Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-31-02, 09:27 PM   #1
ScuzziOne
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default GeForce4 Owners: Need your TV Encoder & Board Info... please!

Folks,

I've been trying to identify the GeForce4 boards(s) with the highest quality S-Video TV output. The work I've done to date has been on RedHat Linux 7.3 with the 4.2.0 XFree86 and nVidia drivers/GLX version 1.0-2960. So far, I've tried 3 different boards from 3 different manufacturers and gotten widely varying results. Each of the boards appears to have a different TV Encoder chip and I'm betting boards with the same encoder chips will have similar output qualities.

So far, the best quality I've seen (In my opinion) has come from a GeForce4 MX420 with what would appear to be only the integrated nVidia TV Encoder. The other encoders I've seen are a Philips and a Brooktree; however, my opinion is that the boards I have with these chipsets don't seem to put out imagery that is as sharp and readable (Actually, I was only able to get composite out of the Brooktree for some reason, so I'm really not sure about its S-Video Quality). In short, I'm really impressed with the quality of the NVIDIA TV Encoder based board over the others I've seen to date. To this end, I'm really interested in determining which TV Encoder each manufacturer has put on each of their boards. I know the Philips and Brooktree encoders are supposed to have more capability for the HDTV crowd; however, I'm not interested in HDTV! Since this encoder information doesn't appear to be readily available from all the manufacturers, I'd appreciate a hand from other GeForce4 owners.

If anyone knows of a URL charting manufacturer, board, and TV Encoder information, I'd appreciate knowing what the URL is; otherwise, I'd appreciate hearing from other GeForce4 owners about their board manufacturer, model, TV Encoder Info, and board TV connector information. I'm not sure where to look on the Windows OS for this information, but for the Linux users this information may be found in the /var/log/XFree86.0.log file. The particular line of interest is something to the effect of "TV Encoder detected" followed by the encoder manufacturer and/or model information. Thanks in advance for helping sort through the various manufacturer, model, TV Encoder, connector combinations!

Thanks,
ScuzziOne
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-02, 05:54 AM   #2
SurfMonkey
QuadCore G80 PS3 Overload
 
SurfMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In a small room surrounded by vast, inscrutable, machines...
Posts: 491
Default

As far as I know, my Creative Ti4400 has a Philips encoder chip onboard.
__________________
Folding for Beyond3D
"A lie gets halfway around the world before the truth has a chance to get its pants on."
Sir Winston Churchill

"Halflife2 got halfway around the world before Gabe had a chance to get his pants on."
Anon
SurfMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-02, 06:07 AM   #3
monkeydust
Registered User
 
monkeydust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 495
Default

TVTool did a report a little while back comparing the quality of the TV out quality of the various Geforce TV chips being used today.

Check it out at - http://www.tvtool.info/go.htm?http:/.../tvchips_e.htm
__________________
AMD X2 4800+
ASUS A8N-SLI
2 x 1GB OCZ PC3200 Platinum
eVGA 8800 GTS 620/1000
2 x 300gb Maxtor Maxline III SATA2 HD
Creative X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
NEC 16X Double Layer DVD±RW Drive
Lian-Li v1200 w/OCZ Powerstream 600w PSU
Dell 2001FP 20.1" LCD
3DMark06 - 8553
monkeydust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-02, 11:17 AM   #4
Raptorman
Former Marine
 
Raptorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Jonesville, VA
Posts: 785
Send a message via MSN to Raptorman Send a message via Yahoo to Raptorman
Default

VisionTek GeForce 4 Ti-4600 - a Philips 7108

TV In/Out. Good quality
__________________
Southern Motorsports - My Shop
Southern Motorsports Facebook
Formerly Serving The U.S. Marine Corps
Not As Mean, Not As Lean, But Still A Marine
0331
Ramadi 2006, 22 MEU 2007
3rd Battalion 8th Marines WPNS CO
"Marines I see as two breeds, Rottweilers or Dobermans, because Marines come in two varieties, big and mean, or skinny and mean. They're aggressive on the attack and tenacious on defense. They've got really short hair and they always go for the throat."
RAdm. "Jay" R. Stark, USN; 10 November 1995
Raptorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-02, 05:43 PM   #5
Gehenna_CA
Registered User
 
Gehenna_CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Regina, SK, CA
Posts: 53
Default

Visiontek Gf4 Ti4400 TV out only- Conexant CX25871
Pretty good TVout quality and achieves higher resolutions than my old Radeon 64mb Vivo.
__________________
Gehenna_CA, Stormtrooper of the Doomed
AthlonXP 1.67@1.81ghz with Swiftech MC462
Asus A7M with 768mb DDR333 Ram
Visiontek Geforce4 Ti4400@305/650
Pioneer Slotload 16x DVD-Rom Optowrite 40x12x40 CDRW
20gig 7200rpm ATA100 HD, Philips A.E.
19" Daytek Perfect Flat, Inspire 5300s
WinXP PRO/w SP1
Gehenna_CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-02, 09:43 PM   #6
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

Gainward GF4 TI4400 VIVO = Philips 7108

no major complaints here
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-02, 05:57 AM   #7
ZenmasteR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 30
Default

my CL 4600 has the Conexant CX25871 tvou chip
supposedly the best TV-out chip (according to tv tool site)
and is used in the xbox
ZenmasteR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-02, 06:47 PM   #8
NeoGeo
Geforce 4
 
NeoGeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: South Coast, England, UK
Posts: 146
Default

Philips 7102 on my Gainward Geforce 4 ti 4200 with tv out and dvi, no tv in... its pretty poor, my old GF2 Ti had better TV out...
__________________
AthlonXP 2500 Barton
MSI K7N2 Delta (MS-6570)
Nvidia Geforce FX 5600 128MB VIVO
512MB (2x 256MB) Crucial PC2700
2x 120GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 8MB
16x DVD
52x/24x/52x Lite-On CD-ReWriter
550 watt Q-Tech PSU
Superflower silver case
T1 Internet Connection
AOC 17" 7Klr
MS Keyboard+Mouse
NeoGeo is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-04-02, 06:55 PM   #9
NeoGeo
Geforce 4
 
NeoGeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: South Coast, England, UK
Posts: 146
Default

oh crap... i anoyed my graphics card sayin that! i jus had my first windows xp BSOD jus outta the blue

down to nv4_disp.dll

*tries to cheer up graphics card* "nice gainward... niceee gainward
__________________
AthlonXP 2500 Barton
MSI K7N2 Delta (MS-6570)
Nvidia Geforce FX 5600 128MB VIVO
512MB (2x 256MB) Crucial PC2700
2x 120GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 8MB
16x DVD
52x/24x/52x Lite-On CD-ReWriter
550 watt Q-Tech PSU
Superflower silver case
T1 Internet Connection
AOC 17" 7Klr
MS Keyboard+Mouse
NeoGeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GeForce4 Owners: Need your TV Encoder & Board Info... please! ScuzziOne NVIDIA Linux 1 08-01-02 04:00 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.