Go Back   nV News Forums > Website Related > Feedback Forum

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-21-04, 11:43 AM   #1
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Exclamation 2 Problems That I Notice...

The first one is that it seems to be counting code, as part of my signature... I cannot make any changes to it at all. I cant even use the sig I have had and click save.. it instantly says it is over 500 characters:


The other problem I notice, is I am not able to change my title, this is all I see in the title screen:


Other than that I see no problems, maybe a quick reply would be nice, where it has the dialog box right at the bottom of all the posts.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	code.JPG
Views:	340
Size:	99.7 KB
ID:	4971  Click image for larger version

Name:	avatar.jpg
Views:	332
Size:	47.6 KB
ID:	4972  
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-04, 01:54 PM   #2
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default

I'm working on it, give me a few...
__________________
primary MBP Core i5 2010 | HR | OCZ 120GB SSD
gaming Core i5-2500K @ 4.1GHz w/ CM Hyper212+ | MSI N560GTX-Ti TF II/OC | MSI P67A-GD55 | Silverstone FT02 | X360 250GB + Kinect
htpc IONITX-A-U | 2GB | M350 | XBMC Linux | SABnzbd, sickbeard, couchpotato | NAS Synology DS411J | 4TB
hometheater KURO PDP-5020 | Marantz SR6005 | Definitive BP7001s, CLR3000, BPVXPs
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-04, 03:57 PM   #3
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 6,277
Default

The default permission to upload avatars was set to no for forum members. I changed it to yes, so you should have an option to enable and upload them. But some folks haven't been able to get them to upload. The system will hang and then the session times out.
MikeC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-04, 04:05 PM   #4
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 6,277
Default

The maximum signature length was increased to 1000.
MikeC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-04, 04:19 PM   #5
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeC
The maximum signature length was increased to 1000.
Yea I just upped it from 500(default) not long ago. Hope that fixes the prob.
__________________
primary MBP Core i5 2010 | HR | OCZ 120GB SSD
gaming Core i5-2500K @ 4.1GHz w/ CM Hyper212+ | MSI N560GTX-Ti TF II/OC | MSI P67A-GD55 | Silverstone FT02 | X360 250GB + Kinect
htpc IONITX-A-U | 2GB | M350 | XBMC Linux | SABnzbd, sickbeard, couchpotato | NAS Synology DS411J | 4TB
hometheater KURO PDP-5020 | Marantz SR6005 | Definitive BP7001s, CLR3000, BPVXPs
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-04, 04:23 PM   #6
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 6,277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by |JuiceZ|
Yea I just upped it from 500(default) not long ago. Hope that fixes the prob.
I'm glad it was you, cuz I didn't change it

BTW, I noticed that the left side of the posts, where our avatars and other information is shown, doesn't always line up. Yours and mine do, but jakups is real narrow. It doesn't look clean. Wonder if there is a option to force it to always be a certain width?
MikeC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-04, 05:02 PM   #7
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeC
BTW, I noticed that the left side of the posts, where our avatars and other information is shown, doesn't always line up. Yours and mine do, but jackups is real narrow. It doesn't look clean. Wonder if there is a option to force it to always be a certain width?
It happened because of the img but yea I think we can modify one of the posting templates to force a certain width. It may even be in one of the regular options. I'm busy familiarizing myself w/ the admin faq at the moment...
__________________
primary MBP Core i5 2010 | HR | OCZ 120GB SSD
gaming Core i5-2500K @ 4.1GHz w/ CM Hyper212+ | MSI N560GTX-Ti TF II/OC | MSI P67A-GD55 | Silverstone FT02 | X360 250GB + Kinect
htpc IONITX-A-U | 2GB | M350 | XBMC Linux | SABnzbd, sickbeard, couchpotato | NAS Synology DS411J | 4TB
hometheater KURO PDP-5020 | Marantz SR6005 | Definitive BP7001s, CLR3000, BPVXPs
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-04, 05:23 PM   #8
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,993
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by |JuiceZ|
It happened because of the img but yea I think we can modify one of the posting templates to force a certain width. It may even be in one of the regular options. I'm busy familiarizing myself w/ the admin faq at the moment...
Actually, it looks like that cell is realtive to the length of the member's name (see -=Gib-McFragger=- as a good example)..so it's not relative to the image. IMO the member's name is on the large side...something like a 12~14px setting would prolly look cleaner and further reduce the width of that cell.
Clay is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-21-04, 05:42 PM   #9
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 6,277
Default

Good catch Max. The CSS element associated with the user name is labeled bigusername, which had a 14pt font size. I changed it to 12pt and it gives the posts a cleaner look. Well, except for jAkUp's

I looked at the HTML code on the page and there is a width of 175 assigned to that section:

<td class="alt2" width="175">

<div id="postmenu_287993">

<a class="bigusername" href="member.php?u=4114">jAkUp</a>

Not sure why jAkUp's was truncated. Will have to investigate further.


PS: It seems to be related to the images he included in his post. Notice how they cause the width of the post to go past the standard size. In that case, it's specific to that post. This one looks fine:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...808#post287808

BTW, have you moved your mouse over the nV News logo?
MikeC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-04, 06:49 PM   #10
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default

well lets see...

/me posts again
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-04, 09:08 PM   #11
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,993
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeC
Good catch Max. The CSS element associated with the user name is labeled bigusername, which had a 14pt font size. I changed it to 12pt and it gives the posts a cleaner look. Well, except for jAkUp's
That is better Mike...but I think the member names look a bit "thin" at that font setting. Can you try 10 or 11pt and bold them? I think that would look even better and give us even more horizontal space.

Heh, yeah I saw your ALT text for new logo idea. I'm embarrased to see it live already actually...since it was just a rough proof-of-concept that I whipped up. I'd like to really finish/polish it up much more than this.
Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-04, 09:13 PM   #12
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,993
Default

Hey also Mike and Juice et al.... you could hardcode the width of that area on the left to whatever (175 pixels for example) and then also include a very "lightweight" 1x1 pixel transparent GIF image, in that same cell, that has a width property of 175 pixels...that would force that cell to always be that width and to not "shrink' at times as it does now with jaKup's. Just an idea...could also be done a number of different ways with CSS methods.
Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problems with drivers after 295.40 (OpenSuSE 12.1, GeFroce 7900 GS, Phenom II X4) alawa NVIDIA Linux 0 06-09-12 06:37 PM
Nvidia Problems in Slackware 8.1 xtreme NVIDIA Linux 3 10-01-02 12:03 PM
Leadtek Nforce problems druga runda CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 4 09-18-02 08:26 AM
resolution problems the fat bastid NVIDIA Linux 4 09-15-02 09:40 PM
DirectX 8 problems with GeForce4 Derwin NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 19 08-20-02 01:23 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.