Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-15-04, 06:01 AM   #25
quadfour
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 83
Default Re: 32bit drivers on Asus K8V

*bump*

Still no reply from NVidia, have emailed them again.
quadfour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-04, 08:27 AM   #26
tretboot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 13
Default Re: 32bit drivers on Asus K8V

Hi,
I am experiencing the exact same behaviour on my machine (Asus K8V SE Deluxe, AMD64 3200+, Kingston 2x512MB, MSI 5700. Fedora Core 1 64-bit works, but FC1 for 32-bit and SuSE 9.0 fail at the same stage (modprobe nvidia) with stock kernels and 2.6.5 vanilla. The really interesting thing is, that a friend of mine has the same hardware and it works. Interestingly memtest86 shows mrginally different memory bandwidth values on his machine.
tretboot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-04, 04:53 PM   #27
quadfour
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 83
Default Re: 32bit drivers on Asus K8V

Hi tretboot. Does your friend have the same type of memory, kernel and same BIOS version? I have Kingmax memory in my machine but I have tried Kingston too, same problem with both brands.

This has been wrecking my brain. NVidia tell me they have tested the 32 bit drivers on the hardware I have, and even when I changed the mainboard, video etc it was still awry.

The only bit of hardware I havn't replaced is the CPU. I still wonder if somehow this may be the cause? Heres info on my CPU. Could you please compare with yourself and your friend, see if there are any differences other than the cache size.

[quadfour@natalie quadfour]$ cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 15
model : 12
model name : AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3000+
stepping : 0
cpu MHz : 2002.606
cache size : 512 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 1
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 syscall mmxext lm 3dnowext 3dnow
bogomips : 3997.69

If its not too much of a hassel could I ask you to reply with what you have tried to get this working?

Thanks
MIchael

Quote:
Originally Posted by tretboot
Hi,
I am experiencing the exact same behaviour on my machine (Asus K8V SE Deluxe, AMD64 3200+, Kingston 2x512MB, MSI 5700. Fedora Core 1 64-bit works, but FC1 for 32-bit and SuSE 9.0 fail at the same stage (modprobe nvidia) with stock kernels and 2.6.5 vanilla. The really interesting thing is, that a friend of mine has the same hardware and it works. Interestingly memtest86 shows mrginally different memory bandwidth values on his machine.
quadfour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-04, 04:08 AM   #28
pzgren
Registered User
 
pzgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 107
Default Re: 32bit drivers on Asus K8V

hello,

are you using ACPI or the magic APIC? You can try to strace the install procedure (--extract-only the pkg).

Ive edited the Makefile.kbuild and deleted there the

kernel_module_install:
...
install:
...

from the whole install part. Then I can first install only the GLX drivers. And then manual cd /usr/src/NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-5341-pkg1/usr/src/nv

strace make install >& nv.log

If your RAM is the flaky part you must see something like a signal11 or a nice segfault in the strace output, in many cases...

The /var/log/messages says also nothing after a reboot?


Marcus
__________________
Fedora Core 6
Notebook: DELL Inspiron 9400 - Core Duo T2400 - 17" WUXGA 7800 Go 256MB - 2 GB DDR2 667 MHz -
PC: AMD64 3200 - 1 GB Infi. PC400 - MSI K8N Neo Platinum NForce3 250GB - 80GB SATA Samsung - SB Live! 5.1 - GF 6600GT AGP
pzgren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-04, 04:42 AM   #29
quadfour
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 83
Default Re: 32bit drivers on Asus K8V

All I get in /var/log/messages is that warning about tainting the kernel, then just hard lock. I did try doing a strace in thebeginning but it didn't show anything helpfull because its not stracing the loading of the actual module AFAIK. I can do a strace modprobe nvidia, didn't do that before. Will post if there is anything interesting in it.

Still, I know the memory isn't flaky, memtest86 showed perfect results.
quadfour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-04, 04:44 AM   #30
quadfour
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 83
Default Re: 32bit drivers on Asus K8V

BTW, the $100 for a charity of the problem solver's preference is still on offer
quadfour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-04, 05:46 AM   #31
quadfour
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 83
Default Re: 32bit drivers on Asus K8V

Stracing the modprobe to a file was useless cause the file couldn't be written
before the machine crashed. Stracing to STDOUT showed that modprobe forked to another process and thus wasn't straced. Anyway, I straced an insmod nvidia and got some output but I don't think it is too helpful. Here it is anyway (copied by hand)...

stat64("/lib/modules/2.4.22-28mdk/kernel/drivers/video/nvidia.o", {st_mode=S_IFREG|0664, st_size=2370358, ...}) = 0
brk(0x820e000) = 0x820e000
brk(0x8236000) = 0x8236000
brk(0x8260000) = 0x8260000
brk(0x8287000) = 0x8287000
old_mmap(NULL, 159744, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_ANONYMOUS, -1, 0) = 0x401d2000
brk(0x824d000) = 0x824d000
create_module("nvidia", 2124832) = 0xf8935000
brk(0x8276000) = 0x8276000
old_mmap(NULL, 159744, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_ANONYMOUS, -1, 0) = 0x401f9000
brk(0x824d000) = 0x824d000
munmap(0x401d2000, 159744) = 0
old_mmap(NULL, 2125824, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_ANONYMOUS, -1, 0) = 0x40220000

And this is where the machine hard locks.
quadfour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-04, 06:34 AM   #32
pzgren
Registered User
 
pzgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 107
Default Re: 32bit drivers on Asus K8V

Ähhh, a stupid question. Do you try to install the module under a running X?
I hope not. :-)

Marcus
__________________
Fedora Core 6
Notebook: DELL Inspiron 9400 - Core Duo T2400 - 17" WUXGA 7800 Go 256MB - 2 GB DDR2 667 MHz -
PC: AMD64 3200 - 1 GB Infi. PC400 - MSI K8N Neo Platinum NForce3 250GB - 80GB SATA Samsung - SB Live! 5.1 - GF 6600GT AGP
pzgren is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-18-04, 07:06 AM   #33
quadfour
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 83
Default Re: 32bit drivers on Asus K8V

Ahem.... no

Quote:
Originally Posted by pzgren
Ähhh, a stupid question. Do you try to install the module under a running X?
I hope not. :-)

Marcus
quadfour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-04, 11:05 AM   #34
tretboot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 13
Default Re: 32bit drivers on Asus K8V

Quote:
Originally Posted by quadfour
Hi tretboot. Does your friend have the same type of memory, kernel and same BIOS version? I have Kingmax memory in my machine but I have tried Kingston too, same problem with both brands.
Hi Michael,

Yes, everything is the same apart from the CPU (no BIOS update available yet). Mine came as a tray version, ie. without fan, and his came boxed. We now have the same fan on both CPUs. We found errors with the Elixir RAM we had at first on his machine (using memtest86 v3.1) , which I couldn't confirm on my box.

Quote:
This has been wrecking my brain. NVidia tell me they have tested the 32 bit drivers on the hardware I have, and even when I changed the mainboard, video etc it was still awry.

The only bit of hardware I havn't replaced is the CPU. I still wonder if somehow this may be the cause? Heres info on my CPU. Could you please compare with yourself and your friend, see if there are any differences other than the cache size.

[quadfour@natalie quadfour]$ cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 15
model : 12
model name : AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3000+
stepping : 0
cpu MHz : 2002.606
cache size : 512 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 1
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 syscall mmxext lm 3dnowext 3dnow
bogomips : 3997.69
# cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 15
model : 4
model name : AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3200+
stepping : 10
cpu MHz : 2002.662
cache size : 1024 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 1
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 syscall mmxext lm 3dnowext 3dnow
bogomips : 3932.16

I will come back later with data from his machine.
Quote:
If its not too much of a hassel could I ask you to reply with what you have tried to get this working?
1. Install FC1 i386, update. No usable video with default driver (nv). Run NVIDIA installer, machine would hang after "100% complete. Done." Sometimes output in the logs. I did finally see the message about the tainted kernel and concluded that the installer got past compilation (which I suspected at first although I didn't have problems compiling a kernel). This with default kernel and 2.6.5 vanilla after make oldconfig.

2. Install Suse 9.0 i386, update on my friend's machine. No usable video with default driver (nv). NVIDIA driver installed flawlessly and UT2004 demo runs very smoothly in highest settings and 1280x1024.

3. Install Suse 9.0 i386, update. No usable video with default driver (nv). Run NVIDIA installer, machine would hang after "100% complete. Done." Sometimes output in the logs. Extracted the installer package and manually compiled and installed the driver. Both insmod and modprobe would hang the machine. I can strace it, but am not in a position to make useful comments about the output.

4. Install FC1 x86_64, update. Video works with nv and nvidia driver no problems. Unfortunately it is not yet as usable as I hoped it would be.

5. Currently downloading Suse 9.0 x86_64.

Cheers,
Andreas
tretboot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-04, 12:57 PM   #35
blueworm
[DEADAGAIN]blueworm
 
blueworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 416
Default Re: 32bit drivers on Asus K8V

After reading this I am now beggining to think maybe the cpu's are dodgy.
As we all should know the athlon64 3000+ are not the new newcastle core as
some vendors have claimed.
They are clawhammer core wich have not passed the quality ratings for 3200+ and have had half their cache disabled to meet the lesser quality rating of the 3000+.
This is common practice in the cpu industry thats why some cpu overclock so well.
It would be cool if tretboot could try his friends cpu in his mobo...
__________________
Registered linux user #271604 Get Counted! http://counter.li.org/
lianLi PC60, OCZ powerStream 520W PSU, Asus P5N-E SLI, Core 2 duo E6550, 2Gb GEIL, XFX 8800GT, TB SantaCruz
blueworm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-04, 04:42 PM   #36
tretboot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 13
Default Re: 32bit drivers on Asus K8V

Hi there,

I have now tested yet another machine (we were a couple of guys in need for more oomph), and it appears that it is indeed the CPU which is responsible for our woes. Here it goes:

My machine and one of the others are Stepping 10, while one is Stepping 8. Both Stepping 10 processors (all AMD64 3200+) failed with the exact same behaviour as described earlier, while the Stepping 8 CPU did just fine.

Memtest shows slightly different memory access values between the two different steppings: Stepping 10 is slightly slower accessing RAM and a bit faster accessing L2 cache.

Maybe the memory timing has something to do with the nvidia driver. Has anyone else here the opportunity to test different chips? I will write to NVIDIA tomorrow to tell them about this. Maybe others can do too.
tretboot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Review of the 23-inch Asus VG23AH Passive 3D IPS Display News Archived News Items 0 06-21-12 08:40 PM
NVIDIA Drivers Receive Windows 8 Certification News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 06:30 AM
Enhance Max Payne 3, Diablo III with GeForce R300 Drivers News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 07:30 PM
Creative drivers ? SparrowHawk General Hardware 39 11-18-02 09:03 AM
Radeon 9700 not all that? sancheuz Other Desktop Graphics Cards 200 10-12-02 10:31 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.