Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 10-08-02, 03:24 PM   #1
sephiroth762

Unhappy My SuSE 8.0 just totally BROKE. Help please!!!

Ok... for starters, here's the system I'm running:

(Built by me :-))
AMD Athlon XP 2100+
768MB DDR SDRAM PC2100
WD 40MB 7200RPM HD (x2: one windows, one linux)
VisionTek GeForce4 Ti4400 (AGP)
Yamaha 20x10x40 CD-RW
1.44MB Floppy
SoundBlaster Audigy Gamer
Cheap ass 10/100 card
SuSE Linux 8.0 Professional (Drive 2)
Windows XP Professional (Drive 1)
---NOTE: I have it set up to use LILO as boot manager and boot linux by default. I have 8 seconds to decide Windows or Linux and if I don't make a decision, linux boots.

-ALSO- I don't know ANYTHING about linux. I just got it. I know NO "shell commands," directories, setup files or whatever, so try to explain as clearly as possible for a total beginner please :-D (if you could tell me exactly what to type that would be GREAT).

Alright, so here's the problem... I couldn't get my 3D card to work (I had installed Q3A and it ran like crap, plus the 3D games that came with SuSE won't run; says there's no 3D card) SOOOO, I downloaded and installed the two drivers on the NVIDIA site: the GLX and the Kernel files. SuSE then tested the setup, (it worked) and told me I didn't need to reboot. Well, my mouse turned into these two little pink slits somehow, so I decided to log out and log back in to see if it would go away.