Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-20-04, 12:28 PM   #25
raysusan
Registered User
 
raysusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 112
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by betterdan
Runs great at 1280x960 no AA or AS all settings maxed.
same here and it is running smoothly too
__________________
Intel E8400 @ 3.2GHz | Asus P5Q Pro | Kingston DDR800 4GB| Samsung SyncMaster 193P | nVidia GTX 285
Corsair HX620W | Pioneer DVR-S18LBK | Pioneer DVR-215BK | Lian Li PC-7FW | (((AE))) AegoM 2.1
WD3200AAKS-00B3A0 | WD1002FAEX-00Z3A0 | VelociRaptor WD1500HLFS-01G6U1 | Windows 7 Home
raysusan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-04, 08:21 PM   #26
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default

How does this AF looks ??
its supposed to be 8x using 56.64 drivers (all settings maxed).
it looks to me that the quality is reduced more than it should be on the second half of the road
kinda like bilinear ...



or in the attached image ..

Last edited by SH64; 06-01-06 at 01:37 AM.
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-04, 09:53 PM   #27
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Damn that screenshot looks kinda crappy. Looks a lot better on a 9700 Pro
I'll post a pic in a little while.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-04, 10:20 PM   #28
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Here it is with 8x AF on 9700 Pro all settings maxed at 1280x960. I guess it doesn't look a whole let better but still...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bfv.jpg
Views:	328
Size:	95.7 KB
ID:	4977  Click image for larger version

Name:	bfv2.JPG
Views:	302
Size:	99.1 KB
ID:	4978  

Last edited by betterdan; 03-21-04 at 10:33 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-04, 10:27 PM   #29
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default

i'm running 1024x768 .. maybe thats why it looks so crappy ...
& it dosent include the AA in the screenshot for unknown reason

anyway .. obviously , the 9700 shot looks a lot better than my 5950's shot .. the road till the far end is correctly filtered !
*cough* *cough* ...driver optimizations *cough*
thats compared with NV 8x let alone ATi's 16x AF .
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-04, 10:48 PM   #30
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I was running at 1280x960 and those shots were using 8x not 16x AF.
Ok I lowered the res to 1024x768 and took 2 screenshots. The first one is 8x AF only and the second one is using 8x AF and 4x AA. I agree that it doesn't show the AA well in the screenshots but you can kinda tell if you look at the fence straight ahead in the background. The weird thing is with AA enabled my gun disappears if I turn to the left or right so I turned slightly to get the gun to appear then took the pic. Looks a little darker than the previous screenshots for some reason also. Oh and 1 more thing with AF and AA enabled it ran crappy hehe.
This game rocks! What server are you playing on mostly? if you happen to hear The Bird playing and see someone banging their head to the music it's me hehe.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ScreenShot3.JPG
Views:	216
Size:	95.1 KB
ID:	4979  Click image for larger version

Name:	ScreenShot4.JPG
Views:	197
Size:	96.1 KB
ID:	4980  

Last edited by betterdan; 03-21-04 at 10:58 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-04, 11:11 PM   #31
UDawg
Retired spammer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,799
Default

This game has major performance problems. Major HDD reader.

P.S. Don't go off on me and say my rig is slow.
UDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-04, 11:17 PM   #32
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Runs fine here. Your system must be slow
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-22-04, 03:16 AM   #33
Mullins1060
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: England
Posts: 255
Default

I was having a problem with the game running slowly but i turned the sound quality to low, and then used the refresh rate fix, and the soundfix for sblive cards.

my settings are now:
1024x768@85hertz
medium graphics setting but using high textures.

it now runs 30-50 fps on all of the maps i have been on so far. oddly though when playing offline vs the ai bots i get 20-30 fps more so some optimizing needs to be done to the online game.
__________________
M/B: Asus Rampage Formula (0401 BIOS) | CPU: Intel Xeon 3350 @ 3.6GHz (8x450MHz) 1.256v | HSF: Tuniq Tower 120-LFB | RAM: 2x2GB Corsair TwinX DDR2 XMS2 Dominator PC2-8500C5 @ 1080MHz 5-5-5-15 2T 2.1v | GFX: 1792MB EVGA GeForce GTX 295 | HD: 2x300GB Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB 10000RPM SATA-II 16MB Cache (RAID 0) | SOUND: Asus SupremeFX II | PSU: OCZ ModXStream 900W | CASE: Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80B
Mullins1060 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-04, 04:15 AM   #34
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I agree it runs even faster when playing offline against bots even with 64 of those little suckers. I play with the sound quality high and Milesfast2d audio instead of EAX which slows it down quite a bit. Are you talking about the Game.SoundBuffersize 400 setting?

Someone needs to make a benchmarking program for this.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-04, 08:02 AM   #35
Mullins1060
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: England
Posts: 255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by betterdan
Are you talking about the Game.SoundBuffersize 400 setting?
ya thats the one.
__________________
M/B: Asus Rampage Formula (0401 BIOS) | CPU: Intel Xeon 3350 @ 3.6GHz (8x450MHz) 1.256v | HSF: Tuniq Tower 120-LFB | RAM: 2x2GB Corsair TwinX DDR2 XMS2 Dominator PC2-8500C5 @ 1080MHz 5-5-5-15 2T 2.1v | GFX: 1792MB EVGA GeForce GTX 295 | HD: 2x300GB Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB 10000RPM SATA-II 16MB Cache (RAID 0) | SOUND: Asus SupremeFX II | PSU: OCZ ModXStream 900W | CASE: Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80B
Mullins1060 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-04, 08:18 AM   #36
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by betterdan
IThis game rocks! What server are you playing on mostly? if you happen to hear The Bird playing and see someone banging their head to the music it's me hehe.
I only play offline ... not much interseted on MP

well i'm playing at 1024x768 , 4xAA ,8xAF .. with all settings maxed . the runs quite smooth .
but i figured the FRAPS dont show the framerate in BF:V .. WHY? anyone else notice this ? is there an alternate way to see the fps ?
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Max Payne 3 Feedback Thread Ghosthunter Gaming Central 94 10-05-12 07:00 AM
Official detonator 40.71 feedback thread Crake NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 88 10-01-02 12:38 PM
Official Dentonator 40.52 feedback thread sh*tshot NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 62 09-26-02 06:43 PM
Official Detonator 40.xx Feedback Thread pelly NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 299 09-22-02 07:54 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.