Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-22-04, 02:51 PM   #1
Styx_185
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1
Default FX5200 Graphics Problems

This thread may have already been started, so I apologize if I have in any way inconvienienced any of you. I am having problems getting my Nvidia Graphics card, the FX5200. I have two selections to choose from as drivers, the ia32 or the ia64. I am not sure what I have. All I know is that I have Red Hat 9.0 Shrike. In my /usr/src/linux-2.4.20-8/arch
folder I see there is both an i386 and an ia64 folder. Is there any way I can tell what this is? either the ia32 or ia64?

Please I am desparate.

Thank you.
Sincerely,

Styx
Styx_185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-04, 03:04 PM   #2
Edge
3d animator for hire!
 
Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,564
Default Re: FX5200 Graphics Problems

You might want to put this in the "Linux And NVIDIA Graphics" forum, seems more appropriate
Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-04, 06:26 AM   #3
rednuht
GeForce FX5600 (1.0-5336)
 
rednuht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 164
Default Re: FX5200 Graphics Problems

If you do not know which IA32 or IA64 you need then you want the IA32

IA is Intel/AMD and 32/64 is the processor size, most ppl have an Intel or AMD 32 bit processor but we are seeing a large uptake of 64 bit processors at the moment.
rednuht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-04, 04:30 PM   #4
energyman76b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Clausthal/Germany
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: FX5200 Graphics Problems

Hi,
not exactly correct:
ia32 are x86 compatible cpus
ia64 is intels itanium platform (not x86!)
x86_64 is AMD's 64-bit extension for the x86 platform.

If he has a pentium or later (2,3,4,centrino,mobile,celeron blabla) it is ia32.
If he has an athlon, athlon xp, duron, it is ia32
If he has an athlon 64, athlon 64 FX, opteron, it is x86_64.
If he has an itanium, it is ia64.

IA64 has nothing in common with x86_64. Intel has a x86_64 compatible extension in their upcoming xeons, but this is not ia64!
energyman76b is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thoughts from console owners on NVIDIA's GEFORCE GRID MikeC Console World 11 05-27-12 08:43 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.