Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-28-02, 10:07 PM   #1
Chairman Neil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 9
Post I have a major problem...

I have a GeForce2 MX with Mandrake 9. I installed NVIDIA_GLX-1.0-3123.i386.rpm and NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-3123.mdk82up.i586.rpm, since the drivers that come with Mandrake keep giving me errors. I then changed my XF86Config-4 file accordingly. The "Device" section looks like this:

Section "Device"
Identifier "NVIDIA GeForce2 DDR (generic)"
VendorName "Unknown"
BoardName "Unknown"
Driver "nv"
# VideoRam 65536
# Clock lines

When I change the "Driver" line to "nvidia", I cannot xinit when I try to again. When I keep it as "nv", I get this error (or a similar one) anytime I try to play a 3D game:

GLUT: Fatal Error in asteroids3D: OpenGL GLX extension not supported by display: :0.0

Anyone got any tips?
Chairman Neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-02, 11:30 PM   #2
mtrr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 234
Send a message via ICQ to mtrr
Default

check:

is the module (NVdriver) really loaded?
post /var/log/XFree86.0.log
are you using devfs?
agp support enabled?

give us a little more info, please

glx will work with nvidia and _not_ with nv.

cheers
mtrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-02, 12:18 AM   #3
Chairman Neil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 9
Default

It's too large to put into a regular post. I'll attach it.

I don't know how to check those other things... although I don't think I'm using devfs.
Attached Files
File Type: txt xfree86.0.log.txt (24.3 KB, 131 views)
Chairman Neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-02, 12:27 AM   #4
mtrr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 234
Send a message via ICQ to mtrr
Default

useless try again with "nvidia" and not "nv".

cheers
mtrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-02, 07:53 AM   #5
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default Re: I have a major problem...

Quote:
Originally posted by Chairman Neil
and NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-3123.mdk82up.i586.rpm
That right there would probably be your problem.

You have to use the NVIDIA_kernel that matches your distribution's version exactly. Mandrake 9 uses a completely different Linux kernel version than 8.2 did, and the NVdriver will (in all likelihood) not load under the new kernel.

Get either the SRPM NVIDIA_kernel or the tarball. Make sure you've installed kernel-source (it's on the 3rd CD, and you need ncurses-devel as well, which is on the 2nd one).

You are most likely using devfs; Mandrake has had that enabled since 8.1. [ -c /dev/.devfsd ] ; echo $? will print a 0 if you're using devfs, and a 1 if you aren't.

lsmod will list NVdriver (along with other things) if it's been loaded. If it hasn't, then modprobe NVdriver (as root) will load it -- assuming you've installed from source or waited until nVidia puts out a Mandrake 9-specific driver. You have to do this before you start up X.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-02, 05:32 PM   #6
Chairman Neil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 9
Default

OK, I downloaded the NVIDIA_GLX tarball and the NVIDIA_kernel tarball. When I try to make the NVIDIA_kernel tarball, I get this error:

/usr/include/linux/interrupt.h:128: `CONFIG_X86_L1_CACHE_SHIFT' undeclared here (not in a function)
/usr/include/linux/interrupt.h:128: requested alignment is not a constant
nv-linux.h:111:28: linux/autoconf.h: No such file or directory
nv.c:99:65: missing binary operator before '('
nv.c:697:65: missing binary operator before '('
nv.c:1011:65: missing binary operator before '('
nv.c:1040:65: missing binary operator before '('
nv.c:1383:65: missing binary operator before '('
nv.c: In function `nv_kern_mmap':
nv.c:1386: warning: implicit declaration of function `pgprot_writecombine'
nv.c:1386: incompatible types in assignment
nv.c:2926:65: missing binary operator before '('
make: *** [nv.o] Error 1

Now what? :\
Chairman Neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-02, 05:38 PM   #7
mtrr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 234
Send a message via ICQ to mtrr
Default

as stated in nvidias readme: you should have a _configured_ kernel source tree
(or at least the kernel headers corresponding to your kernel image)


cheers
mtrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-02, 05:40 PM   #8
Chairman Neil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 9
Default ...

So reconfigure/recompile my kernel? Alright...
Chairman Neil is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-30-02, 05:42 PM   #9
mtrr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 234
Send a message via ICQ to mtrr
Default

a recompile is not needed, if the headers are 'configured'.
I might help you via irc or icq, if you wish..


cheers
mtrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-02, 08:23 PM   #10
Chairman Neil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 9
Default

When I compiled a new kernel image, it was too large. I didn't configure the last kernel manually, it came with Mandrake. LILO doesn't even see it, even though I manually edited /etc/lilo.conf (instead of using drakboot, which said it was too large). Now what? :\
Chairman Neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-02, 08:45 PM   #11
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

After you edit /etc/lilo.conf, you have to re-install LILO in your MBR (or wherever it's set to be installed to). Run /sbin/lilo as root to do that.

The reason why: When lilo is running, it doesn't have any idea about any kind of filesystem. Basically all it can do is load a specific logical block (a 512-byte sector, I believe) off the disk and jump to the start of it. The configuration file tells lilo which files to use as a kernel (for Linux boots), and when you run /sbin/lilo, it records the logical block positions of these kernels in wherever you put it (usually the MBR, but not always).

Other OS boots are similar -- it just loads up the boot record for, say, Win98, and jumps to it. Which is all that the normal Win98 bootloader does, so you see the exact same startup as normal.

Edit: when you built the kernel image, did you make zImage or bzImage? If your problems are truly due to having too large a kernel, then I'm pretty sure bzImage allows for larger kernels (bzImage is "big zImage"). But for the nVidia kernel module to compile, you will have had to compile in support for modules when you configured the kernel, and at that point it's almost easier to build some things as modules (like your network card driver, sound driver, agpgart, and other auxiliary things like that). DON'T make anything a module that you need to boot up, like your IDE chipset's support. But anyway, making some of these things into modules will also make your kernel smaller.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692

Last edited by bwkaz; 09-30-02 at 08:49 PM.
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-02, 03:43 AM   #12
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Can you make sure the md5sums of the files you downloaded match the ones posted on the driver page? If they don't, you've got a case of corrupted files. You shouldn't be seeing "missing binary operator" errors unless you've got a file that's not quite right.

(to check md5sums, type 'md5sum /path/to/your/files')

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.