Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-30-02, 05:26 PM   #1
29inchut2003
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 6
Question alternative to twinview??

right, ive set up my XF86Config (i think) correctly:
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "NVIDIA GeForce 2 GTS (generic)"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 16
Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
Option "TwinView" "True"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT, TV"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-50"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "60"
Option "MetaModes" "800x600, 800x600; 640x480, 640x480;"
Option "TVStandard" "PAL-B"
EndSubsection

EndSection

(sorry 'bout that)

on loading X, no tv output.
i check the X log file, and this strange message rears its head:

(WW) NVIDIA(0): 2 display devices connected, but only 1 supported;
(WW) NVIDIA(0): adjusting...

ive clipped the rest of that stuff, tell me if more would be helpful,
but please, any suggestions would be very helpful and greatly appreciated.
btw; (and please dont hurt me for saying this) twinview works in (shudder) windows, so it cant be the card.


Last edited by 29inchut2003; 10-30-02 at 11:58 PM.
29inchut2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-02, 09:14 PM   #2
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

What video card are you using? TwinView is only supported on the GeForce2 MX, GeForce2 Go, Quadro2 MXR, Quadro2 Go, and GeForce4 GPUs. If you don't have one of these cards, then TwinView will not work. The GeForce 2 GTS does not support TwinView.

If you do have a card that supports TwinView, can you post your entire /var/log/XFree86.0.log file?

Thanks!

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-02, 11:48 PM   #3
29inchut2003
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 6
Default realy?? oh crumbs....

yeah, im running a g-force 2 TI (gts).
so how can i get a cloned tv-out?
i hate to badger the point, but in windows it runs, incidentally under the tab entitled 'twinview'.
i belive what you are saying, but what options does this leave me with??

thank you very much for your insight
29inchut2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-02, 12:03 AM   #4
29inchut2003
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 6
Default

btw, while im here posting, does anyone know how to stopt gnome complaining about logging in as root, and how to stop the 'start-here' from appearing everyime?
29inchut2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-02, 08:55 AM   #5
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

You can stop Gnome's complaining by not logging in as root. Seriously, it's a bad idea.

The few viruses for Linux that do exist depend on you running things (like an IRC client, or a web browser) as root. Don't do that.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-02, 04:50 PM   #6
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

It's not readily clear why you're seeing a TwinView tab under Windows. The GeForce 2 GTS family of cards does not support TwinView. There was a small set of cards (Gainward, I believe) that happened to have TV clone enabled, but it wasn't (and still isn't) an NVIDIA driver supported option.

Unfortunately, you won't be able to use any TwinView features under Linux with your card.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-02, 09:02 PM   #7
29inchut2003
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 6
Default

ok, so what does this mean?
is there any way at all to get tv-output alongside my crt?
is any form of cloning still possibe?
and how?
thank you so much for all your help
29inchut2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-02, 07:08 PM   #8
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Unfortunately, no clone modes are available on your card under Linux, as your GPU does not support it.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Redhat 8.0 NVIDIA works - INSTRUCTIONS STEEL1 NVIDIA Linux 267 04-15-03 07:48 PM
order of devices in TwinView mjh NVIDIA Linux 2 10-16-02 04:45 AM
XF86Config for a Quadro4 without TwinView? Twirlip NVIDIA Linux 1 10-09-02 11:36 AM
Undefined Device Error - Can't startx linuxdave NVIDIA Linux 2 08-07-02 04:28 PM
How do I configure TwinView on Dell Inspiron rutgerclaes NVIDIA Linux 6 08-01-02 04:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.