Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-14-04, 08:45 AM   #1
Serial_Killer
Kensai
 
Serial_Killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 81
Angry Noob(me) phases to linux mandrak 9.0 and needs help

ooooooohhhhhhhh noooooooooooooooooooooo

I'm a 100% linux noob.
I've heard many good things about linux and I've found many things I don't like about windows xp. So I've decided to jump over to mandrake linux 9.0

I've installed mandrake properly (I'm pretty sure I did) and as lilo comes up I pick linux and it loads everything as normal.
Then it comes to some text based screen (DOSish) where it asks me to log on. I think "Fair enough" and enter my name and password (name is robert). Then it comes up with something like "[Robert:localhost robert]$" and stays stationary there.

I wanted a graphical user interface... not this text based stuff... does anyone know how to get the GUI up?

I'll be up until 3am GMT+10:00 eastern standard time tonight
__________________
AMD athlon 64bit 3000+ (NewCastle) @2.08Ghz, 1024MB ddr pc3200 (Generic) @208mhz, 256MB HIS Excalibur X800 pro IceQ2 (ohhhhh baby @ 519mhz core/510mhz ram), Gigabyte K8NS, 80GB hdd Samsung 7200rpm + 160 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200 rpm 8mb buffer + 400 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 SATA ... END TRANSMISSION
Serial_Killer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-04, 09:15 AM   #2
geowiz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Houston, Tx USA
Posts: 110
Default Re: Noob(me) phases to linux mandrak 9.0 and needs help

Well, if the install configured the X server then you should be able to get X going by logging in as root and issuing an init 5 command.
If that works, then you need to edit (as root) the /etc/inittab file and turn on the default boot level to 5. Nearer to top of file and the line should be something like: id:5:initdefault:
I suspect that the default run level is set to 3 and not 5 .

If the above init 5 fails, try to run startx . This will at least tell you if X is configured.

Good luck
geowiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-04, 09:26 AM   #3
Serial_Killer
Kensai
 
Serial_Killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 81
Default Re: Noob(me) phases to linux mandrak 9.0 and needs help

thanks
__________________
AMD athlon 64bit 3000+ (NewCastle) @2.08Ghz, 1024MB ddr pc3200 (Generic) @208mhz, 256MB HIS Excalibur X800 pro IceQ2 (ohhhhh baby @ 519mhz core/510mhz ram), Gigabyte K8NS, 80GB hdd Samsung 7200rpm + 160 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200 rpm 8mb buffer + 400 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 SATA ... END TRANSMISSION
Serial_Killer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.