Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-06-04, 11:29 PM   #13
GlowStick
CoD4!
 
GlowStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,786
Send a message via AIM to GlowStick
Default Re: Has anyone done real testing in Farcy 512Mb ram vs. 1gig ram?

Heh, i actually just bought a stick of pc2700 256mb module for 25$ and my UT2k4 preformance went up SOOOOOOOOO much i wish i went for the 512mb module
__________________
Intel i7-2600K, Corsair 8Gig, Corsair H100, Corsair 650D, Corsair HX750, ATi 6970, WD Caviar Black 2TB
Sony Vaio SB: i7, 8Gig, Intel 320 300gig
GlowStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-04, 03:37 PM   #14
Zeta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 373
Default Re: Has anyone done real testing in Farcy 512Mb ram vs. 1gig ram?

Do you play FarCry? After reading schuey74's post I was going to run and grab another stick. I looked up the price for the same local store I bought the first stick from and it went from $100 to $130 in a week. :S I am thinking about holding off now. For $136 I can get a 10k rpm SATA harddrive.
Zeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-04, 11:57 PM   #15
Mike89
Dude, where's my brain?
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In California choking from all the liberal BS
Posts: 1,185
Default Re: Has anyone done real testing in Farcy 512Mb ram vs. 1gig ram?

It's real simple. If you have XP, immediately after a game session go to Task Manager and see what the Peak reads for the memory. That will tell you the highest amount of memory that was used. For me it reads 850 megs or so. And that's not even with all the settings maxed. This game definitely needs more than 512 megs of memory if you don't want disk swapping to occur.
__________________
I7 3770 @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-U14S Heatsink), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 Gigs (2x8) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23" (1920x1080), X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, 2 WD 640 gig SATA HDDs, WD 750 gig HDD (eSata), WD 1TB Black HDD, Sandisk 32 GB ReadyCache SSD, 2 SATA DVD Burners, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-04, 09:18 AM   #16
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: Has anyone done real testing in Farcy 512Mb ram vs. 1gig ram?

You're going to want 1GB to really enjoy it. It's a worthy investment regardless.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-04, 06:04 PM   #17
Zeta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 373
Default Re: Has anyone done real testing in Farcy 512Mb ram vs. 1gig ram?

Thanks. I will grab some asap.
Zeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.