Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 05-25-04, 12:19 AM   #1
zenpunk

Default Complete Linux Newbie Question (long and boring, only the adventurous need apply)

First off, I'll start by saying I'm sorry... I am a complete newb to linux and have no idea what I am doing. If you want to attempt to answer my question, please keep this in mind... that I have no idea what I am doing yet on this platform. I've already reinstalled the whole system 3 times after screwing it up beyond repair. So now I'm trying to tread lightly, but I'm still learning. So, please bare with me. <<<

As a short intro... hi, my name is Mark... I've been an avid Mac user for about 18 years now. But hardware prices made me switch to an AMD64 system, with a 5900XT video card. My whole setup was a touch over 1 grand... the same power on Mac platform would have been over 3 grand. 'nuff said...

BUT, being a long time Mac user, I tried, but I just couldn't stand seeing that Window$ startup screen. Sorry... it's in my Mac blood. So, I thought I'd take a crack at Linux. Having an Athlon64, I figured what the heck, I got Suse Linux 9.1 Pro, a full 64bit flavor.

So, now the problem...
I got everything I want running so far... email, web, gimp... but whenever I try to run the 3D games that were installed (TuxRacer, etc.) it tells me I don't have 3D hardware set up. SO, I come here and download the driver...
NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-1.0-5332-pkg0.run
And the instructions on the download page tell me to type "sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-5332-pkg0.run" to install the driver, then edit your X86Config file as appropriate"

Okay, I'm a complete newb... I try this in the Run Command... first, but nothing. I then discover the Terminal Program. I try it there, and it again doesn't work, but I get the drift I'm closer... the error message just says it can't find the file, so I just gotta figure out how to tell it where the file is.