Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-29-04, 02:32 AM   #1
moyix
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4
Default Freeze when trying to switch to console

Hullo, I'm a (mostly) happy owner of an NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 with 128 M of RAM. However, I've noticed the following problem: after starting X, if I try to switch to a VT (Ctrl-Alt-F1), I will get a hard lockup with a blank screen. Sometimes I can successfully switch once or twice, but after a couple tries, it always eventually locks up.

Video card: GeForce FX 5200
Driver version: 1.0.5336-9 (the -9 is the debian revision level)
Distribution: Debian GNU/Linux unstable (sid)
Kernel version: prepackaged Debian kernel, version 2.6.5-1-686-smp
Video BIOS Revision: 04.34.20.18.00
Processor: Pentium IV 2.8Ghz w/Hyperthreading
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-8IPE1000, Intel 864PE chipset
XF86Config: attached

Any ideas of things to try? Is this a known problem?
Attached Files
File Type: txt XF86Config-4.txt (4.4 KB, 107 views)
moyix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-04, 03:18 AM   #2
whig
550Ti
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 854
Default Re: Freeze when trying to switch to console

Remove the loading of GLcore and dri modules from your XF86Config.
whig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-04, 03:21 AM   #3
russofris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 125
Default Re: Freeze when trying to switch to console

Quote:
Originally Posted by moyix
Hullo, I'm a (mostly) happy owner of an NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 with 128 M of RAM. However, I've noticed the following problem: after starting X, if I try to switch to a VT (Ctrl-Alt-F1), I will get a hard lockup with a blank screen. Sometimes I can successfully switch once or twice, but after a couple tries, it always eventually locks up.

Any ideas of things to try? Is this a known problem?
Usually, this occurs when a video device is connected to the S-video output of the graphics adapter. Disconnecting the s-video cable, or disabling the device in the XF86conf usually does the trick. I have seen reports that updated firmware can resolve the problem as well.

If you don't have a device connected to the card and disabling the vidoe-out doesn't work, then you may have an unrelated problem.

Thank you for your time,
Frank Russo
russofris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-04, 04:33 PM   #4
moyix
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4
Default Re: Freeze when trying to switch to console

Tried commenting out the "GLcore" and "dri" extensions, no effect. When I tried disabling TV out (by adding Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "TV"), X froze on startup--but not quite as badly as before; I could ssh in from another computer. I found that the X process was hung in state D (uninterruptible sleep, usually waiting for input), and no amount of kill -9 could rectify that. I was, however, able to change the config back and reboot ok.

So now it seems I should update my video BIOS. I've never done that before--does it need to be done from within Windows? Where could I find the update or utility to flash it?

Thanks,
Brendan
moyix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-04, 05:45 PM   #5
pzgren
Registered User
 
pzgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 107
Default Re: Freeze when trying to switch to console

Turn off the debian kernel framebuffer. And do not forget why there is standing:

Debian GNU/Linux unstable

Marcus
__________________
Fedora Core 6
Notebook: DELL Inspiron 9400 - Core Duo T2400 - 17" WUXGA 7800 Go 256MB - 2 GB DDR2 667 MHz -
PC: AMD64 3200 - 1 GB Infi. PC400 - MSI K8N Neo Platinum NForce3 250GB - 80GB SATA Samsung - SB Live! 5.1 - GF 6600GT AGP
pzgren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-04, 06:32 PM   #6
moyix
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4
Default Re: Freeze when trying to switch to console

So I should add vga=normal to LILO?
moyix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-04, 11:45 PM   #7
Kamel
Hardware Mass Murderer
 
Kamel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,035
Send a message via ICQ to Kamel Send a message via AIM to Kamel Send a message via MSN to Kamel Send a message via Yahoo to Kamel Send a message via Skype™ to Kamel
Default Re: Freeze when trying to switch to console

Quote:
Originally Posted by moyix
So I should add vga=normal to LILO?
yes... i have framebuffer on, and it takes about 4 seconds to switch from the regular console to X. turning it off makes it nearly instant, so turning it off would likely help.

i would make 2 entries in lilo, one with framebuffer and one without. or, you can always do vga=ask
__________________
hardware murdered so far: geforce 5900u, deceised: sat on it. geforce 6600gt deceised: improperly mounted heatsink. 3 asus a7n8x-e deluxe motherboards, deceised: unsure. mobile amd xp2600 processor, deceised: chipped core due to compusa heatsink. dfi lanparty ultra b, deceised: unsure, third memory bank went out. samsung cd burner 48x40x48, deceised: unsure, will only read pressed cd's very slowly. samsung TH552C dvd burner (dual layer), deceised: same as other samsung . 10gb seagate 5200rpm drive, deceised: tried fixing a pin that was pushed into the drive by inserting an ide cable upside down. 40gb maxtor drive, deceised: maxtor manufacturer. 80gb western digital, deceised: unnatural causes. swan xt10, deceised: brutal pre-meditated murder, even video taped (it wasn't y2k compliant). logitech mx510, deceised: death by electricution. ati remote wonder, deceised: death by electricution.
Kamel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-04, 04:03 AM   #8
moyix
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4
Default Re: Freeze when trying to switch to console

Passing vga=normal to the kernel seems to make everything work quite nicely. Thanks all! :)
moyix is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-01-04, 04:55 PM   #9
balk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1
Default Re: Freeze when trying to switch to console

Adding
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT"
Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "TV"
to /etc/X11/XF86Config also worked for me
balk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UEFI+Nvidia - NVRM: Your system is not currently configured to drive a VGA console... interzoneuk NVIDIA Linux 0 06-26-12 04:51 AM
BUG 302.17 - can not access TTY console legluondunet NVIDIA Linux 9 06-24-12 05:16 PM
Console Killers News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-11-12 10:10 PM
First monitor is black when going to virtual console, when using twinView zeBarbu NVIDIA Linux 2 09-07-03 09:35 PM
Official Linux driver 1.0-3123 thread bammbamm808 NVIDIA Linux 126 12-05-02 06:21 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.