Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-30-04, 10:20 PM   #85
Shamrock
Royalty gone awry
 
Shamrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,612
Default Re: Thief 3 Deadly Shadows Thread

Another "adaptive Algorithm" Mike? Sorry, I just had to do it!
__________________
They're after me Lucky Charms!

AMD Phenom II 955BE
16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1333Mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7850
Logitech Z-5300 5.1 THX surround sound
HANNS-G 28" LCD
ZBoard Merc Gaming Keyboard
CoolerMaster HAF-932 Full Tower Case
Windows 7 Pro x64
Shamrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-04, 10:20 PM   #86
Filibuster
1000 Needles!
 
Filibuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Mishawaka, IN USA
Posts: 149
Default Re: Thief 3 Deadly Shadows Thread

Mike you are right...I think all lighting in the game is completely real (no predefined shadows, even those cast by walls, etc.

Personally I play at 640x480 2x "multisampling" (in game setting) with every detail on and it runs about 25fps (fraps) which is more than fast enough for Thief. The thing I don't understand is if I turn all the details down and play at 800x600 it runs much slower, especially in shadow heavy scenes (like through metal bars). I have an Athlon XP 1800 and GF5200 Ultra...do you think its cpu or video limited? (I know, the answer is "both!" Maybe I'll borrow a 5900 from work and find out.

The only thing I can't stand is the level load times...why couldn't they have loaded the full map into memory on the PC....grrr xbox...
Deus Ex 2 was bad about this too.

But seriously...its a bad game because it doesn't run at 100fps??
__________________
--Filibuster
AMD Athlon 64 3500 / Gigabyte GA-K8NXP-SLI Nforce4 / Samsung 1GB (512MB X2) DDR 400MHz RAM / BFG 6800GT OC PCIe / Viewsonic PF790 19" CRT / Swiftech MCX64-V / WD Raptor 74GB SATA / WD Caviar Special Edition 120GB USB 2.0 / Antec Neopower 480W PSU / Creative Audigy2 / Cambridge Soundworks FPS2000 / Logitech MX 700 / Antec P160 case
Filibuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-04, 03:33 AM   #87
svetli_pp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 137
Default Re: Thief 3 Deadly Shadows Thread

It's your video card. FX5200 is not a game card at all. Its 2 times slower than Ti4200. Get at least 5700Ultra. I'm waiting to try the game on my 5900XT to see if it's playable at 1024 everything on max, couse I don't like to play games at lower resolution. My monitor is 19" and it's terrible to play 640 or 800.
svetli_pp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-04, 03:34 AM   #88
Cloud76
Registered User
 
Cloud76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Send a message via ICQ to Cloud76
Default Re: Thief 3 Deadly Shadows Thread

Is Thief3 using PS 2.0? If it uses PS3.0 any comparison between 6800 and ATI hardware (r3xx and r4xx) on highest detail is highly incorect.
__________________
AXP 2400+ on Epox 8K3A with 512M DDR2700
Asus Gf4Ti4600
Maxtor 120G
Cloud76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-04, 06:26 AM   #89
Skinner
Registered User
 
Skinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,128
Default Re: Thief 3 Deadly Shadows Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cloud76
Is Thief3 using PS 2.0? If it uses PS3.0 any comparison between 6800 and ATI hardware (r3xx and r4xx) on highest detail is highly incorect.

Nope, no ps 2.0 AFAIK.

MikeC, how is performance without AA but in 1280 with 8 AFwith the 6800?
__________________
*Intel i7@3,8gHz*Asus P6T Deluxe* 2x Sapphire HD7970 3GB Crossfire *6 GB Corsair Dominator 1600C8*OCZ Vertex 120 GB SSD*adaptec 19160U160*Intel X25 80 GB Quantum Atlas 15KII SCSI U160 147Gig* WD Raptor 300 GB*Apple 24" LED Cinema *X-Fi Titanium*Logitech Z5500*Coolmaster RP 1000W*W7 64 Home *
Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-04, 09:14 AM   #90
ElderDruid
GTX 260
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 142
Default Re: Thief 3 Deadly Shadows Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by svetli_pp
It's your video card. FX5200 is not a game card at all. Its 2 times slower than Ti4200. Get at least 5700Ultra. I'm waiting to try the game on my 5900XT to see if it's playable at 1024 everything on max, couse I don't like to play games at lower resolution. My monitor is 19" and it's terrible to play 640 or 800.
I have a 5900XT, and I get 20-25 FPS at 1024x768 with 4x multisampling turned on. For the most part it's playable because you have to move so slowly most of the time anyway.

There are so many times (and this has just been in the demo) that I have to stop and stare at a scene because it looks so awesome.
ElderDruid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-04, 11:13 AM   #91
Filibuster
1000 Needles!
 
Filibuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Mishawaka, IN USA
Posts: 149
Default Re: Thief 3 Deadly Shadows Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElderDruid
I have a 5900XT, and I get 20-25 FPS at 1024x768 with 4x multisampling turned on. For the most part it's playable because you have to move so slowly most of the time anyway.

There are so many times (and this has just been in the demo) that I have to stop and stare at a scene because it looks so awesome.
What cpu do you have?
__________________
--Filibuster
AMD Athlon 64 3500 / Gigabyte GA-K8NXP-SLI Nforce4 / Samsung 1GB (512MB X2) DDR 400MHz RAM / BFG 6800GT OC PCIe / Viewsonic PF790 19" CRT / Swiftech MCX64-V / WD Raptor 74GB SATA / WD Caviar Special Edition 120GB USB 2.0 / Antec Neopower 480W PSU / Creative Audigy2 / Cambridge Soundworks FPS2000 / Logitech MX 700 / Antec P160 case
Filibuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-04, 11:27 AM   #92
Arioch
Registered User
 
Arioch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,087
Thumbs down Re: Thief 3 Deadly Shadows Thread

This game is coded horribly. On my X800 Pro (FX-53 CPU) the game will run decent, but not great at 1600x1200 with everything turned on and the multisampling left at none. When I turn on the in-game multisampling to 4X the minimum framerates at some sections jump down into the teens. Seeing as a game more advanced like Far Cry runs a lot better than this it is inexcusable.

But like I posted earlier, I expected this from a console port.
Arioch is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-31-04, 01:18 PM   #93
ElderDruid
GTX 260
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 142
Default Re: Thief 3 Deadly Shadows Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Filibuster
What cpu do you have?
Athlon 2500. 1GB memory.
ElderDruid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-04, 01:21 PM   #94
ElderDruid
GTX 260
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 142
Default Re: Thief 3 Deadly Shadows Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arioch
This game is coded horribly. On my X800 Pro (FX-53 CPU) the game will run decent, but not great at 1600x1200 with everything turned on and the multisampling left at none. When I turn on the in-game multisampling to 4X the minimum framerates at some sections jump down into the teens. Seeing as a game more advanced like Far Cry runs a lot better than this it is inexcusable.

But like I posted earlier, I expected this from a console port.
I think it's a bit unrealistic to expect to play Thief at 1600x1200. Also, that resolution will not look much better than 1024x768 with 4x MS, especially considering the textures that are used by the game. Let us know what kind of frame rate you get with 1024 and 4x MS. I'm sure it will be more than acceptable.
ElderDruid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-04, 02:19 PM   #95
Arioch
Registered User
 
Arioch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,087
Default Re: Thief 3 Deadly Shadows Thread

Well the game runs pretty well at a lower resolution but I guess my point is that with this card there should be no reason that I can't play at 1600x1200 with 4AA.

I am sure the game is fun for those people that like this type of gameplay but it's not my thing.

One thing that bugs me is the lack of resolution options. I know some people with LCDs need 1280x1024 but it would have been nice to have 1280x960 as an option since its a true 4:3 aspect ratio setting. I would also have like an option to play above 1600x1200 as in some games I can get better performance that way and eliminate the need for AA since the jaggies are not even noticeable. It's a small nitpick but since I own a spiffy Mitsubishi 2070SB monitor that can play up to 2048x1536@85Hz I like having more options.
Arioch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-04, 02:28 PM   #96
Rob_0126
Freedom is not free
 
Rob_0126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 323
Default Re: Thief 3 Deadly Shadows Thread

Next thing yah know, people will want their monitors to run at 8192x7680 with 16x aliasing and 50 dynamic shadows per screen.

Cray, anyone?
Rob_0126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midweek Madness - Thief series, 50% off! News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 06:30 PM
Thief: Deadly Shadows, Splinter Cell, Anomaly: Warzone Earth and Legacy of Kain: Soul News Archived News Items 0 05-04-12 11:00 AM
The case of the disappearing shadows legion88 NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 19 08-23-02 07:13 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.