Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-25-04, 10:40 PM   #1
reve_etrange
iDan: Box Robot Battler
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to reve_etrange
Default nForce lockups

The nForce lockup problem has been around for a while now. I have spent the better part of a month trying to fix it. It is making my system virtually unusable-and making me wonder if nVidia deserves its reputation as a Linux-friendly company.
These are the "fixes" I have used: setting idle=pass, not compiling ACPI into the kernel, setting mem=nopentium, setting acpi=off. Then only unimplemented fix I have heard about is using hdparm to change a UDMA setting, but I'm not sure how to do this.

Has anybody solved this problem? How?

Thanks,
Daniel

NF7-S 2.0, GeForce FX 5600 ULTRA, Debian with kernel 2.6.5, Athlon XP 1700+ at 2 GHz
__________________
www.boxbattle.com - Semper Absurda

Last edited by reve_etrange; 04-26-04 at 11:03 PM. Reason: typo
reve_etrange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-04, 12:02 PM   #2
kgroombr
Using Linux Since 1995
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 130
Default Re: nForce locups

I fixed mine by disabling the CPU Disconnect function in the BIOS. This is on ABit NF7-S and AN7 boards.

Another fix that worked before I did the above was:

Compile the kernel with absolutely no APIC or ACPI support.
Specify the kernel line options acpi=off noapic noioapic

Good luck,
Ken
__________________
Kenton A. Groombridge
kgroombr@comcast.net
http://home.comcast.net/~kgroombr/
kgroombr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-04, 08:26 PM   #3
reve_etrange
iDan: Box Robot Battler
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to reve_etrange
Default Re: nForce locups

I am using an Abit NF7-S. I disabled CPU disconnect, and set my UDMA settings to UDMA3 (with hdparm -X udma3 /dev/hda). Things are working OK right now, no lockup so far. I am going to test it (with grep, which usually caused the lockups), then turn off workarounds one by one until the problem returns; I want to know what is causing this exactly. Thank the Linux gods for a journaling filesystem (each lockup requires a hard reboot).
-Daniel
__________________
www.boxbattle.com - Semper Absurda
reve_etrange is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nForce + RedHat 7.3 Success Story rtz NVIDIA Linux 47 02-15-03 02:20 AM
Nforce AGP & unreal 2003 nichos NVIDIA Linux 1 10-18-02 05:21 PM
Keep K7S5A or Upgrade To Nforce MB? Grechie CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 5 10-06-02 02:28 PM
Newby question about nforce.... superconti NVIDIA Linux 2 09-07-02 11:46 PM
new nforce driver!! 1.12!! frenchy2k1 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 9 08-27-02 01:09 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.