Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-28-02, 03:53 AM   #1
DIMA
Registered User
 
DIMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 78
Send a message via ICQ to DIMA
Talking The promised aniso increase is here!

Since the forum was down, I wasn't able to post these news, but here they are:

The 11.1 canditate release of Riva Tuner was released some time ago and does indeed contain aniso perfomance improvements in OpenGL & Direct3D!

Download it here:

http://www.nvworld.ru/downloads/rivatuner.zip

Note: The Direct3D optimizations require quite a bit of knowledge about the texturing stages in different games and it will influence perfomance greatly if used correctly!

Note #2: Keep in mind that you can customize these optimizations ONLY with the latest leaked detonator set 30.30, which can be found here:

http://www.guru3d.com/files <-- you know where to go from there

Here is a suggestion by Unwinder himself on the Beyond3D forums:

Quote:
Just my two cents: first, I strictrly recommend to read context help on these options (just click RMB on the list of texturing stages) before using them, you must perfectly understand the settting you use in order to acheive good results.
Second, you must understand that such AF optimization (limiting the maximum degree of anisotropy on per-texturing stage level) cannot be absolutely free. The resulting image quality totally depends on your understanding of these options and specific of the game's engine. For eaxample, I know that UT's d3d renderer utilizes two texturing stages and it always uses texturing stage 0 for filtering base textures and texturing stage 1 for lightmap filtering. In this case, I can safely go to RT's optmization settings, leave texturing stage 0 unchecked, check texturing stage 1 and select AF limiter to 1. In this case, the driver will filter base textures with the level you've forced, but lightmaps will be filtered with level 1 (i.e. bilinear filter) only. But these settings can be bad for the rest 3D engines, everything depends on the game engine's texturing stage utilization behavior.
Basically you've to leave only one texturing stage unchecked and limit AF for the rest texturing stages, so the most usual settings are:

stage 0 - unchecked
stage 1 - checked
stage 2 - checked
stage 3 - checked

AF limit - level 1

Just run 3DMark2k1 with these settings and compare IQ with the original AF. You'll see that thes settings are really good for Game2, but they are bad for Game1 (texturing stage 2 brings the most of details in this test).
The OpenGL perfomance increase is close to 10% (much less so than Direct3D increase). As far as I know, nothing special needs to be done in OpenGL settings to get aniso pefomance increase, but others seem to suggest that a script has to be executed, u should check that out...

One guy managed to get 50fps increase in Direct3D!

Last edited by DIMA; 07-28-02 at 07:09 AM.
DIMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-02, 04:49 AM   #2
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

keeping aniso nearly off eh?
I can get a 60fps increase, just turn aniso off completely
The hit really depends on the angle and game complexity (ie: if it's fillrate limited). If game is fillrate limited then you will notice a massive frame rate increase by turning off aniso.
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-02, 04:51 AM   #3
DIMA
Registered User
 
DIMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 78
Send a message via ICQ to DIMA
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by K.I.L.E.R
keeping aniso nearly off eh?
I can get a 60fps increase, just turn aniso off completely
The hit really depends on the angle and game complexity (ie: if it's fillrate limited). If game is fillrate limited then you will notice a massive frame rate increase by turning off aniso.
The whole idea of this release is to optimize aniso perfoamance at different levels in different games, not turn it off completely!
__________________
P4 2ghz
512mb RDRAM
GF4 TI4600
DIMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-02, 06:51 AM   #4
netape
High kicking sheznit
 
netape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ninja Academy, NA
Posts: 121
Default

I heard that some people didn't get any improvements out it (they have gf4's btw)

Whee, my first post
__________________
Lay off the noodles fat one.
netape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-02, 06:56 AM   #5
DIMA
Registered User
 
DIMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 78
Send a message via ICQ to DIMA
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by netape
I heard that some people didn't get any improvements out it (they have gf4's btw)

Whee, my first post
Look above.

As I said, if u don't know how to use the optimizations, what texturing stages take place in what game, then of course it's useless!
__________________
P4 2ghz
512mb RDRAM
GF4 TI4600
DIMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-02, 07:19 AM   #6
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

In other words you need to be Chalnoth to use it
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-02, 07:35 AM   #7
DIMA
Registered User
 
DIMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 78
Send a message via ICQ to DIMA
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by K.I.L.E.R
In other words you need to be Chalnoth to use it
LOL
__________________
P4 2ghz
512mb RDRAM
GF4 TI4600
DIMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-02, 08:39 AM   #8
Babel-17
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 2
Default

Lol, it took me all of two minutes to figure it out and I'm not a guru. Unwinder really came through for us.
Babel-17 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-30-02, 10:39 AM   #9
SnakeEyes
Registered User
 
SnakeEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lake Zurich, IL
Posts: 502
Send a message via ICQ to SnakeEyes
Thumbs up

Now it'd be nice to be able to create game-specific profiles with different settings in RivaTuner. That way I could launch UT with the settings he recommends, and run Warcraft 3 with another, etc., without having to go back and change settings each time I switch games.

Still, great work!
__________________
Snake-Eyes
SnakeEyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-02, 10:48 AM   #10
Cotita
Nvidia God
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 341
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SnakeEyes
Now it'd be nice to be able to create game-specific profiles with different settings in RivaTuner.
Still, great work!
You can use the launcher to make game-specific profiles. Of course you have to create them yourself, but you really don't expect unwinder to do all the work right?
__________________
Sometimes I hate being right everytime.
Cotita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-02, 02:46 PM   #11
SnakeEyes
Registered User
 
SnakeEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lake Zurich, IL
Posts: 502
Send a message via ICQ to SnakeEyes
Lightbulb

Uh no. I'm fairly new to RivaTuner, thanks to problems the last time I had it. But I didn't say I expected anyone to create the profiles, just that I'd like to see the ability to create them. Meaning, for myself, so that I wouldn't have to change settings myself for each game.

Thanks for informing that 'it's in there'.
__________________
Snake-Eyes
SnakeEyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-02, 03:41 PM   #12
Phyre
Registered User
 
Phyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Central Louisiana
Posts: 323
Default

How do you update RivaTuner? Do you just unzip the files over the previous installation, or do you delete the previous directory and then unzip? Also, I'm thinking it would be wise to set the core and memory back to stock settings before upgrading RivaTuner.

Phyre

Last edited by Phyre; 07-30-02 at 03:45 PM.
Phyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boost Far Cry 3's Performance With New GeForce Drivers News Archived News Items 0 11-28-12 02:30 PM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-30-02 11:59 PM
Performance Increase? Skell CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 14 08-21-02 05:16 AM
Is this good enough performance increase.... demonized Benchmarking And Overclocking 10 08-07-02 07:34 AM
Will AGP 8X increase performance over AGP 4X? sancheuz NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 10 07-29-02 08:37 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.