Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-04, 04:36 AM   #1
cameroa
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4
Default Quadro4 900 / nForce3 150 / AMD64 3200 / RHEL 2.4.21-9.0.3-EL

H/W: Quadro4 900 / nForce3 150 (Gigabyte GA-K8NNXP) / AMD64 3200
OS: RedHat Enterprise 2.4.21-9.0.3-EL
Display driver: NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-5336-pkg1.run

Symptoms: gets as far as downloading from nvidia ftp site, making new kernel module (up to "100%") then the machine hangs totally (requires reboot). NB: Driver and card work fine on a dual proc AMD athlon VIA board running the same OS

Has anyone used this combination successfully?

Cheers.
cameroa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-04, 07:14 PM   #2
whig
550Ti
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 854
Default Re: Quadro4 900 / nForce3 150 / AMD64 3200 / RHEL 2.4.21-9.0.3-EL

Other people have reported problems with 32 bit drivers on Athlon 64s:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...light=stepping
whig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-04, 04:52 AM   #3
cameroa
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4
Default Re: Quadro4 900 / nForce3 150 / AMD64 3200 / RHEL 2.4.21-9.0.3-EL

Thanks Whig, great link.
If only I'd known this before I'd bought the m/board and chip. In my ignorance I'd assumed that if I bought an nvidia chipset it would be compatible with an nvidia graphics card. Silly me huh?

FWIW running cat /proc/cpuinfo shows that my cpu stepping is 10 and hence will fail to run the nvidia driver properly on the 32-bit Redhat OS.

I actually got a private message from Andy Ritger at Nvidia who said:

"OK, this is the same problem we're seeing; the kernel won't make a
difference -- it's an interaction problem between the 32bit NVIDIA
kernel module and a particular set of AMD64 CPUs. The best I can
suggest in the short term is to install a 64bit OS (the 64bit NVIDIA
kernel module does not have this problem)."

Which is flippin' marvelous. I'm currently downloading the 64-bit version of Fedora.
cameroa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-04, 07:36 AM   #4
cameroa
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4
Default Re: Quadro4 900 / nForce3 150 / AMD64 3200 / RHEL 2.4.21-9.0.3-EL

Which, after a bit of mucking about (I had to use "linux nofb apm=off acpi=off pci=noacpi" to get Fedora to install in less than 14hrs - I kid thee not) seems to work just fine.
cameroa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.