Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-20-04, 02:01 PM   #1
mrflippy
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1
Default ac3 passthrough with xine

Hello,

I have a shuttle machine with an nForce2 motherboard running Fedora Core 1. I've finally gotten alsa to send all standard sound (even oss emulation) through spdif to my receiver. However, I cannot get ac3 passthrough working. I can get stereo sound for dvds in xine without a problem, but as soon as I enable the a52_passthrough option, I get no sound from dvds. It seems as though it's trying to do something, because I often get a "pop" from the speakers when it starts playing the sounds, but after that I get no sound output. (If I uncheck a52_passthrough, sound works ok, but it's not surround)

Does anyone have any idea how to get this working? (I can post whatever config files might be useful after I get home from work)

Thanks,
Andy
mrflippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-04, 06:19 PM   #2
crache
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Maine
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to crache
Default Re: ac3 passthrough with xine

I'm sorry I cannot help with your current issue, but I have an abit-nf7-s and have spdif for alsa but anything oss goes through my headphone jack. I have messed with my asoundrc but cannot get oss to use spdif by defualt. If you are willing to give me some tips I have been trying for months :-/
crache is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-04, 07:44 PM   #3
Kamel
Hardware Mass Murderer
 
Kamel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,035
Send a message via ICQ to Kamel Send a message via AIM to Kamel Send a message via MSN to Kamel Send a message via Yahoo to Kamel Send a message via Skype™ to Kamel
Default Re: ac3 passthrough with xine

this may not be exactly what you had in mind, but you may want to try using mplayer with -ao arts (or if you dont use arts, alsa.. whatever you prefer).

i may be sounding like a retard here, because i have not done much in the way of codecs in linux, but have you made sure you have the proper codec?

anyway, sorry i couldn't help further... i really am not a xine fan -- except for streaming stuff.
__________________
hardware murdered so far: geforce 5900u, deceised: sat on it. geforce 6600gt deceised: improperly mounted heatsink. 3 asus a7n8x-e deluxe motherboards, deceised: unsure. mobile amd xp2600 processor, deceised: chipped core due to compusa heatsink. dfi lanparty ultra b, deceised: unsure, third memory bank went out. samsung cd burner 48x40x48, deceised: unsure, will only read pressed cd's very slowly. samsung TH552C dvd burner (dual layer), deceised: same as other samsung . 10gb seagate 5200rpm drive, deceised: tried fixing a pin that was pushed into the drive by inserting an ide cable upside down. 40gb maxtor drive, deceised: maxtor manufacturer. 80gb western digital, deceised: unnatural causes. swan xt10, deceised: brutal pre-meditated murder, even video taped (it wasn't y2k compliant). logitech mx510, deceised: death by electricution. ati remote wonder, deceised: death by electricution.
Kamel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-04, 07:03 AM   #4
crache
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Maine
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to crache
Default Re: ac3 passthrough with xine

thanks for the response, but i'm talking more on the line of games.
crache is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-04, 02:46 AM   #5
thomas21
Registered User
 
thomas21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 35
Default Re: ac3 passthrough with xine

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrflippy
Hello,

I have a shuttle machine with an nForce2 motherboard running Fedora Core 1. I've finally gotten alsa to send all standard sound (even oss emulation) through spdif to my receiver. However, I cannot get ac3 passthrough working. I can get stereo sound for dvds in xine without a problem, but as soon as I enable the a52_passthrough option, I get no sound from dvds. It seems as though it's trying to do something, because I often get a "pop" from the speakers when it starts playing the sounds, but after that I get no sound output. (If I uncheck a52_passthrough, sound works ok, but it's not surround)

Does anyone have any idea how to get this working? (I can post whatever config files might be useful after I get home from work)

Thanks,
Andy
Hello Andy,

Did you check the Xine How-To:
http://dvd.sourceforge.net/xine-howt.../howto-10.html

Here I found this on AC3:

The AC3 via S/PDIF is supported by ALSA only for some soundcards (mostly those with Trident 4DWaveNX, YMF or Emu10k1 chips). So if you have a suitable soundcard use

$ xine -S -A alsa
thomas21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.