Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > Other Desktop Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-26-04, 05:05 PM   #1
vampireuk
**** Holster
 
vampireuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: The armoury
Posts: 2,813
Send a message via AIM to vampireuk
Default Severe problem with cats

I hope ATI can address this, in soldier of fortune 2 when a msn sign in alert appears, as well as trillian the screen starts flickering and looks like a wallhack. People on punkbuster have been "caught" by this error which is solely because of ATI, I hope something can be done to resolve this rather large problem.
__________________
I put children in microwaves.
vampireuk is offline  
Old 03-26-04, 06:05 PM   #2
Johnmcl7
Defiant
 
Johnmcl7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 247
Default Re: Severe problem with cats

As far as I'm aware, it does this on several OpenGL games(certainly on ET and CoD which I've been playing recently), and it's been doing it for a while. Never caused any problems with punkbuster for me though,

John
Johnmcl7 is offline  
Old 03-26-04, 06:44 PM   #3
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Default Re: Severe problem with cats

easy fix don't run messenger while playing
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline  
Old 03-27-04, 03:02 AM   #4
vampireuk
**** Holster
 
vampireuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: The armoury
Posts: 2,813
Send a message via AIM to vampireuk
Default Re: Severe problem with cats

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnmcl7
As far as I'm aware, it does this on several OpenGL games(certainly on ET and CoD which I've been playing recently), and it's been doing it for a while. Never caused any problems with punkbuster for me though,

John
No it doesn't cause any problems unless it takes a random screenshot of you when somebody signs in at that moment.

Quote:
easy fix don't run messenger while playing
Oh wow I wish I was as cool as you

I'm glad you don't work for ATI
__________________
I put children in microwaves.
vampireuk is offline  
Old 03-27-04, 03:49 AM   #5
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: Severe problem with cats

Quote:
Originally Posted by vampireuk
No it doesn't cause any problems unless it takes a random screenshot of you when somebody signs in at that moment.



Oh wow I wish I was as cool as you

I'm glad you don't work for ATI


Ya DVS has been providing real useful content to many threads lately. Like my buys remorse one :eyeroll:
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline  
Old 03-27-04, 08:38 AM   #6
Johnmcl7
Defiant
 
Johnmcl7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 247
Default Re: Severe problem with cats

Maybe the punkbuster issue is specific to Soldier of Fortune then, I've not been kicked off Enem3y Territory despite playing it heavily over the last few weeks.

John
Johnmcl7 is offline  
Old 03-27-04, 08:49 AM   #7
vampireuk
**** Holster
 
vampireuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: The armoury
Posts: 2,813
Send a message via AIM to vampireuk
Default Re: Severe problem with cats

It's not people getting kicked, its people who have a pb screenshot taken randomly at the same time as someone signing in. The graphics corruption that follows makes it look like the player is hacking.
__________________
I put children in microwaves.
vampireuk is offline  
Old 03-27-04, 12:07 PM   #8
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: Severe problem with cats

Quote:
Originally Posted by vampireuk
Oh wow I wish I was as cool as you
Once again Vamp reaffirms himself as the man!

I'm quite displeased with the recent degredation of ATI's drivers.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline  

Old 03-27-04, 12:25 PM   #9
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Default Re: Severe problem with cats

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisRay
Ya DVS has been providing real useful content to many threads lately. Like my buys remorse one :eyeroll:
Thats becouse people make silly threads in the first place like you comlaining about poor support on a EverQuest who is so outdated and serious people don't bother with it., and PunkBuster people are asses they don't care mutch if you cheat or not they ban alot of people for bugs in game bugs to

As for vampireuk its obvious that messenger is to blame here not ati , its pulls its message on top with priority

Oh any its not recent ATI driver messenger been doing this since Geforce 4 days , Soldier Of Fortune 2 is ancient.
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline  
Old 03-27-04, 12:50 PM   #10
vampireuk
**** Holster
 
vampireuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: The armoury
Posts: 2,813
Send a message via AIM to vampireuk
Default Re: Severe problem with cats

Quote:
Originally Posted by -=DVS=-
Thats becouse people make silly threads in the first place like you comlaining about poor support on a EverQuest who is so outdated and serious people don't bother with it., and PunkBuster people are asses they don't care mutch if you cheat or not they ban alot of people for bugs in game bugs to

As for vampireuk its obvious that messenger is to blame here not ati , its pulls its message on top with priority

Oh any its not recent ATI driver messenger been doing this since Geforce 4 days , Soldier Of Fortune 2 is ancient.
Actually the problem is recognised by Punkbuster to be caused by ATI drivers, it doesn't happen with NVIDIA cards

Again you prove to everyone that you should not be involved in any form of computer support, the attitude of "uuhh its old play something new" is pathetic and a very lame attempt at avoiding answering a legitimate point, come to think of it do you actually work on the CAT's?

Yes the game is old, lets stop supporting it
__________________
I put children in microwaves.
vampireuk is offline  
Old 03-27-04, 01:40 PM   #11
Deathlike2
Driver Reinstall Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Nowhere Near NVidia or NVNews
Posts: 336
Default Re: Severe problem with cats

An alternative suggestion is to use a Windowed mode... though you will have to adjust the desktop gamma (not full screen gamma) to have the game look bright enough.. this will avoid all "Messenger corruption"...
__________________
PR = crap
War Against FUD
What is FUD? - http://www.geocities.com/SiliconValley/Hills/9267/fuddef.html
Deathlike2 is offline  
Old 03-27-04, 01:59 PM   #12
micron
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: U.S.
Posts: 165
Send a message via MSN to micron
Default Re: Severe problem with cats

I have experienced this problem also, but with old and new Catalyst versions.
__________________
Athlon64 3000+ "Venice" @2.48Ghz
Asrock Dual Sata2 939
1GB Corsair DDR 400
HIS X1900GT IceQ 3 @700/1600 1.45v
micron is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Post working out problem with 40.xx trying to work problem out, ONLY system specs b5fan NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 11 10-19-02 09:17 AM
nv30 problem rumor bob747b Rumor Mill 37 10-10-02 03:14 PM
kswapd kernel problem and the NVdriver kwaz NVIDIA Linux 2 09-25-02 08:33 PM
funny problem with 2960 and GF4 konsti NVIDIA Linux 3 09-03-02 07:08 AM
Nvidia Go on laptop, black border within XFree86 problem raxip NVIDIA Linux 3 07-31-02 10:58 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.