Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-27-04, 07:00 PM   #1
Omega53
 
Omega53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hurricane Alley AKA FLORIDA
Posts: 842
Default Processor Limited In Gaming?

I have a athlon 2600+ XP with a 9700 Pro and my question is if I upgraded to a 3200+ proc, would I notice a huge difference in any games?
__________________
THERMALTAKE XASER VA8000BWS
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe NF4
[COLOR=Green]XFX|7800GTX[/COLOR] 256M @ [COLOR=Green]490/1300[/COLOR]
Venice 3000+ 64 @ [COLOR=Red]2.5ghz (278 FSB)[/COLOR]
1 GiG Cosair XMS 2.5-3-3-6 @ [COLOR=Blue]230Mhz[/COLOR]
19" Viewsonic G90f
[URL="http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm05=1275491"]8600 3D Mark 05[/URL]
Omega53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-04, 07:04 PM   #2
MUYA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,794
Send a message via MSN to MUYA
Default Re: Processor Limited In Gaming?

erm some...depends on the games itself....if u are going to upgrade...get yerself the new athlon64s mate!
__________________
I5-2500k@4.7GHz - MSI Z77A-GD65 - 4GB X2 A-DATA DDR3 1600 - Corsair H100 - Antec Quatro 850W
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 680 OC - Dell 24" IPS
Intel 320 300 GB SSD - 1 TB Hitachi HDD - 2x 250 GB WD HDD
Corsair K90 - Corsair Venegance 2000 Headset - Razer Naga Epic
Corsair 600T Case
MUYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-04, 07:07 PM   #3
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Thumbs up Re: Processor Limited In Gaming?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MUYA
erm some...depends on the games itself....if u are going to upgrade...get yerself the new athlon64s mate!
I will agree with Muya i went from Athlon Xp 2400+ to Athlon 64 3200+ and saw a huge difference in games
Haveing fast CPU is usually better then haveing Top of the line Video Card and severly outdate CPU.
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-04, 07:07 PM   #4
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Processor Limited In Gaming?

I wouldnt do it.. you wont see enough of a jump to warrent the cost... your better off with getting one of the next gen cards... unless its a A64
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-04, 07:37 PM   #5
MUYA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,794
Send a message via MSN to MUYA
Default Re: Processor Limited In Gaming?

Athlon64s bring so much to the table that if you are thinking of a CPU upgarde in AMD terms, an Athlon64 is a must. I have heard from personal accounts that they are so much faster and are the dog's bollox

I am just waiting for athlon64 3700+ or more...q3/4 maybe
__________________
I5-2500k@4.7GHz - MSI Z77A-GD65 - 4GB X2 A-DATA DDR3 1600 - Corsair H100 - Antec Quatro 850W
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 680 OC - Dell 24" IPS
Intel 320 300 GB SSD - 1 TB Hitachi HDD - 2x 250 GB WD HDD
Corsair K90 - Corsair Venegance 2000 Headset - Razer Naga Epic
Corsair 600T Case
MUYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-04, 01:57 PM   #6
MadPt
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 66
Default Re: Processor Limited In Gaming?

I don't think his mobo is likely to support the A64. Maybe that's why he wants the "normal" 3200.
The a64 needs new memory ( unless you already have top of the line memory modules, most times with error checking being a must, along with a high price, ofc. ) and usually a new mobo.

I agree that it would be great to upgrade to a A64, but if not, it's still a nice upgrade, as long as you don't have to pay big bucks, otherwise, keep your money until you can upgrade your whole rig.
MadPt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-04, 02:05 PM   #7
MUYA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,794
Send a message via MSN to MUYA
Default Re: Processor Limited In Gaming?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadPt
I don't think his mobo is likely to support the A64. Maybe that's why he wants the "normal" 3200.
The a64 needs new memory ( unless you already have top of the line memory modules, most times with error checking being a must, along with a high price, ofc. ) and usually a new mobo.

I agree that it would be great to upgrade to a A64, but if not, it's still a nice upgrade, as long as you don't have to pay big bucks, otherwise, keep your money until you can upgrade your whole rig.
My bad....only cpu upgrade would mean a 3200_ would be his only choice and not bad. well i have a athlon 2800+@ 2.2ghz...tis fine for me
__________________
I5-2500k@4.7GHz - MSI Z77A-GD65 - 4GB X2 A-DATA DDR3 1600 - Corsair H100 - Antec Quatro 850W
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 680 OC - Dell 24" IPS
Intel 320 300 GB SSD - 1 TB Hitachi HDD - 2x 250 GB WD HDD
Corsair K90 - Corsair Venegance 2000 Headset - Razer Naga Epic
Corsair 600T Case
MUYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Buying A Cloud Gaming Company Could Be The Smartest Move Sony Has Made This Gener News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 07:50 AM
Rumor: Cloud Gaming Deal with Sony 'Close to Being Signed' News Archived News Items 0 05-30-12 05:00 PM
Nvidia On Cloud As The Future Of PC Gaming News Archived News Items 0 05-30-12 02:40 PM
Product Review ' SteelSeries Scope Gaming Eyewear by Gunnar News Archived News Items 0 05-18-12 09:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.