Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-07-02, 08:08 AM   #1
pcxz
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Unhappy AGP 4x and 3123

Please excuse my English.

3123 not recognized my agp 4x (os-registry.c is modified with NVreg_EnableVia4x = 1)

XFree86.0.log report:
...
AGP 2X successfully initialized
...

I return to 2960 ans is all OK!
XFree86.0.log report:
...
AGP 4X successfully initialized
...

My all system is:
PIII 600
chips-AGP VIA694x
GeForce2 GTS 64ddr (Hercules)
XFree86-4.2.1 (idem error with 4.2.0)
Slackware 8.1
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-02, 03:52 PM   #2
samppa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4
Default

I had the same problem with NVIDIA AGP, but when I tried with AGPGART, I got 4xAGP working on my VIA chipset mobo. Btw, you don't need to hack the os-registry.c, you can give NVreg_EnableVia4x=1 as module parameter when you load NVdriver.
samppa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-02, 05:50 PM   #3
pcxz
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Unhappy

Thanks for your reply.
I have already load module with AGPGART ...don't work.

At this time my only system is to use 2960.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-02, 05:04 AM   #4
mosquis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7
Default

Try this:
Download the Kernel tar.gz file.
Edit os-registry.c
Find this line, and make sure it is "1".
static int NVreg_EnableVia4x = 1;
Hope it helps.
mosquis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-02, 07:53 AM   #5
pcxz
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Unhappy

You have read my message?
......
3123 not recognized my agp 4x (os-registry.c is modified with NVreg_EnableVia4x = 1)
......

:-)

You have 4x enabled?
cat /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/status
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-02, 10:39 AM   #6
mosquis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7
Default

Sorry, must have missed that!
mosquis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-02, 12:39 PM   #7
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Can you try NVreg_enableVia4X? (note the lowercase 'e')

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-02, 02:00 PM   #8
samppa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Andy Mecham
Can you try NVreg_enableVia4X? (note the lowercase 'e')

--andy
Hmm, modinfo NVdriver says:

parm: NVreg_EnableVia4x int

E is not lowercase there.
samppa is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.