Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-29-04, 09:30 AM   #49
cstring
makefile
 
cstring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 115
Default Re: Basic FX59xxx bios changes

Frick! its back to 399!
Now I'm really confused.
After running homeworld 2 , no AA no AF,
open up aida32 > display > gpu , core shows 399 , again.
then I click opengl then click gpu and it shows 430 !!!
Well I cant troubleshoot anymore today, got an appointment at 3pm and I need to get ready.
The leadtek should be here in 3-4 days , that will please me !
Anyway thanks for all your time !
Take care, jimmor.
cstring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-04, 12:42 PM   #50
cstring
makefile
 
cstring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 115
Default Re: Basic FX59xxx bios changes

Good news, the appointment cancelled.
I love holidays.

Bad news , it gave me more time to experiment more and I lose money.

I tried latency setting from 07 03 0F 03 to 07 03 0F 40
also unplugged 80gb and 120gb hard drives
shut off black light.

tried bios at 390/400/737
390/395/737
no go , the way I could tell at 395 was 4xAA 4xAF was disabled, which also happens when it reverts to 399.

tried 80mm fan blowing on card, same effect any stress applied sets it to 399!
Maybe its hard coded into the board itself?
I cant wait till that leadtek gets here , that should remove all doubt.
cstring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-04, 06:02 AM   #51
jimmor
Registered User
 
jimmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 568
Default Re: Basic FX59xxx bios changes

Quote:
Originally Posted by cstring
Good news, the appointment cancelled.
I love holidays.

Bad news , it gave me more time to experiment more and I lose money.

I tried latency setting from 07 03 0F 03 to 07 03 0F 40
also unplugged 80gb and 120gb hard drives
shut off black light.

tried bios at 390/400/737
390/395/737
no go , the way I could tell at 395 was 4xAA 4xAF was disabled, which also happens when it reverts to 399.

tried 80mm fan blowing on card, same effect any stress applied sets it to 399!
Maybe its hard coded into the board itself?
I cant wait till that leadtek gets here , that should remove all doubt.
even if the 399 was for some reason coded into your current bios, it is not in any others I have looked at! so flash with another bios ?

also, only things I know can cause core to jump to wrong low levels is either bad card or bad PSU ? Or even bad connection to PSU ??? However hopefully when you get new card we will find out more ?

Just a thought, but have you tried running your card in another PC ???
__________________
The more I know, the more I know I don't know

Intel P4 3.2 @ 3.85GHz (ASUS P4C800E-Deluxe)
BFG 6800GS (16x1,6vp) @ 300/430/1200.

Driver, 82.12 :-
Aquamark3, 75039
Codecreatures1, 90.8
3Dmark05 v120, 6195
3Dmark03 v360, 14334
3Dmark06 v102, 2949
3Dmark2001se v330, 23793.
jimmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-04, 01:37 PM   #52
Fahim
R420, NV40
 
Fahim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In Front Of My PC
Posts: 164
Default Re: Basic FX59xxx bios changes

Jimmor,

i have some questions.

01. Can I flash my MSI FX 5900XT with 5900U/5950U BIOS. I heard that flashing with 5900/5950 bios causes temperature drop. Is it true??

02. My 9800P memory (Samsung GC2A, probably 2.8ns) runs at stock (680MHz) is hotter than FX memory (Hynix 2.5ns) @ 850MHz. So, should I feel safe about FX memory (No ramsink)?

03. By changing latency from 43/03 to 40 means higher CAS or lower CAS?? Maybe higher as it causes higher overclocking.

04. Is it too risky to remove the heatspreader from core?? FX is now running @ 450/850. It is rock stable @ 485MHz also. I don't want to overclock more but I think without heatspreader, FX will run cooler.


Thanks for your time & effort, Jimmor.

***EDIT***

Jimmor, Can I mod the "clock/memory/latency/volt" of FX 5200, 5600, 5700, 5800 the same way I can mod 59xx???

Thanks.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 6000+ | ASUS CROSSHAIR | 2 x 1GB Corsair XMS PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz | ATI RADEON HD 3870 512MB (800,2340) | PNY GeForce 8800 GTS 320MB (513,1584) | ATI RADEON HD 2900XT 512MB | Leadtek WinFast GeForce 8800 GTS 640MB (500,1584)

Last edited by Fahim; 05-30-04 at 04:47 PM.
Fahim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-04, 05:03 PM   #53
jimmor
Registered User
 
jimmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 568
Default Re: Basic FX59xxx bios changes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fahim
Jimmor,

i have some questions.

01. Can I flash my MSI FX 5900XT with 5900U/5950U BIOS. I heard that flashing with 5900/5950 bios causes temperature drop. Is it true??
No, I don't believe a 5950u bios will do much for your card ! If however you want to try just for the hell of it, try using one of my underclocked 5950u bios's available either from Mavke wesite or Dr.Infern0 post at Guru3d forum ? You could also try any 5900u bios as your card runs fine at the stock 450/850 of that card, But I also don't think you will get much improvement with your MSI5900XT card ? But of course, you could prove me wrong ? Unfortunately I personally cant say with any authority if a 5900u or 5950u bios can work well with XT cards as I don't have one ? Most of my knowledge in this area is based on feedback I have had from others !

for temps; flashing with a 5900u bios wont help with any temp issues. However, because of a number of parameter changes, flashing with a 5950u bios can improve temp control ! But unfortunately because of the slow memory on your card and low core volts, you would be unlikely to overclock high enough to achieve any real performance benefits ! But if all you want is better/cooler operation then a 5950u bios may be your answer ? Using either a ASUS 5900u or 5950u bios will help with core cooling as both run the fan full speed all the time ? Mind you they also run 3D all the time as well !

Quote:
02. My 9800P memory (Samsung GC2A, probably 2.8ns) runs at stock (680MHz) is hotter than FX memory (Hynix 2.5ns) @ 850MHz. So, should I feel safe about FX memory (No ramsink)?
I think I have replied to this before; What concerned me before was that you had no ramsinks and no means of measuring actual memory temp ? Your memory chips will likely run fine at 850MHz, but will, as you have found, run very hot ? And will get even hotter as your case and/or environment also gets warmer ? In this situation I would, barring my ability to fit ramsinks, run my memory lower ? However I would probably make a judgement based on temps at 800, 810, 820, 830, 840 ? Temp issue my be exponential rather than linear, so maybe a small reduction in speed may give a large reduction in temp ? test and see ?


Quote:
03. By changing latency from 43/03 to 40 means higher CAS or lower CAS?? Maybe higher as it causes higher overclocking.
the "03" is very low CAS if you want to call it that ! And "40" is lower than "43". But it doesn't quite work that way in your bios ! And it depends whether we are talking about a XT type or higher card.

There are many timing parameters in a bios, however at the moment we are only suggesting the change to one area ! The "03" value is standard for the slow memory of a XT. And was chosen to improve performance at lower memory clocking speeds ! However, I believe, if anyone is foolish enough to try, that the "03" value could lockup a card using a 5900nu, 5900u or 5950u bios ? I would certainly never recommend it !

For your XT card and bios, you could try many diff values ranging from "03" to "43" ? Somewhere between these is probably a "sweet spot" for your card, which will give the best possible memory performance ? And depending on what "ns" rating of memory, will depend on where the sweet spot is ? Having said all this, it may also be that many of the intermediate values cause artifacts or worse simply because of other interactive timings in the bios ? All my trials were with my 5900nu card and I know there was little latitude with changes before problems occurred ?

Quote:
04. Is it too risky to remove the heatspreader from core?? FX is now running @ 450/850. It is rock stable @ 485MHz also. I don't want to overclock more but I think without heatspreader, FX will run cooler.
I presume by heatspreader you mean the little cap over the core and not the core heatsinking ?

I do believe some people have removed the heatspreader to make better contact with the GPU, but it is risky ? Since I've never done it myself, I don't have details of the actual risk/damage likely from trying ? But also remember the heatspreader is primarily there to protect the GPU die from undue pressure, knocks, bumps or force, so you would have to be extremely careful if you did decide to remove it ?
__________________
The more I know, the more I know I don't know

Intel P4 3.2 @ 3.85GHz (ASUS P4C800E-Deluxe)
BFG 6800GS (16x1,6vp) @ 300/430/1200.

Driver, 82.12 :-
Aquamark3, 75039
Codecreatures1, 90.8
3Dmark05 v120, 6195
3Dmark03 v360, 14334
3Dmark06 v102, 2949
3Dmark2001se v330, 23793.
jimmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-04, 06:19 PM   #54
cstring
makefile
 
cstring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 115
Default Re: Basic FX59xxx bios changes

jimmor,
Yeah, the more I thought about hardcoding core speed, the less sense it made.
Then I thought maybe if I searched for 399 (DC 9B 00 00) and 400 (40 9C 00 00)
that maybe I'd find it.
399 revealed nothing but I found 4 instances of 400 or 40 9C 00 00.
I looked through xbios editor hex editor on 3 different bios,
the backup of origional I made
an 750 memory clocked version
and an 810 memory clocked version
all of which I made.

1 is at the end of 0x6DD0 to begining of 0x6DF0
2 is near middle of 0xAFE0
3 is at begining of 0xAFF0
4th is at end of 0xED20

Was wondering if these could possiably be settings for throttling?
I havent changed them, just looking at possibilities.
cstring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-04, 06:24 PM   #55
Fahim
R420, NV40
 
Fahim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In Front Of My PC
Posts: 164
Default Re: Basic FX59xxx bios changes

Thanks for the reply, jimmor. I really appriciate it.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 6000+ | ASUS CROSSHAIR | 2 x 1GB Corsair XMS PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz | ATI RADEON HD 3870 512MB (800,2340) | PNY GeForce 8800 GTS 320MB (513,1584) | ATI RADEON HD 2900XT 512MB | Leadtek WinFast GeForce 8800 GTS 640MB (500,1584)
Fahim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-04, 06:43 PM   #56
jimmor
Registered User
 
jimmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 568
Default Re: Basic FX59xxx bios changes

Quote:
Originally Posted by cstring
jimmor,
Yeah, the more I thought about hardcoding core speed, the less sense it made.
Then I thought maybe if I searched for 399 (DC 9B 00 00) and 400 (40 9C 00 00)
that maybe I'd find it.
399 revealed nothing but I found 4 instances of 400 or 40 9C 00 00.
I looked through xbios editor hex editor on 3 different bios,
the backup of origional I made
an 750 memory clocked version
and an 810 memory clocked version
all of which I made.

1 is at the end of 0x6DD0 to begining of 0x6DF0
2 is near middle of 0xAFE0
3 is at begining of 0xAFF0
4th is at end of 0xED20

Was wondering if these could possiably be settings for throttling?
I havent changed them, just looking at possibilities.
the one at ED20 is your problem ! you have the throttle speed set at 400MHz ! So all that is happening, is during a high stress/temp time in game, the throttling function is being triggered ! Set it to whatever your 3D speed is, and it won't throttle core speed down ! However it is probably only happening because your card was either overclocked too far or just overheating at the time it triggered ?
__________________
The more I know, the more I know I don't know

Intel P4 3.2 @ 3.85GHz (ASUS P4C800E-Deluxe)
BFG 6800GS (16x1,6vp) @ 300/430/1200.

Driver, 82.12 :-
Aquamark3, 75039
Codecreatures1, 90.8
3Dmark05 v120, 6195
3Dmark03 v360, 14334
3Dmark06 v102, 2949
3Dmark2001se v330, 23793.
jimmor is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-30-04, 06:46 PM   #57
jimmor
Registered User
 
jimmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 568
Default Re: Basic FX59xxx bios changes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fahim
Thanks for the reply, jimmor. I really appriciate it.
no prob's, hope what I posted was of adequate use to your decisions ?
__________________
The more I know, the more I know I don't know

Intel P4 3.2 @ 3.85GHz (ASUS P4C800E-Deluxe)
BFG 6800GS (16x1,6vp) @ 300/430/1200.

Driver, 82.12 :-
Aquamark3, 75039
Codecreatures1, 90.8
3Dmark05 v120, 6195
3Dmark03 v360, 14334
3Dmark06 v102, 2949
3Dmark2001se v330, 23793.
jimmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-04, 03:08 AM   #58
silent2004
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4
Default Re: Basic FX59xxx bios changes

Jimmor,

Could you be so kind and have a look at 2 bios files for me please?
I have the modded Sparkle FX5900XT but the settings from it I wish to be imported to the Gigabyte FX5900XT bios. I mean all vcore, memery speed, latency, My card is a Sparkle FX5900XT with rev2 of there bios but randomly my post boot screen detects the card as a 256 meg card and it is not it is a 128 meg card and the computer crashes. I have tried using the gigabyte FX5900XT bios and it works a treat not false detections and stable.
So now I am looking for the moddifications that have been done to the Sparkle bios to be set on the Gigabyte bios. once this has been done I should have no problems and running with sparkle's modded settings.

If this is ok can you please e-mail me at Silent@ntlworld.com and I will send over the 2 rom files.

If this can be done It would be very much appreciated indeed.
Many thanks
Silent
silent2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-04, 04:09 AM   #59
jimmor
Registered User
 
jimmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 568
Default Re: Basic FX59xxx bios changes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fahim
Jimmor,

i have some questions.


***EDIT***

Jimmor, Can I mod the "clock/memory/latency/volt" of FX 5200, 5600, 5700, 5800 the same way I can mod 59xx???

Thanks.
the simple answer is generally yes, as long as the table structures in the other bios's are same as those shown in my Guide ! And from memory, I believe certainly the 5700ultra and 5800 series are similar, but not sure about the others ? check and see ?

note also that the 5800 card series run core and memory at diff speeds for 2D/throttling/3D operations and therefore speed table will reflect this rather than the 5900 structure I show in my Guide !
__________________
The more I know, the more I know I don't know

Intel P4 3.2 @ 3.85GHz (ASUS P4C800E-Deluxe)
BFG 6800GS (16x1,6vp) @ 300/430/1200.

Driver, 82.12 :-
Aquamark3, 75039
Codecreatures1, 90.8
3Dmark05 v120, 6195
3Dmark03 v360, 14334
3Dmark06 v102, 2949
3Dmark2001se v330, 23793.
jimmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-04, 05:29 AM   #60
jimmor
Registered User
 
jimmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 568
Default Re: Basic FX59xxx bios changes

Quote:
Originally Posted by silent2004
Jimmor,

Could you be so kind and have a look at 2 bios files for me please?
I have the modded Sparkle FX5900XT but the settings from it I wish to be imported to the Gigabyte FX5900XT bios. I mean all vcore, memery speed, latency, My card is a Sparkle FX5900XT with rev2 of there bios but randomly my post boot screen detects the card as a 256 meg card and it is not it is a 128 meg card and the computer crashes. I have tried using the gigabyte FX5900XT bios and it works a treat not false detections and stable.
So now I am looking for the moddifications that have been done to the Sparkle bios to be set on the Gigabyte bios. once this has been done I should have no problems and running with sparkle's modded settings.

If this is ok can you please e-mail me at Silent@ntlworld.com and I will send over the 2 rom files.

If this can be done It would be very much appreciated indeed.
Many thanks
Silent
done !
__________________
The more I know, the more I know I don't know

Intel P4 3.2 @ 3.85GHz (ASUS P4C800E-Deluxe)
BFG 6800GS (16x1,6vp) @ 300/430/1200.

Driver, 82.12 :-
Aquamark3, 75039
Codecreatures1, 90.8
3Dmark05 v120, 6195
3Dmark03 v360, 14334
3Dmark06 v102, 2949
3Dmark2001se v330, 23793.
jimmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus Bios bug nforceuser NVIDIA Linux 3 10-06-02 04:15 AM
new bios my motherboard and got new feature IDE PCI BUS MASTERING what is it ??? b5fan CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 12 09-22-02 05:10 PM
BIOS doesn't recognize more than 32 MB(old P1 machines) Klaus-P CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 3 09-09-02 03:33 PM
bios flashing Gunslinger68 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 7 09-08-02 12:20 PM
PC Games, CeleronII 566, CeleronA 300, BIOS Savior, Heatsinks, NES & Sega Items +pics TekViper For Sale/Trade 5 08-07-02 10:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.