Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-27-04, 05:39 PM   #97
RoachMojo
Who...who are you..?
 
RoachMojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 291
Default Re: ~ | Official FarCry (retail) Feedback Thread! | ~

Wow, now that I can play it reasonably well with the latest drivers and the 1.1 patch...I am simply blown away! I mean, this is the most incredible looking game I have ever seen.

That first hang-glider scene...omg!!! I actually FELL OFF the ridge first...aaahhhhhh!!!
__________________
Coolermaster ATC-210-VX1 case w/ Rosewill 850W PSU | Q9650@3.6Ghz w/ Zalman CNPS9700 LED | eVga 780i BIOS P10 w/ 4GB OCZ Platinum PC8500 | 3-WD 640GB + External WD 1TB + Lite On 12x Blu-ray Burner | eVga Geforce GTX470 SC w/ Sony 60EX700 HDTV | Nvidia HD Audio on Denon 1909 5.1 and Polk Speakers | Dual Booting XP Professional SP3 and Windows 7 Enterprise X64
RoachMojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-04, 06:17 PM   #98
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default Re: ~ | Official FarCry (retail) Feedback Thread! | ~

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mullins1060
how do u change between ps 1.1 and 2?
You will need to changed all graphics settings to the maximum "Very High" this will automatic changed from "PS 1.1 Only" to "PS.2.0 and PS.1.1". You can check it in Far Cry log file, scroll down to the middle and you will find the lines:

****** D3D9 Render Stats ******
Driver description: NVIDIA GeForce FX 5900 Ultra
Full stats: HAL (pure hw vp): NVIDIA GeForce FX 5900 Ultra
Hardware acceleration: Yes
Full scene AA: Disabled
Projective EMBM: enabled
Detail textures: Yes
Z Buffer Locking: Yes
Use multitexture mode: Yes (8 texture(s))
Use bumpmapping : Yes (DOT3)
Use paletted textures : No
Current Resolution: 1024x768x32 Full Screen
Maximum Resolution: 1920x1080
Maximum Texture size: 4096x4096 (Max Aspect: 4096)
Texture filtering type: TRILINEAR
Use 32 bits textures
Gamma control: Hardware
Vertex Shaders version 2.0
Pixel Shaders version 2.0
Use Hardware Shaders for NV3x GPUs
Pixel shaders usage: PS.2.0 and PS.1.1
Vertex shaders usage: VS.2.0 and VS.1.1
Shadow maps type: Depth maps
Stencil shadows type: Two sided
*****************************************
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-04, 07:27 PM   #99
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: ~ | Official FarCry (retail) Feedback Thread! | ~

Anyone able to play this @ 1600x1200? Even if I turn things down on medium it still is choppy as hell.

For now I've got it @ 1024x768 and it runs reasonably well. This game reminds me of Halo in that if you go over 1024x768 (at least on my PC, c sig) it starts running like a little pork chop.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-04, 07:41 PM   #100
MUYA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,795
Send a message via MSN to MUYA
Default Re: ~ | Official FarCry (retail) Feedback Thread! | ~

waaaaaaaaaaahhh! I have to wait till monday for Far Cry Cd version
__________________
I5-2500k@4.7GHz - MSI Z77A-GD65 - 4GB X2 A-DATA DDR3 1600 - Corsair H100 - Antec Quatro 850W
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 680 OC - Dell 24" IPS
Intel 320 300 GB SSD - 1 TB Hitachi HDD - 2x 250 GB WD HDD
Corsair K90 - Corsair Venegance 2000 Headset - Razer Naga Epic
Corsair 600T Case
MUYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-04, 08:14 PM   #101
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: ~ | Official FarCry (retail) Feedback Thread! | ~

If anyone is wondering. Far cry will run on a geforce 4 ti 4600. I have mine back in my rig since I am selling the 5700u. You can forget about AA and AF, but it runs just fine at 1024X768 very high detail. Same with Painkiller. Does great except you aren't using AA/AF.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-04, 04:03 AM   #102
UDawg
Retired spammer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,799
Default Re: ~ | Official FarCry (retail) Feedback Thread! | ~

Here are some cool pics
UDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-04, 04:05 AM   #103
MUYA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,795
Send a message via MSN to MUYA
Default Re: ~ | Official FarCry (retail) Feedback Thread! | ~

PURDY BUMPINESS!! Me wanties...can't waities ...argghhhh
__________________
I5-2500k@4.7GHz - MSI Z77A-GD65 - 4GB X2 A-DATA DDR3 1600 - Corsair H100 - Antec Quatro 850W
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 680 OC - Dell 24" IPS
Intel 320 300 GB SSD - 1 TB Hitachi HDD - 2x 250 GB WD HDD
Corsair K90 - Corsair Venegance 2000 Headset - Razer Naga Epic
Corsair 600T Case
MUYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-04, 04:16 AM   #104
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: ~ | Official FarCry (retail) Feedback Thread! | ~

Damn those screenshots look good Udawg!
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-28-04, 04:36 AM   #105
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,859
Default Re: ~ | Official FarCry (retail) Feedback Thread! | ~

Is it just me or does the game run better without the patch on radeon cards,I uninstall the game and installed it without the patch and my FPS seems to be better without the patch .I thought this patch was going to have the save game but I guess it's the next patch.Without the patch my frame rate never drops below 35 and with the patch it would drop to 25,maybe it's just me.I have everthing set to the highest level except the shadows witch is set to medium and run it at 1024 x 768 with FSAA set to 2x and the aniso set to 4x.But this game looks great.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-04, 05:30 AM   #106
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: ~ | Official FarCry (retail) Feedback Thread! | ~

Ok I was waiting for someone else to notice it too. It does seem to run a little slower on my 9700 pro with the patch. Not a big difference but still...
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-04, 06:51 AM   #107
UDawg
Retired spammer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,799
Default Re: ~ | Official FarCry (retail) Feedback Thread! | ~

Quote:
Originally Posted by betterdan
Damn those screenshots look good Udawg!

Keep in mind I had to reduce the pictures by 10% so they would up load. So they are a little messed up.


I like this screen shot. It is on the freighter.


Be verwy verwy quwiet. I'm sniping seaguwlls.

LOL I blew that one away and look where the recoil put me. I love that sniper rifle.
UDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-04, 08:23 AM   #108
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: ~ | Official FarCry (retail) Feedback Thread! | ~

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malficar
If anyone is wondering. Far cry will run on a geforce 4 ti 4600. I have mine back in my rig since I am selling the 5700u. You can forget about AA and AF, but it runs just fine at 1024X768 very high detail. Same with Painkiller. Does great except you aren't using AA/AF.
I was reading somewhere that it might be better to run it in OpenGL mode for the GF4 (higher performance in opengl). I tried that with my Fx and it runs pretty well and fixes the fog issue. I'm back to using the DX9 mode for now though.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Max Payne 3 Feedback Thread Ghosthunter Gaming Central 94 10-05-12 07:00 AM
Official detonator 40.71 feedback thread Crake NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 88 10-01-02 12:38 PM
Official Dentonator 40.52 feedback thread sh*tshot NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 62 09-26-02 06:43 PM
Detonator 30.30 feedback thread Matthyahuw NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 26 07-31-02 10:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.