Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-25-04, 11:09 AM   #1
dlouhan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5
Default 5336 - multiple xservers problem (startx - :1)

Hello,

I have problem with running more than one xserver.
When trying to run second xserver, failure occures:

startx -- :1

(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to allocate external video decoder object
(EE) NVIDIA(0): *** Aborting ***

Configuration:
- Riva TNT2
- Mandrake 10 community
- kernel 2.6.3-4mdk
- driver 5336

Configuration file and log reports from first (successful) and second (aborted) xserver are attached.
Attached Files
File Type: txt XF86Config-4.txt (8.1 KB, 100 views)
File Type: txt XFree86.1.log.txt (25.2 KB, 96 views)
File Type: txt XFree86.2.log.txt (22.4 KB, 88 views)
dlouhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-04, 01:36 PM   #2
yitzhakbg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: ISRAEL
Posts: 31
Default Re: 5336 - multiple xservers problem (startx - :1)

To do it properly (requires some reading and patience):

http://www.ibiblio.org/pub/Linux/doc...TO-html.tar.gz
http://startx.times.lv/
http://sourceforge.net/mail/?group_id=3063
http://karlovo.demon.co.uk/~svetlio/linux/

Good luck. If you have problems, post them on the sourceforge list or ask me.
Yitzhak
__________________
Best,
Yitzhak
yitzhakbg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-04, 01:20 AM   #3
dlouhan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5
Default Re: 5336 - multiple xservers problem (startx - :1)

Thanks yitzhakbg!

But I don't think, that this is the problem. I used multiple xservers for years.
I am not able to run second xserver only with this new drivers. With opensource drivers and older nvidia drivers (nvidia on 2.4 kernel) is all OK.

Any idea?
dlouhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-04, 07:10 AM   #4
yodaofborg
Registered User
 
yodaofborg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 25
Lightbulb Re: 5336 - multiple xservers problem (startx - :1)

Yup, im having the same probs running multipul X servers, in RH9 with the 4000 series drivers i had gnome on one screen, kde on the other, but since the 5000 series, i have been unable to get 2 x servers to start independant of eash other, on my sparkle tnt2 anyway, works fine on my geforce fx5200)
(does the riva tnt2 support 2 xservers? ever? didnt think it did ??)

it may be due to the fact the riva card has no tv decoder or seperate DAC, in this case, you may find there is a bug with the new driver, and therefore is unable to run 2 xservers on 1 DAC.. check ya specs, and post back

Last edited by yodaofborg; 04-27-04 at 09:33 AM.
yodaofborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-04, 01:06 PM   #5
yitzhakbg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: ISRAEL
Posts: 31
Default Re: 5336 - multiple xservers problem (startx - :1)

Are you referring to running both servers on the same monitor? If not, and this is the ruby solution, then:
From my experience with the ruby solution, I can venture that you may have to -probeonly the video devices before starting them. This is a proven problem. Svetlio has written it up in his HowTo and I know it first hand. We have two 4-Xserver systems (each with its own monitor, KB & mouse). You may have to twiddle with the probing order until you find the winning combination.
The other think to try is running each one on a different VT with the -VTx argument of startx. This also may be trial and error. Each server now has 16 VT associated with it under 2.6 as oposed to 8 for 2.4. Try them. I also reccomend reading Svetlio's excellent HowTo.
__________________
Best,
Yitzhak
yitzhakbg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-04, 06:22 PM   #6
dlouhan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5
Default Re: 5336 - multiple xservers problem (startx - :1)

I'm sorry, that I didn't explained it very well. I would like ONLY start more sessions (more xservers for one display, mice, keyboard). TNT2 isn't able to manage CRT and another display (TV-OUT) simultaneously. I usually start for example one working session and then another xserver for Quake. Quake is visible only after switching (ctrl-alt-f8), but I have still possibility to switch back when needed. I do it in similar way with watchnig movies on TV-OUT. It was working up to now.

Thanks
dlouhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-04, 05:09 AM   #7
yodaofborg
Registered User
 
yodaofborg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 25
Default Re: 5336 - multiple xservers problem (startx - :1)

Ahhhh, i now understand. Unfortunatly, i am still able to run multipul x-sessions, i think maybe you would be best reverting to drivers you know that work ie, the 4000 series i do not think that nvidia are developing the tnt2 side of the driver, and cannot see this issue being sddressed by them. The are not differences for tnt2 that i am aware of in the 5000 series driver anyway, as all the features supported by the tnt2 (includidng OpenGL extensions) are included in the old drivers hoipe this makes sense?
__________________
http://www.yodanet.tk -

Hmmmm, assimilated you will be! futile is resistance!

yodaofborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-04, 10:03 AM   #8
mtvoid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Delhi, India
Posts: 14
Default Re: 5336 - multiple xservers problem (startx - :1)

I too suspect that the problem is there only with some cards. I have a Riva TNT2 too, and all the 5xxx drivers are giving me this problem. The 4496 and 4620 drivers do work. What is disappointing is that there is no indication that this bug is ever even going to be fixed now. btw, for a tnt2 user, are there any particular advantages to upgrading to the new drivers? Although I doubt there will be any performance improvements, but are the newer drivers more stable / support power management, to make it worth upgrading? Or should I stick to the 4620 driver which doesn't show this problem?
mtvoid is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-28-04, 10:09 AM   #9
yodaofborg
Registered User
 
yodaofborg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 25
Default Re: 5336 - multiple xservers problem (startx - :1)

stick with the older driver as for stability, no, there is no benifit for tnt2 users, and i also agree that this bug just wont be fixed, and may infact be made worse overtime
__________________
http://www.yodanet.tk -

Hmmmm, assimilated you will be! futile is resistance!

yodaofborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-04, 12:31 PM   #10
dlouhan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5
Default Re: 5336 - multiple xservers problem (startx - :1)

Thanks friends for answers.

I will try to downgrade driver to some older version. But is there some without this bug for 2.6 kernel?
dlouhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-04, 01:14 AM   #11
Wolfman [TWP]
Geforce 8800 GTS 512
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 396
Default Re: 5336 - multiple xservers problem (startx - :1)

Works for me.

Using Nvidia 53.41 drivers (unsupported at the moment)
RH 9
Athlon XP 2000
512MB RAM
GeForce4 MX 440

Wolf
Wolfman [TWP] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-04, 01:56 AM   #12
yodaofborg
Registered User
 
yodaofborg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 25
Default Re: 5336 - multiple xservers problem (startx - :1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfman [TWP]
Works for me.

Using Nvidia 53.41 drivers (unsupported at the moment)
RH 9
Athlon XP 2000
512MB RAM
GeForce4 MX 440

Wolf
lol, thanks wolf, it works for me too ON MY OLD TNT", which is the issue here, not an issue with geforce 2+ as they usually have 2dacs ...lol

dlouhan, i think the most recent 4000 drivers *no good at remembering numbers...lol - the first ones with twinview* compile fine under a 2.6 and a .2.6.5 kernel i never experienced this so called 2.6 bug....lol


*ps, all the linux nvidia drivers are unsupported, hence the size of this foum,...lol the 53.41's only diff with the 5334's is the nvidia-settings ...lol,
__________________
http://www.yodanet.tk -

Hmmmm, assimilated you will be! futile is resistance!

yodaofborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDMI overscan fix for multiple resolutions + Zod Engine Problem. cheechr1 NVIDIA Linux 0 06-11-12 02:27 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.