Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-14-02, 11:28 PM   #1
florin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 17
Angry nForce and Red Hat 8.0

I cannot make the nForce drivers work with Red Hat 8.0
I got the src.rpm, i rebuilt it on my system, but when i try to insert the module, i get an error message saying that the kernel was built with gcc3 while the module was built with gcc2 and that does not work.
But i'm sure the module was built with gcc3!
__________________
Florin Andrei

http://florin.myip.org/
florin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-02, 05:43 AM   #2
mtrr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 234
Send a message via ICQ to mtrr
Default

redhat patched modutils, get a clean version to get rid of that message.

btw: the driver has a binary only component, and that has been compiled
with a 2.xx compiler, therefore the message



cheers
mtrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-02, 12:29 AM   #3
florin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 17
Default it works now

Someone from nVidia told me to run insmod -f :-) Silly me, i should have tried that from the beginning.
They also told me they'll release a new version soon.
__________________
Florin Andrei

http://florin.myip.org/
florin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-02, 12:39 AM   #4
mtrr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 234
Send a message via ICQ to mtrr
Default

glad to hear that

cheers
mtrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-02, 12:44 AM   #5
florin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 17
Default the video drivers are fine

BTW, the GeForce drivers themselves are running without any problems. It's only the nForce motherboard driver that has the insmod issues.
__________________
Florin Andrei

http://florin.myip.org/
florin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-02, 12:46 AM   #6
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Quote:
They also told me they'll release a new version soon.
AHA! Leaking information!

Glad to hear it's working for you now.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-02, 11:34 PM   #7
florin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 17
Default a neat solution

Basically, if you run insmod -f nvnet, the driver is loaded. But the startup scripts don't want to run "insmod -f", so you may be tempted to put it in rc.local.
However, there's a neat solution to it. Don't modify rc.local. You can still trick your startup scripts to force the module insert.
Just add this line to /etc/modules.conf:

install eth0 /sbin/insmod -f nvnet

This way, when the startup scripts try to install the nforce module, they are told to actually attempt a forced insert.

Also, make sure you have this line in modules.conf:

alias eth0 nvnet

(but that should be added already by the nforce driver RPM)
__________________
Florin Andrei

http://florin.myip.org/
florin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-02, 10:26 AM   #8
Tr@sH#e@D
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

guys..
somebody please gimme the redhat 8.0 nforce drivers..or gimme a link ..
and btw any hot tips on how to avoid the usual bugs which come with installing linux on the nforce platforms.. i still get nightmares when i remember the trouble and manipulations i had to do to install rehhat 7.3
Attached Images
 
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.