Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 05-02-04, 11:28 PM   #1
khalid357

Default Nvidia installer under suse linux 9,0

first i am a complete newbie trying to dump windows for linux. so far i like it athough i am having the damnedest time with some parts. the nvidia installer is telling me that i have a version installed aready and asks if i want to install the new 5336 version. WHICH OF COURSE I WANT TO DO. however it tells me that it needs to build a kernel and asks if i should do that, and i answer yes, but then it tells me that i cannot log onto the internet to get some file that it needs. after a week it is driving me a little batty. first of all i have no idea how to log into the internet without the kde desktop and the desktop is history when i type INIT 3. its telling me to install the rpm? i am at a loss. i am doing everything word for word with the instructions which i printed out to make sure I do it right. can anyone help. email me if u think it is appropriate. I dont know how to get to the log files so i did not include one. i am a really new to linux person please help if at all possible.
thank u in advance
khalid357
khalid357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-04, 05:29 AM   #2
andyrock

Default Re: Nvidia installer under suse linux 9,0

I think that you don't have the kernel sources installed!

before installing nVidia driver, go to YAST, search for kernel and install kernel source.
after this, use YOU (Yast Online Update) to update you system..
Maybe you should reboot now, to start using the new kernel.

Start nvidia installer the way you did before - It will work this time.

When it's over, run sax2 -m 0=nvidia

Then type init 5 to return to kde desktop

--
1. Toshiba M30-742 | Centrino/Pentium-M 1700mhz | Geforce FX 5200Go
2. Celeron (Tualatin) 1400mhz | Geforce Ti 4800SE
andyrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-04, 06:02 PM   #3
khalid357