Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-25-04, 08:53 PM   #1
nippyjun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 489
Default Question about hitches w/ ultra quality

Are there any setting to help prevent any hitches when running ultra quality mode?

I've seen some posts on this but those don't seem to stop the problem.

I'm running A64 3400, GF6800U, 1gig ram
1600x1200 8xAF, 2xAA, Ultra Quality
nippyjun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-04, 10:39 PM   #2
Cheimison
Not Even Trying Anymore
 
Cheimison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 230
Default Re: Question about hitches w/ ultra quality

You mean how you open a door and it goes *EEEEEEG* and sits there for a second? No, that's because your video card doesn't have enough RAM to access the textures fast enough. However it hardly ever happens aside from opening a door into a fairly well lit room, and if you put it on high it looks damn near exactly the same and doesn't hitch.
__________________
Keep Your People Armed
It's for the Children
Cheimison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-04, 10:52 PM   #3
nippyjun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 489
Default Re: Question about hitches w/ ultra quality

Is there any setting to accomodate for only having 256 megs on the vid card to prevent these hitches?
nippyjun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-04, 11:03 PM   #4
Skrot
The 5900XT that could.
 
Skrot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 402
Send a message via ICQ to Skrot
Default Re: Question about hitches w/ ultra quality

Yeah, play the game in High setting...
Skrot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-04, 11:10 PM   #5
Cheimison
Not Even Trying Anymore
 
Cheimison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 230
Default Re: Question about hitches w/ ultra quality

Quote:
Yeah, play the game in High setting...
Tru dat.
__________________
Keep Your People Armed
It's for the Children
Cheimison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-04, 06:06 PM   #6
Killall
goodmorning mr. Freeman
 
Killall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Stuck in cyberspace...
Posts: 138
Default Re: Question about hitches w/ ultra quality

I play ultra high and have virtually no hitches at all.... Try the cache tweaks for doom 3, those really helped me. (Dont forget to set useCache to 1)
__________________
MSI 975x Plat. PUE
Intel Core2Duo 6600E
XFX Geforce 8800 GTX
2x1024 mb Corsair PC6400C4
2x80G Maxtor HD's, SATA, Raid 0
Creative Audigy 2 ZS, 5.1 Speaker setup
Iyama MA203DT
And a ****load of games
Killall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-04, 07:46 PM   #7
nippyjun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 489
Default Re: Question about hitches w/ ultra quality

Quote:
Originally Posted by Killall
I play ultra high and have virtually no hitches at all.... Try the cache tweaks for doom 3, those really helped me. (Dont forget to set useCache to 1)

1. What resolution do you play at?
2. Which numbers did you use for the cache tweaks?

Thanks!
nippyjun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-04, 11:32 PM   #8
sgio2
Chocolate
 
sgio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 104
Default Re: Question about hitches w/ ultra quality

Use the Imagecache tweaks and also copy all your .pk4 files in the doom3\base directory to a backup folder (eg PK4 Backups ) , after that uncompress all the .pk4 files to the doom3\base folder. I used Winrar to uncompress the files. After doing this I can now play @ Ultra Quality 1600X1200 2QAA 8XAF with no hitches. Give it a shot.

Good Luck

Zachary
__________________
Fret not my friend , for every failure brings along with it the seed of an equivalent success. Napoleon Hill "

Antec 900
4GB Corsair XMS Pro 3200 @ 2.5-3-2-5
ATI Radeon 3870HD 862 Core 1231 Mem
AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.44Ghz
Creative Audigy ZS 2
Twin WD 320GB SATA2
ABIT AT8 32X
sgio2 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-26-04, 11:41 PM   #9
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Question about hitches w/ ultra quality

I still dont get why people play at Ultra...
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-04, 11:52 PM   #10
Cheimison
Not Even Trying Anymore
 
Cheimison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 230
Default Re: Question about hitches w/ ultra quality

The lighting on monsters does look better. If anyone would stop compressing their screenshots into jpegs you could tell.

FYI Jpegs are lame. They're the Gifs of today. TGAs and PSPs and whatever that format Photoshop uses are neccesary for quality screenshots. And PNGS work pretty well, too.
__________________
Keep Your People Armed
It's for the Children
Cheimison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-04, 08:37 AM   #11
Ruined
Registered User
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,447
Default Re: Question about hitches w/ ultra quality

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheimison
The lighting on monsters does look better. If anyone would stop compressing their screenshots into jpegs you could tell.

FYI Jpegs are lame. They're the Gifs of today. TGAs and PSPs and whatever that format Photoshop uses are neccesary for quality screenshots. And PNGS work pretty well, too.
JPGs are still 1/5 the size or less, and if you use a decent program the quality loss is minimal - internet bandwidth isn't free.
__________________
We're all in it together.

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 2.66GHz CPU | Intel G965WH mobo | 8GB (4x2GB) DDR2-667mhz CAS5 RAM (1066MHz FSB) | BFG GeForce 285 GTX OC 1GB | Dell E228WFP 22" DVI-HDCP LCD Monitor | 1TB Western Digital RE3 SATA2 Main Drive | 500GBx2 Western Digital RE3 SATA2 Scratch Drives in RAID0 | Western Digital RE3 1TB SATA2 Media Drive | External 2TB Western Digital MyBook Backup Drive | Adaptec eSATA 3.0gbps PCI-E interface | Sandisk External 12-in-1 Flash Card Reader | LG GGC-H20L HD DVD/BD reader, DVD writer | LG GGW-H20L HD DVD/BD reader, DVD/BD writer | Microsoft E4000 Ergonomic Keyboard | Logitech Trackman Wheel | Antec P182 ATX Case | Thermaltake ToughPower XT 850w modular PSU | KRK RP-8 Rokit Studio Monitors | Windows Vista Ultimate x64
Ruined is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-04, 02:55 PM   #12
michealo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Default Re: Question about hitches w/ ultra quality

forget where i copied this from, emailed it to myself weeks ago from work
allows me to run 1280x1024 ultra high with no hang ups on my 6800GT

Go into your doomconfig.cfg file in the base directory look for the following
seta image_cacheMegs ---I changed mine to 2000 which is 2gigs. This is a
hard drive cache not ram cache.
seta image_cacheMINK--I changed mine to 20480
seta image_usecache--- I have 1 to enable it.

ymmv, please dont blame me if your machine blows up
michealo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nvidia driver quality decrease? legluondunet NVIDIA Linux 17 06-26-12 11:03 AM
EA gains Linux Attention. Better Quality Drivers Please! Ruinairas NVIDIA Linux 4 05-09-12 02:12 PM
1st post - XP Restore question Needa916 Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 2 09-12-02 06:24 PM
Dual boot question.. Tactics General Hardware 15 09-07-02 11:39 AM
Color quality of the GeForce4 Ti 4600 and Radeon 8500 Turnbolt NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 23 08-27-02 09:12 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.