Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-08-02, 12:18 PM   #1
UptheJunction
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7
Default 64MB still good enough?

Just got myself a 64MB GF4 Ti4200, will this be good enough to play games like NOLF2 and mafia at a decent quality?

UtJ
UptheJunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-02, 12:23 PM   #2
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

yes i think so, but what are your other system specs?
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-02, 12:30 PM   #3
pelly
Registered User
 
pelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Default

For the time being and immediate-future.....64MB is good enough....However, with the coming games ( ie: DOOM III,etc....even UT2003 ) you will start to see a noticeable performance drop vs. 128MB cards...

Good luck with your card...have fun fragging...

pelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-02, 12:34 PM   #4
UptheJunction
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7
Default

My other specs are

P3 1GHz
512MB RAM
SB Audigy
40GB HD

Would an upgrade to a P4 be better than getting a 128MB graphics card?

UtJ
UptheJunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-02, 01:26 PM   #5
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by UptheJunction
My other specs are

P3 1GHz
512MB RAM
SB Audigy
40GB HD

Would an upgrade to a P4 be better than getting a 128MB graphics card?

UtJ
Yes, an upgrade to P4 or AthlonXP would be better than going from a 64meg TI4200 to a 128meg one.
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-02, 01:35 PM   #6
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default same situation basically...

For the time being and (maybe) the immediate future, 1ghz still seems to be a sweet spot for [decent] gaming. But newer games are relying heavily on AI as well as the gfx... An example being UT2k3 which has an AI setting for 1.5ghz processors and one for below that class. This may find it's way to other "coming soon" games.

It seems like you have a great card for any system, be it an Athlon 700 OR a P4/2.6.

And... save some dough and get an Athlon XP1600. Then, the money you saved you could couple with your sold value of the 64mb card and you'd have money for your 128mb unit as well.

Surely your present setup works fine.

I tolerate my friends system even running UT2k3demo on a duron 1000/gf2mx64mb/256mbpc133... Gotta drop most eye candy, but 640x480 w/2xAA on a blurry 17" isn't that bad @ 58fps.
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-02, 01:43 PM   #7
pelly
Registered User
 
pelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Default

Quote:
but 640x480 w/2xAA on a blurry 17" isn't that bad @ 58fps.
pelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-02, 01:51 PM   #8
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

Or you could keep your card and buy an ECS K7S5A and AthlonXP 1600+ for about $110 total and have yourself essentially a brand new system that will give you a noticable performance boost in your games. With that marticular motherboard, you'll still be able to use your single data rate RAM until you can save up for some DDR lovin'. The Ti4200 will scale very nicely with any new system you might purchase, too.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-08-02, 02:15 PM   #9
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by saturnotaku
Or you could keep your card and buy an ECS K7S5A and AthlonXP 1600+ for about $110 total and have yourself essentially a brand new system that will give you a noticable performance boost in your games. With that marticular motherboard, you'll still be able to use your single data rate RAM until you can save up for some DDR lovin'. The Ti4200 will scale very nicely with any new system you might purchase, too.
I was gonna suggest the same thing. My friend just purchased this combo last week from his PIII, and he saw a HUGE performance boost. He has the same video card as you too and is very happy now. He got it all from http://www.newegg.com
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-02, 04:00 PM   #10
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 64MB still good enough?

Quote:
Originally posted by UptheJunction
Just got myself a 64MB GF4 Ti4200, will this be good enough to play games like NOLF2 and mafia at a decent quality?

UtJ
since you said "decent" quality, then the answer is yes.

if you set everything to highest quality and jack up the resolution past 1024, then you probably would want 128MB of video RAM. if that's not your thing, then you most likely don't need it, until say Doom 3. for example, my friend has a gf2mx with 64MB and can run UT2003 with all settings at highest at either 800 or 1024 and still get 30-40fps avg

edit: it was probably more like 25-35 avg
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-02, 08:14 PM   #11
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

since you just bought the 64mb ti4200, unless you can return it, you don't have to go out and buy a 128mb card. you should be able to run most games perfectly unless you want to use 4xfsaa, 8xaf, ultra high textures etc.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-02, 06:36 AM   #12
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default Re: Re: 64MB still good enough?

StealthHawk, 128mb is not the answer, he can't possibly expect to run at or past 1024x768 with high details without something a lot faster than a PIII 1ghz. The 64meg card should be able to handle it fine, provided the CPU power is there to back it up. I highly recommend at least an AthlonXP1600, or any P4 Northwood minimum.



Quote:
Originally posted by StealthHawk


since you said "decent" quality, then the answer is yes.

if you set everything to highest quality and jack up the resolution past 1024, then you probably would want 128MB of video RAM. if that's not your thing, then you most likely don't need it, until say Doom 3. for example, my friend has a gf2mx with 64MB and can run UT2003 with all settings at highest at either 800 or 1024 and still get 30-40fps avg

edit: it was probably more like 25-35 avg
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DOE Doles Out Cash to AMD, Whamcloud for Exascale Research News Archived News Items 0 07-12-12 08:50 PM
Thoughts from console owners on NVIDIA's GEFORCE GRID MikeC Console World 11 05-27-12 09:43 AM
Measuring card memory usage peter_ga NVIDIA Linux 0 05-24-12 09:07 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 10:28 AM
System not detecting 128MB of graphics memory A-KO NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 21 09-27-02 09:59 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.