Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-15-04, 02:24 PM   #193
SirJpg
Pennywise
 
SirJpg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bilbao
Posts: 31
Default Re: Basic FX59xxx bios changes

So one of the ways to confirm that your card is not reducing speeds is to test it during long time restlessly with rivatuner scanning, isn´t it?
SirJpg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-04, 03:01 PM   #194
jimmor
Registered User
 
jimmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 568
Default Re: Basic FX59xxx bios changes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder
Unbeleivable. I'm sorry, but you're talking like stubborn child. You should still read the post completely, maybe then you'll finally understand a difference between throttling and normal iterative 3D->LowPower3D->2D switch. If you totally refuse to understand any expalnations from my side, just perofrm the tests with GLInfo or 3DMark and look at the same 'throttling' when testing the clocks with Coolbits. Still call it throttiling and advise users to reboot because of 'throttling triggering'?

Waste of time... My patience is over, I no longer expect for correct comments from you because I see absolutely no logic and wish to listern/understand anything from your side. You may comment whatever you want.
ok, just to keep you happy in the hope that you will go away and maybe consider that other peoples opinions can be just as real as yours ?

I read your words, so thank you for trying to explain that there are a number of throttling effects that can happen apart from what you call the real throttling function ?

Unfortunatly it doesn't change anything ! As a user of a FX5900nu card I find that if I overclock my 3D speed to 485 using coolbits, I have no problems with any kind of "throttling", (real, lowPower3D etc) when subsequently running any games or performance tests ! However when I use Rivatuner to overclock the 3D speed to a small value like 405MHz, I find that the Throttling speed of 375MHz happens randomly during games or performance testing, unless I reboot first ! Now personally I don't care if it is real throttling or any other safety or power saving mode ! It is the fact that it only appears to happen if I overclock in a certain way and don't reboot before using my setup for real work, that concerns me !

And Unwinder, I also just tried your quoted test,
Quote:

You may also see the same 'throttling' when testing the clocks via Coolbits. Just run any Direct3D application, which initializes Direct3D interfaces and doen't go into fullscreen mode (e.g. start 3DMark2003 application to see 3DMark window but don't start the benchmark/demo). Then test clocks via Coolbits without closing 3DMark. The driver will detect that 3D application is running and GPU is stressed and bump clocks to 3D level during the test then drop them to LowPower3D then to 2D mode again. And it is absolutely normal too.
It made no difference with 3dmark03 started first, using coolbits I could overclock to any level and no "throttling" or lowPower3D etc effects happened !

And I'm not arguing that what you describe above doesn't happen with other peoples setups, I am once again saying what happens, and is repeatable, with mine !!

So back to where we started, I cant help it if you wont accept that using rivatuner can trigger a condition during its overclocking stress tests which has subsequent negative effects on how a 59xx card performs, unless a reboot is done first !!

Unfortunately you are taking comments on the problem too personally even although the issues in question were never voiced as a direct criticism of Rivatuner. On the contrary I've always said that rivatuner is an excellent tool !

To my mind, rivatuner just may have highlighted a weakness in the FX59xx card/bios/driver design ? And if you truly belong in hardware or software design/developement then you will understand what "Lets call it an undocumented design feature" means ? And accept that not all things in designs are right or go exactly to plan ? So don't keep telling me that the only things that can happen are those you say are designed to happen ??

To repeat again therefore, the overclocking issue has actually always been simply voiced as a concern that a detrimental condition can be triggered and set, unless a reboot is done ! The important words being reboot everytime you overclock !!!
__________________
The more I know, the more I know I don't know

Intel P4 3.2 @ 3.85GHz (ASUS P4C800E-Deluxe)
BFG 6800GS (16x1,6vp) @ 300/430/1200.

Driver, 82.12 :-
Aquamark3, 75039
Codecreatures1, 90.8
3Dmark05 v120, 6195
3Dmark03 v360, 14334
3Dmark06 v102, 2949
3Dmark2001se v330, 23793.

Last edited by jimmor; 06-16-04 at 05:25 AM.
jimmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-04, 03:18 PM   #195
jimmor
Registered User
 
jimmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 568
Default Re: Basic FX59xxx bios changes

Quote:
Originally Posted by rewt
error logs = bad !! you are overstressing your card !!

Consider cutting down the GPU clock speeds or you'll probably be needing a new card soon.

I would imagine

l0 = 2D
l1 = LowPower3D
l2 = 3D

So by your error logs, you were playing games in 2D !! Loosing much performance there.
Or I think that interceptor_nl can more realistically conclude that he was running his games in 3D and then for some unknown reason, his card throttled back to LowPower3D, and then to 2D !! What his error log doesn't tell us is what timescale each event involved, what triggered them and why it didn't cycle or switch back to 3D ?? Pity he doesn't have a realtime reading of speeds/temps when errors occurred ??
__________________
The more I know, the more I know I don't know

Intel P4 3.2 @ 3.85GHz (ASUS P4C800E-Deluxe)
BFG 6800GS (16x1,6vp) @ 300/430/1200.

Driver, 82.12 :-
Aquamark3, 75039
Codecreatures1, 90.8
3Dmark05 v120, 6195
3Dmark03 v360, 14334
3Dmark06 v102, 2949
3Dmark2001se v330, 23793.
jimmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-04, 03:26 PM   #196
jimmor
Registered User
 
jimmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 568
Default Re: Basic FX59xxx bios changes

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirJpg
So one of the ways to confirm that your card is not reducing speeds is to test it during long time restlessly with rivatuner scanning, isn´t it?
If you are doing serious overclocking and therefore also doing serious hard testing, then yes you should use something like the Rivatuner Hardware Monitor as it allows realtime GPU and Memory speed monitoring and/or logging !

And if your card allows temp sensors monitoring, then rivatuner shows those too !!
__________________
The more I know, the more I know I don't know

Intel P4 3.2 @ 3.85GHz (ASUS P4C800E-Deluxe)
BFG 6800GS (16x1,6vp) @ 300/430/1200.

Driver, 82.12 :-
Aquamark3, 75039
Codecreatures1, 90.8
3Dmark05 v120, 6195
3Dmark03 v360, 14334
3Dmark06 v102, 2949
3Dmark2001se v330, 23793.
jimmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-04, 03:50 PM   #197
jimmor
Registered User
 
jimmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 568
Default Re: Basic FX59xxx bios changes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder

The problem is that Jimor constantly calling throttling usual 3D -> LowPower3D -> 2D pattern, which can be seen when he tests clocks in RivaTuner.

BTW "LowPower3D" name is not my invintation, it's internal NV's name of performance level 1.
The problem is not that I am calling all throttling functions the 3D-> LowPower3D -> 2D pattern !

What I have been saying is subsequent to the above pattern being observed during the rivatuner overclocking stress tests, I also observe "throttling" issues with gaming or performance testing, unless I reboot first !

In other words, once "throttling" or any name you wish to give it, has been triggered, my 5900/bios/driver appears more sensative to throttling issues than it would have been had I rebooted first !
__________________
The more I know, the more I know I don't know

Intel P4 3.2 @ 3.85GHz (ASUS P4C800E-Deluxe)
BFG 6800GS (16x1,6vp) @ 300/430/1200.

Driver, 82.12 :-
Aquamark3, 75039
Codecreatures1, 90.8
3Dmark05 v120, 6195
3Dmark03 v360, 14334
3Dmark06 v102, 2949
3Dmark2001se v330, 23793.
jimmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-04, 06:08 PM   #198
interceptor_nl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 9
Default Re: Basic FX59xxx bios changes

[quote=jimmor]if you have a GPU volts of 1.557 on a XT card then either it is faulty or have you voltmodded it ??? Mind you either way it will certainly allow overclocks like you are achieving !
QUOTE]

well i sure not voltmodded cause my soldeering skills r 35% of urs

it is stock and i also am very suprised about this particular card
its an weird thing to see my clocks and get such **** scores.........whatever happens to my card i dont care i have an spare gf4ti4200 (wich i good enough to run each game we have today) ......so that i dont mind

alll just hobby too me.....

[quote]
Pity he doesn't have a realtime reading of speeds/temps when errors occurred ??
[end quote]


i could do an re run and record it on cam
or pics

anyway i will have to wait an few weeks till i recieve my new processor and mobo who knowes i get better scores then.

regards,

interceptor_nl


regards

interceptor_nl
interceptor_nl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-04, 06:12 PM   #199
interceptor_nl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 9
Default Re: Basic FX59xxx bios changes

eureka i found even the time scale it accured (l2>l1 and so on) mail me when ur interrested i aint goin to type it all.......NO way


regards,

interceptor_nl
interceptor_nl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-04, 06:24 PM   #200
Jethro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 356
Default Re: Basic FX59xxx bios changes

nah doesnt seem to be driver related. Its perfectly happy with Gainward bios, i just need to mod it to 500/950 or so.

I only get throttle down at speeds over 500core on my card, it pauses everything then resumes after a sec. I assume this is throttling?>
__________________
Abit KV7 --- XP-M @ 2.74 1.84vcore 1/2 MAze3 cooled ~Patriot XBL 512x2 @ 235x12 cas2 --- Chieftec Aluminum 601 --- Tru power 430 --- Netgear cable router RP614 --- Aud2-->Aud2 hack --- WD special 80 / Barracuda 160gb 7200.7 --- LiteON 52.32.52 --- Mitsu DiamondPRO 22inch --- Swifty cooled EVGA 6800NU @ 439/949 16p/6vs

12406 O3marks
Jethro is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-15-04, 07:04 PM   #201
jimmor
Registered User
 
jimmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 568
Default Re: Basic FX59xxx bios changes

Quote:
Originally Posted by interceptor_nl
well i sure not voltmodded cause my soldeering skills r 35% of urs

it is stock and i also am very suprised about this particular card
its an weird thing to see my clocks and get such **** scores.........whatever happens to my card i dont care i have an spare gf4ti4200 (wich i good enough to run each game we have today) ......so that i dont mind

alll just hobby too me.....


regards

interceptor_nl
don't worry about it, even if it is a fault, it is a fault in the right direction ? A GPU volts of 1.55 is not too high, in fact its about right for 500+ speeds ! You just have to watch the temps if overclocking high, because heatsinking on a 5900xt card is not that good ? Which means it will always have overtemping/throttling issues, unless you can better cool it !!
__________________
The more I know, the more I know I don't know

Intel P4 3.2 @ 3.85GHz (ASUS P4C800E-Deluxe)
BFG 6800GS (16x1,6vp) @ 300/430/1200.

Driver, 82.12 :-
Aquamark3, 75039
Codecreatures1, 90.8
3Dmark05 v120, 6195
3Dmark03 v360, 14334
3Dmark06 v102, 2949
3Dmark2001se v330, 23793.
jimmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-04, 07:16 PM   #202
jimmor
Registered User
 
jimmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 568
Default Re: Basic FX59xxx bios changes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jethro
nah doesnt seem to be driver related. Its perfectly happy with Gainward bios, i just need to mod it to 500/950 or so.

I only get throttle down at speeds over 500core on my card, it pauses everything then resumes after a sec. I assume this is throttling?>
well at least it is important that you have eliminated drivers a part of problem ? And nothing wrong with 500/950 if it is very stable with your setup !

By the way, what do you have your mobo AGP aperture and volts set at ?? And maybe a slight longshot, but are your mobo AGP device drivers up to date in supporting a 5950u spec card ? Being that a 5950u spec is quite new !

your pausing and resuming for second or so sounds like throttling, however why don't you check using the Rivatuner Hardware monitor ?? It will show when temps and speed changes happened in real time !
__________________
The more I know, the more I know I don't know

Intel P4 3.2 @ 3.85GHz (ASUS P4C800E-Deluxe)
BFG 6800GS (16x1,6vp) @ 300/430/1200.

Driver, 82.12 :-
Aquamark3, 75039
Codecreatures1, 90.8
3Dmark05 v120, 6195
3Dmark03 v360, 14334
3Dmark06 v102, 2949
3Dmark2001se v330, 23793.
jimmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-04, 08:38 PM   #203
Jethro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 356
Default Re: Basic FX59xxx bios changes

Havent been using rivatuner anymore. My agp is set @ 1.55 but ive had it up to 1.65 with no change. Im running a 256mb AGP aperature. My KV-7 is humming along at 11x210 Latest BIOS, latest AGP driver, AGP 8x with fastwrites enabled, agp 1ws read and write. The board has really good AGP calibration being the KT600 chipset. ALL in all the Board runs like dream! Its very stable and very fast. I think i just got a moderate clocking 5900 is all. Really to have made it to 500 core im not disappointed at all. Id just like to be able to overclock without losing my temp monitor. Perhaps rivatuner's hardware monitor would fix that, hmm. Maybe ill try that again, used to be my fav.
__________________
Abit KV7 --- XP-M @ 2.74 1.84vcore 1/2 MAze3 cooled ~Patriot XBL 512x2 @ 235x12 cas2 --- Chieftec Aluminum 601 --- Tru power 430 --- Netgear cable router RP614 --- Aud2-->Aud2 hack --- WD special 80 / Barracuda 160gb 7200.7 --- LiteON 52.32.52 --- Mitsu DiamondPRO 22inch --- Swifty cooled EVGA 6800NU @ 439/949 16p/6vs

12406 O3marks
Jethro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-04, 05:06 AM   #204
jimmor
Registered User
 
jimmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 568
Default Re: Basic FX59xxx bios changes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jethro
Havent been using rivatuner anymore. My agp is set @ 1.55 but ive had it up to 1.65 with no change. Im running a 256mb AGP aperature. My KV-7 is humming along at 11x210 Latest BIOS, latest AGP driver, AGP 8x with fastwrites enabled, agp 1ws read and write. The board has really good AGP calibration being the KT600 chipset. ALL in all the Board runs like dream! Its very stable and very fast. I think i just got a moderate clocking 5900 is all. Really to have made it to 500 core im not disappointed at all. Id just like to be able to overclock without losing my temp monitor. Perhaps rivatuner's hardware monitor would fix that, hmm. Maybe ill try that again, used to be my fav.
if you couldn't overclock to 500+ with GPU volts of 1.55, then your GPU would definately be suspect ? If left at the 1.65v level, there would have been better GPU stability as long as your cards heatsinking could keep control of temps ? Its mainly overtemping that is the major problem with high overclocks on anything but a real 5950u !

the GPU temp sensor is part of the GPU chip, so it is probably somehow disconnecting or inhibiting itself when GPU temp goes above a certain threshold ? It may also just be the connection from the chip to the PCB that is being affected by temp ? Since Rivatuner may identify what temp it is happening at, all you have to do is somehow stay below that temp ??
__________________
The more I know, the more I know I don't know

Intel P4 3.2 @ 3.85GHz (ASUS P4C800E-Deluxe)
BFG 6800GS (16x1,6vp) @ 300/430/1200.

Driver, 82.12 :-
Aquamark3, 75039
Codecreatures1, 90.8
3Dmark05 v120, 6195
3Dmark03 v360, 14334
3Dmark06 v102, 2949
3Dmark2001se v330, 23793.
jimmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus Bios bug nforceuser NVIDIA Linux 3 10-06-02 04:15 AM
new bios my motherboard and got new feature IDE PCI BUS MASTERING what is it ??? b5fan CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 12 09-22-02 05:10 PM
BIOS doesn't recognize more than 32 MB(old P1 machines) Klaus-P CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 3 09-09-02 03:33 PM
bios flashing Gunslinger68 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 7 09-08-02 12:20 PM
PC Games, CeleronII 566, CeleronA 300, BIOS Savior, Heatsinks, NES & Sega Items +pics TekViper For Sale/Trade 5 08-07-02 10:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.