Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-06-04, 09:05 PM   #337
NightFire
Bu Zi You, Wo Ning Si
 
NightFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,464
Send a message via MSN to NightFire
Default Re: My 6800 Ultra

Eh, oleasgamer, bonjour!
Bienvenu a le "nvnews", et se réjouir.
Comment ca va?
Je suis tres bien aujord'hui.

Alors...
Oui, ce forum est tres juste.
Le prochaine fois, pouvez vous avoir un peu de grammair avec ta aérogramme?

Au revoir,
NightFire (Exclusive French Edition)

Note: For a complete translation, your out of luck.
Back to english:
I have GOT to get one of these cards. It seems like it's taking forever, and I'm afraid that by the time I'm ready to buy, the refresh will be close by. Ah, the dilemma.There is just to many advances coming. Socket 939, PCI-E, etc. I don't know whether to upgrade now or not!
But, at any rate, I can't stand another minute of gaming at 640x480 16 bit on my GF4 MX. It's driving me nuts. I'm still only getting 16 fps on some games like Halo. *Sigh*

Of course, when you think about it, I really shouldn't be complaining. About 2/3's or more of the world probably don't even have computers, and another part of that probably are wondering when their next meal will come.
__________________
Funny story

SteelSoft Incorporated
Specs: AMD Athlon 64 3200+ @2.5GHz/512 MB PC2700 RAM/80 GB Western Digital Caviar/15 GB Maxtor/Diamond Viper X1950XT 256MB/Dell 1907FP 19" LCD Monitor/ASRock 939Dual SATA-2/1.44 MB Floppy/40x-12x-48x CD-RW/8x DVD-ROM
NightFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-04, 11:09 PM   #338
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: My 6800 Ultra

A game that starts with a D...

1280x1024 2XAA/4XAF

2004-06-06 21:07:08 -
Frames: 1953 - Time: 42931ms - Avg: 45.492 - Min: 29 - Max: 64
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-04, 11:49 PM   #339
Skynet
Registered User
 
Skynet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 273
Send a message via ICQ to Skynet Send a message via AIM to Skynet
Wink Re: My 6800 Ultra

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
A game that starts with a D...

1280x1024 2XAA/4XAF

2004-06-06 21:07:08 -
Frames: 1953 - Time: 42931ms - Avg: 45.492 - Min: 29 - Max: 64
Those are some pretty amazing numbers for Dig Dug.
Skynet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-04, 12:51 AM   #340
Waffles
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 140
Default Re: My 6800 Ultra

I think the guy ho programmed "Dig Dug" there actually said its best to run with the highest possible resolution with no anti-aliasing instead of using AA and running at a much lower res.

What is the highest res you can run "Dig Dug" at? And what are the scores then?

And this is a pre-beta version of "Dig Dug" right?
Waffles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-04, 12:52 AM   #341
gigapower
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 104
Send a message via AIM to gigapower
Default Re: My 6800 Ultra

Oklahoma huh.......guess I'll be making a trip to PCClub tomorrow morning
gigapower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-04, 12:58 AM   #342
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: My 6800 Ultra

Hey JaKup,

If you get bored and want to see what your graphics card/system can do, here's a real stress test. Others feel free to try this too.

Get FRAPS, and also enable dev mode/god mode in Far Cry. You will need lots of mercs for this. You can not enable higher than 4xAF from within the game so go ahead and open your system.cfg file. Set filtering to ANISOTROPIC and the the level to 8 or greater if you are feeling bold. Enable 4xAA or greater. Set your resolution to 1280x1024 or greater if you are a bad a$$.

Load FRAPS then Far Cry. If you don't already have everything set to very high, do so. Exit and restart to apply. If you already have that set then good for you, just load the 'factory' level at medium difficulty and up. When you get to the elevator that leads down to the larger rooms/factory interior start the bench(F11).

Why god mode? Because the idea is to have large fire fights in and around those vast rooms. So aggro all you can. Make sure to run around the top levels as well. If your system never sees FPS in the mid 20's you are awesome and should brag Mine did not, even OCed at times I touched 23FPS.

I am very curious how the XT-PE and OCed ultras will do here.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-04, 12:59 AM   #343
Waffles
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 140
Default Re: My 6800 Ultra

btw I'm not saying 1600x1200 with no AA looks better than 1280x1024 with 2xAA. I was thinking more along the lines of like the 1920x1440 and higher without AA looking better than 1280x1024 2xAA. My monitor can only go up to 1792x1344 anyhoo.
Waffles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-04, 01:04 AM   #344
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: My 6800 Ultra

1600x12000.. dig dug:
no aa/ no af

2004-06-06 23:01:20 -
Frames: 2888 - Time: 60000ms - Avg: 48.133 - Min: 26 - Max: 64
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-07-04, 01:14 AM   #345
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: My 6800 Ultra

I just did this really quick.. gonna hit the haystack, I will do some more testing tommorrow:

4xaa/8xaf.. 1280x1024 factory level on FarCry.. I didn't set god mode, but I will tommorrow:

2004-06-06 23:11:25 - FarCry
Frames: 1168 - Time: 25921ms - Avg: 45.060 - Min: 30 - Max: 64

This is where I was running around
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FarCry 2004-06-06 23-11-21-40.JPG
Views:	323
Size:	99.9 KB
ID:	6247  
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-04, 01:22 AM   #346
Evildeus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 309
Default Re: My 6800 Ultra

Sounds good
__________________
But if they think they're going to hold onto it, they're smoking something hallucinogenic - Jen-Hsun Huang
Evildeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-04, 01:27 AM   #347
piranha
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 34
Default Re: My 6800 Ultra

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64
Welcome to nvnews oleasgamer .
yup here you'll find many intelligent and interesting posts about video cards in general & espeically NV cards .

& since the nvnews forums is full of non-biased members .. dont be surprised if someone here argued with you about the cancellation of the X800XT's preorder hehe

keep up reading Jackup's journal for more useful info about the 6800U & wait for the WHQL drivers which is coming soon hopefully .. so we can get an idea about the NV40's true performance

& dont think i'm happy reading all these threads cuz i'm dying to get my 6800U as soon as it hit the market where i live & start my own benchmarking session for the summer & replay many games i couldent enjoy @1600x1200 .
I doubt many will argue with him his among friends in here
piranha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-04, 01:53 AM   #348
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: My 6800 Ultra

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
I just did this really quick.. gonna hit the haystack, I will do some more testing tommorrow:

4xaa/8xaf.. 1280x1024 factory level on FarCry.. I didn't set god mode, but I will tommorrow:

2004-06-06 23:11:25 - FarCry
Frames: 1168 - Time: 25921ms - Avg: 45.060 - Min: 30 - Max: 64

This is where I was running around
I went back and looked at my CFG file, I had 6xAA and 8xAF on, no wonder. I can actually play it at 1200x1600 with 4xAA/8xAF in the factory level. Dopey old me. Good numbers!

EDIT This is 1280x1024, 4xAA/8xAF(this time ) my CPU at 3.2 and the card at 520/1120. I will do a more detailed runs later as well:

This one I started at the bridge:
2004-06-07 15:25:26 - FarCry
Frames: 24185 - Time: 405391ms - Avg: 59.658 - Min: 26 - Max: 137

This one only after I entered the first large room and exited the elevator. Facing the elevator rear wall causes an inflated max FPS score, so I re ran it as stated:
2004-06-07 15:48:29 - FarCry
Frames: 15982 - Time: 268532ms - Avg: 59.516 - Min: 31 - Max: 115

The idea in all of this is massive aggro, much gun fire, the vast rooms and many shadows with some dynamic lights.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64

Last edited by Blacklash; 06-07-04 at 03:00 AM.
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.