Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-14-02, 05:20 PM   #1
PenguinJim
 
PenguinJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I live in my chair in the UK
Posts: 440
Default One Thousand FPS

Has anyone got 1000fps on Quake 1 yet? Surely we must be approaching that?

If so, try Quake 2. It may not be a useful benchmark, but it must be fun to go around saying "I get 1000fps in Quake!". I'd do it myself, but I can't find my Quake CD (or Quake 2 for that matter).

Yes, I am bored
PenguinJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-02, 11:06 PM   #2
nin_fragile14
Fat Tuna
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 509
Default

I can get 620 fps in GlQuake. I'm sure a 2.8 ghz p4 could hit almost 1000.

edit (I'm sure if I disabled sound I could hit 700+)
__________________
2.66 P4 @ 3.0 Ghz / Geforce 6800 GT @ 410/1080/ 768 mb Samsung DDR333 @ 374 mhz / Abit IS7 / XP Pro / NEC 1760NX LCD
nin_fragile14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-02, 05:02 AM   #3
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

I hit 250 FPS in UT2K3 with maxed details.
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR

Last edited by Kruno; 10-15-02 at 06:07 AM.
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-02, 05:55 AM   #4
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nin_fragile14
I can get 620 fps in GlQuake. I'm sure a 2.8 ghz p4 could hit almost 1000.

edit (I'm sure if I disabled sound I could hit 700+)
what resolution and settings?

edit: ooooo, i just saw that you had a R9700. can you please benchmark Tenebrae and list those results at 640, 1024 without the texture pack? i'm very interested in seeing what a system of your caliber can do.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-02, 06:13 AM   #5
PenguinJim
 
PenguinJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I live in my chair in the UK
Posts: 440
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nin_fragile14
I can get 620 fps in GlQuake. I'm sure a 2.8 ghz p4 could hit almost 1000.

edit (I'm sure if I disabled sound I could hit 700+)
First of all, congrats on having the latest card on the block! (Even if it ain't nVidia )

But seeing as that leviathon can only 'maybe' hit 700, I guess GlQuake will need NV35 for 1000fps

Anyone with a MONSTER CPU wanna try Duke Nukem 3D for 1000fps?
PenguinJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-02, 03:16 PM   #6
ToastGodSupreme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to ToastGodSupreme
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by K.I.L.E.R
I hit 250 FPS in UT2K3 with maxed details.
yeah, so do I with my GF2MX

you must be doing something wrong

(I'm calling your claim bull**** btw... can we get some screenies to back this up? I want multiple, 5 will do, 2 with bots in view, kthxbye)
ToastGodSupreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-02, 04:23 PM   #7
nin_fragile14
Fat Tuna
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 509
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by StealthHawk
what resolution and settings?

edit: ooooo, i just saw that you had a R9700. can you please benchmark Tenebrae and list those results at 640, 1024 without the texture pack? i'm very interested in seeing what a system of your caliber can do.
Installed Tenebrae and the 9700 patch (no texture packs or any of the extra stuff)

At 640x480 using timedemo demo1: 78.8 fps

1024x768: 51.7 fps

What are other people getting?

(also, does anyone know the command line to disable sound in GLQuake?)
__________________
2.66 P4 @ 3.0 Ghz / Geforce 6800 GT @ 410/1080/ 768 mb Samsung DDR333 @ 374 mhz / Abit IS7 / XP Pro / NEC 1760NX LCD

Last edited by nin_fragile14; 10-15-02 at 04:28 PM.
nin_fragile14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-02, 05:02 PM   #8
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

have you tried -nosound? i'm not sure if that actually works, but it seems like it might

i haven't benchmarked the newest version of Tenebrae without the texture pack. it's supposedly quite a bit faster than older versions, but i think i got around 40fps at 640 on my GF3/1.33GHz. all i know for sure is i beat out the developer's GF4Ti4200 with a slower CPU than mine
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-15-02, 05:47 PM   #9
nin_fragile14
Fat Tuna
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 509
Default

Definitely try the newest version. I got 26 fps on the old one, 78 on the new. Of course, that could be a result of 9700 optimization, but either way, it's quite a jump.
__________________
2.66 P4 @ 3.0 Ghz / Geforce 6800 GT @ 410/1080/ 768 mb Samsung DDR333 @ 374 mhz / Abit IS7 / XP Pro / NEC 1760NX LCD
nin_fragile14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-02, 05:47 PM   #10
nin_fragile14
Fat Tuna
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 509
Default

One other thing, how do you go to that map with the bathroom scene from doom 3? (Or I am just imagining this?)
__________________
2.66 P4 @ 3.0 Ghz / Geforce 6800 GT @ 410/1080/ 768 mb Samsung DDR333 @ 374 mhz / Abit IS7 / XP Pro / NEC 1760NX LCD
nin_fragile14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-02, 06:30 PM   #11
Mod
.
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: In you screen
Posts: 138
Default

Try at 320x200 ...
Mod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-02, 09:13 PM   #12
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nin_fragile14
One other thing, how do you go to that map with the bathroom scene from doom 3? (Or I am just imagining this?)
type "map bathroom" in the console

BTW, i am using the latest version, and i love the new particle engine however, i haven't benchmarked it without the texture pack on, i gotta have those high res textures. in addition, i don't like how the gloss maps are overly glossy using the old textures. even the ground is all shiny- very unrealistic.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.