteone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-02, 12:10 AM   #4
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

anytime, however with the latest dets, performance ain't all that bad, and you definately have a better system than me. all i know is that i can handle it using resolutions like 800x600 with max af, or 1024x768 with regular af. of course this depends on the game. i say you try to see if it works, if it smooth for you, just use it. sure looks better in my opinion.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.