Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-09-04, 01:29 PM   #1
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default Halo in DX7 mode - how can I set this?

I was reading this review and in it they have a benchmark chart for Halo. The choices are:

Fixed Function - DX7
Pixel Shader 1.1 - DX8
Pixel Shader 2.0 - DX9

So what I wanna know is how do I enable "Fixed Function - DX7" mode in Halo? I think I'm running DX8 mode right now, and I'd much rather have the FPS boost as shown in that chart with DX7.

Registry setting? In-game config? INI file? How do I enable DX7 mode?
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-04, 01:57 PM   #2
Edge
3d animator for hire!
 
Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,564
Default Re: Halo in DX7 mode - how can I set this?

Make a shortcut to the game, and then add "-useff" (without the quotes) at the end of the target shortcut. So in the end, it should say:
C:\yourhalodirectory\halo.exe -useff

Be warned, it's not pretty...the water looks like something from 1990. But eh, it does run faster at least.
Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-04, 02:05 PM   #3
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default Re: Halo in DX7 mode - how can I set this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edge
Make a shortcut to the game, and then add "-useff" (without the quotes) at the end of the target shortcut. So in the end, it should say:
C:\yourhalodirectory\halo.exe -useff

Be warned, it's not pretty...the water looks like something from 1990. But eh, it does run faster at least.
bleh, doesn't sound very appealing, but I'll try it, thanks
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-04, 03:00 PM   #4
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: Halo in DX7 mode - how can I set this?

Jeez man, your system should be enough to run that game in 1024x768 I would think as long as you keep specular turned off and keep FSAA/AF turned down.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-04, 03:13 PM   #5
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: Halo in DX7 mode - how can I set this?

If you are using the latest drivers, like I am, just select 'null ps 2.0' and tick 'null ps 1.1'. Its under your video card setting for 'more 3d', same place you set pre rendering frames.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-04, 03:36 PM   #6
poursoul
i eat people
 
poursoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Orcutt, CA
Posts: 614
Default Re: Halo in DX7 mode - how can I set this?

Am i just wierd or something, i'm running a P4 1.6 and a Ti4200 and i seriously will not play a game below 1024x768. A game just HAS to look good for me to keep interest even if it mean dipping below 15 fps some times. yes i am wierd.
poursoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-04, 05:18 PM   #7
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default Re: Halo in DX7 mode - how can I set this?

OMFG you're right, it looks HORRIBLE in DX7 mode!!! I'll stick with DX8 mode

__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-04, 07:00 PM   #8
Heavyd
Registered User
 
Heavyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 115
Send a message via ICQ to Heavyd
Default Re: Halo in DX7 mode - how can I set this?

LoL when i play in FF mode it looks crapier and play even worst lol im probably playing at 25fps at 800x600 at Low and with th FF its like 2 FPS
Heavyd is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
320.17 can't detect video modes on Lenovo laptop tadawson NVIDIA Linux 13 07-14-12 01:40 AM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-30-02 11:59 PM
Error messages... HELP!!!! Imperito NVIDIA Linux 3 09-24-02 10:46 PM
Nvidia GF4 MX 440 + Mandrake tomchristopher NVIDIA Linux 3 08-18-02 09:42 AM
nVidia drivers + Red Hat Linux 7.3 Error404 NVIDIA Linux 17 08-16-02 11:34 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.