Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-08-04, 03:20 AM   #325
mustrum
Registered User
 
mustrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,057
Default Re: I Played FarCry with Pixel Shader 3.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Omega53
I agree also. I played farcry the entire way through and loved every moment of it. I played Doom 3 and got bored after the first couple levels.
Same for me. Doom is too boring. everything is so predictable. You enter a room, a voice laughs, a moster appears, you shoot it and then waht happenes: in 90% of all cases you turn around 180 degrees and shoot that monster that spawned in your back. woohhoooo
Played until the Delta Labs and nothing changed. FarCry made me want to power on my system all the time, with Doom 3 i have to force myself to play further.
__________________
Intel Xeon X3350 @3.5Ghz
DFI Lanparty DK X38 T2R
2x 2048mb Apogee GT
Gigabyte 8800 GTS G92 (800/1944/2050)
mustrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-04, 07:02 AM   #326
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: I Played FarCry with Pixel Shader 3.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeero1978
...it was a mistake for me to buy a 6800 card... ...farcry IQ looks better on my old 9800pro videocard...
That shouldn't be the case. Have you tried the 1.2 patch? It seems to work pretty well for the nvidia cards and fixes most of the graphical glitches. Or, you could try using the r3xx mode which seems to work well even on nvidia cards (not much slower and actually faster in some cases).

Quote:
FarCry made me want to power on my system all the time, with Doom 3 i have to force myself to play further.
Oh well, different strokes for different fokes. I loved Doom 3. The only game I've bothered to finish in quite a while. But, I really liked the horror/haunted house atmosphere of the game. Very creepy. I did enjoy the first couple of levels in Far Cry but I've spent more time just enjoying the graphics rather than playing the game. So, I don't know much about the storyline or how it turns out. Hopefully I'll finish it at some point but for me, the type of story/game didn't hold my interest as much (except for the case that I love to look at it). That's actually another problem. I've seen almost the whole game now using the developer mode and just looking at the graphics so I've probably spoiled the story for the most part.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-04, 10:26 AM   #327
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: I Played FarCry with Pixel Shader 3.0

I use the 1.2 patch with the SM3.0 console command all the time. I love it.

I liked Doom3 til the so called Hell area. Just too darn corny for me. It IS a very well made game though, and I still glad I have it.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-04, 01:10 PM   #328
rabblerouser
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 58
Default Re: I Played FarCry with Pixel Shader 3.0

OWA, you should continue to play far cry and get a bit further in the game. The game just gets better and better as it goes on.

I also enjoyed Doom 3, once I got used to the claustrophic dark corridors and the simplistic gameplay. The atmosphere in the game was great. Doom 3 can't match Far Cry though.
rabblerouser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-04, 02:13 PM   #329
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: I Played FarCry with Pixel Shader 3.0

Okay, I guess I'll start Far Cry over and try to finish it this time. Now that I've seen a lot of the levels I'll probably be able to pay more attention to the game instead of just admiring the graphics so that might help as well.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-04, 08:47 PM   #330
hypertek
Registered User
 
hypertek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 161
Default Re: I Played FarCry with Pixel Shader 3.0

ok so I dont have broadband, but im gonna dl the 1.2 patch at a friends...

how do I do teh ps3 enable trick??
__________________
DFI Bloodiron + E6700 @ 3.7
DangerDen TDX block , Bonneville core, MCP355 pump
BFG 8800GT mcw60/ 1.3volt modded/820 mhz core
4gb ddr2 800
2X Seagate 320hd 7200.10 Raid 0
Creative X-fi Xtreme Music
Logitec X-530 5.1 surround system
Ultra 500w PSU
hypertek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-04, 08:53 PM   #331
INGlewood78
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 38
Default Re: I Played FarCry with Pixel Shader 3.0

right click ur farcry shortcut, go to properties and paste this after the exe.

-DEVMODE "r_sm30path 1"

should look something like this..

"E:\Far Cry\Bin32\FarCry.exe" -DEVMODE "r_sm30path 1"

didnt notice any difference in performance or quality when I enbled it?
INGlewood78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-04, 11:25 PM   #332
hypertek
Registered User
 
hypertek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 161
Default Re: I Played FarCry with Pixel Shader 3.0

DAM... 1.2 aint working for me... when i try to load a save.. when it finishes up on teh status load bar.... the game crashes back to windows... any ideas? or im just one of the unfortinute reasons why the patch was called back?
__________________
DFI Bloodiron + E6700 @ 3.7
DangerDen TDX block , Bonneville core, MCP355 pump
BFG 8800GT mcw60/ 1.3volt modded/820 mhz core
4gb ddr2 800
2X Seagate 320hd 7200.10 Raid 0
Creative X-fi Xtreme Music
Logitec X-530 5.1 surround system
Ultra 500w PSU
hypertek is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-08-04, 11:39 PM   #333
INGlewood78
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 38
Default Re: I Played FarCry with Pixel Shader 3.0

that was one of the problems with the patch, you couldnt use your previous saves...
__________________
1700+ T-Bred @ 2.48 ghz (12 x 207 @ 1.8V)
Thermalright SP-97 w/ Thermaltake Smartfan II
(idle 35C, load 45C)
Abit NF7-S Rev 2.0
1 gb GEIL (207mhz, 2,3,3,6)
BFG 6800GT 400/1.1
Sony E540 21 CRT
INGlewood78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-04, 10:21 AM   #334
hypertek
Registered User
 
hypertek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 161
Default Re: I Played FarCry with Pixel Shader 3.0

ok thanks.. i thought the game was screwed cuz i wanted to play my saves.. oh well.. I dont mind starting over, I like this game more and more.
__________________
DFI Bloodiron + E6700 @ 3.7
DangerDen TDX block , Bonneville core, MCP355 pump
BFG 8800GT mcw60/ 1.3volt modded/820 mhz core
4gb ddr2 800
2X Seagate 320hd 7200.10 Raid 0
Creative X-fi Xtreme Music
Logitec X-530 5.1 surround system
Ultra 500w PSU
hypertek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-04, 11:18 AM   #335
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: I Played FarCry with Pixel Shader 3.0

so with the new patch and the console command, you can have the full sm3 support and have it look like the guy's original post starting this thread?
________
mac games

Last edited by FastRedPonyCar; 02-09-11 at 01:23 AM.
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-04, 11:32 AM   #336
ynnek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,364
Default Re: I Played FarCry with Pixel Shader 3.0

No, 1.2 patch with SM3.0 gave no visual improvement.. if anything it probably brought more visual glitches.. ANyways, the 1.2 patch was recalled.

Just run 1.1 with the SM2.0 fix.. its a dll you put in the FarCry folder that forces SM2.0.. My 6800GT ran it just fine in this mode and looks great "how its suppose to look" dunno why Crytech lumps the 6800 with the rest of the fx series..



Quote:
Originally Posted by FastRedPonyCar
so with the new patch and the console command, you can have the full sm3 support and have it look like the guy's original post starting this thread?
ynnek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pixel shader version 1.4 supported? JohnsonLKD NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 19 08-20-02 04:04 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.