Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-11-04, 07:36 AM   #517
Skinner
Registered User
 
Skinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,128
Default Re: My 6800 Ultra

Guys with a 6800 or X800, can you do some AMP2 techdemo testing with fraps:



http://www.4drulers.com/ftp/sssb_sdk.zip
__________________
*Intel i7@3,8gHz*Asus P6T Deluxe* 2x Sapphire HD7970 3GB Crossfire *6 GB Corsair Dominator 1600C8*OCZ Vertex 120 GB SSD*adaptec 19160U160*Intel X25 80 GB Quantum Atlas 15KII SCSI U160 147Gig* WD Raptor 300 GB*Apple 24" LED Cinema *X-Fi Titanium*Logitech Z5500*Coolmaster RP 1000W*W7 64 Home *
Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-04, 07:40 AM   #518
MUYA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,795
Send a message via MSN to MUYA
Default Re: My 6800 Ultra

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowdog
I thought AA and AF had to be set in game in FC and couldn't be set in the driver control panel.

No they can. AA can be set thru CP or in game but AF optimization apparently can be forced off thru use of in game anisotropic filtering controls IIRC on ATI cards. NV cp allows you to disable brilinear. correct me if i am wrong ppl pls.
__________________
I5-2500k@4.7GHz - MSI Z77A-GD65 - 4GB X2 A-DATA DDR3 1600 - Corsair H100 - Antec Quatro 850W
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 680 OC - Dell 24" IPS
Intel 320 300 GB SSD - 1 TB Hitachi HDD - 2x 250 GB WD HDD
Corsair K90 - Corsair Venegance 2000 Headset - Razer Naga Epic
Corsair 600T Case
MUYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-04, 07:42 AM   #519
Iuris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 7
Default Re: My 6800 Ultra

I'm THIS close to deciding on whether to buy the 6800 or an X800. This magnificent topic has dispelled most doubts, but I'd like to ask for one more bit of help...

Some ATI fanboys keep posting a pic-to-pic comparison that indicates problems with the GF 6800. It's a pic of a beach, probably near the boathouse, since there is a wooden construction reaching out into the sea, and it includes some deeper water with seaweed growing on the bottom beneath the wooden construction.

The pic has several problems, especially the deeper water around the seaweed is rendered, well, crudely. Huge blobs, squarish in nature,...

Would you please be so kind so as to check it out? Maybe even a screenshot? All the other water screenshots don't really focus on the seabed, but the water surface...
Iuris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-04, 08:32 AM   #520
Shamrock
Royalty gone awry
 
Shamrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,612
Default Re: My 6800 Ultra

please no more screenshots! some of us still use 56k, and it takes like 8-9 MINUTES just to load a page of posts! I'd prefer you post links
__________________
They're after me Lucky Charms!

AMD Phenom II 955BE
16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1333Mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7850
Logitech Z-5300 5.1 THX surround sound
HANNS-G 28" LCD
ZBoard Merc Gaming Keyboard
CoolerMaster HAF-932 Full Tower Case
Windows 7 Pro x64
Shamrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-04, 08:40 AM   #521
lightman
Registered User
 
lightman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,026
Send a message via ICQ to lightman
Default Re: My 6800 Ultra

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iuris
I'm THIS close to deciding on whether to buy the 6800 or an X800. This magnificent topic has dispelled most doubts, but I'd like to ask for one more bit of help...

Some ATI fanboys keep posting a pic-to-pic comparison that indicates problems with the GF 6800. It's a pic of a beach, probably near the boathouse, since there is a wooden construction reaching out into the sea, and it includes some deeper water with seaweed growing on the bottom beneath the wooden construction.

The pic has several problems, especially the deeper water around the seaweed is rendered, well, crudely. Huge blobs, squarish in nature,...
Being you, I wouldn't decide which card to buy based only on one game that is known to have problems with the nv40.

You (and everyone judgeing the nv40 on FC) should consider the following facts :
  • there are still no WHQL certified nv40 drivers from nVidia, and thus it's highly probable that the current drivers still have a number of bugs (affecting both performance and quality, at least in FC),
  • FC is the only game in which nv40 shows such problems, or at least is the one where you can clearly see these problems,
  • CryTek (supposedly) has an upcoming patch enabling sm3.0 and solving most of the problem with the nv40,
  • Almost every other game has no problems with the nv40, both from a performance pov and a quality one.

Now, it is quite clear that most of these problems come from the CryEngine more than anything else. Or at least its interaction with the current forceware drivers.

Thus, unless the only game you play is FC, I'd skip FC from the bunch of games on which to decide on the buy. That said, I never known anyone playing only one game, and buying a card (and a system) only for one game is, imho, crazy.

Moreover, from what jackUp showed us, it seems like the nv40 with the forced r300 path works quite great. And this fact alone tells a lot about the current status of the CryEngine/forceware drivers pair.

In the end, don't put too much weight on the FC performance/quality, mainly because it's higly likely for the situation to radically change in the upcoming weeks/months, as the drivers become more mature and CryTek releases the sm3.0/nv40 patch.

Just my 2c.
lightman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-04, 11:05 AM   #522
skulls_skulls
Registered User
 
skulls_skulls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 47
Default Re: My 6800 Ultra

great post lightman , im totally agree,
__________________
athlon fx-53
asus sk8v
aerocool aeropower II 550w
2 gb corsair twinx LL ecc 3200
dual wd raptor 148 gb raid 0
maxtor diamondmax 9 250gb sata 150
Pov 6800 Ultra (425/1100)
audigy2 ZS
logitech dinovo
skulls_skulls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-04, 11:11 AM   #523
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: My 6800 Ultra

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iuris
I'm THIS close to deciding on whether to buy the 6800 or an X800. This magnificent topic has dispelled most doubts, but I'd like to ask for one more bit of help...

Some ATI fanboys keep posting a pic-to-pic comparison that indicates problems with the GF 6800. It's a pic of a beach, probably near the boathouse, since there is a wooden construction reaching out into the sea, and it includes some deeper water with seaweed growing on the bottom beneath the wooden construction.

The pic has several problems, especially the deeper water around the seaweed is rendered, well, crudely. Huge blobs, squarish in nature,...

Would you please be so kind so as to check it out? Maybe even a screenshot? All the other water screenshots don't really focus on the seabed, but the water surface... 99% of the scene is great though
Yes.. when the 6800 is running in R300 mode... (not sure about standard NV30 codepath) The seaweed is pretty screwed up... they are huge squares... likley just a bug.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-04, 04:24 AM   #524
Nandro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Disney World!
Posts: 223
Send a message via ICQ to Nandro Send a message via MSN to Nandro
Default Re: My 6800 Ultra

I cant wait for this bad boy to be available somewhere. I just got someone to buy my 9800XT. Thanks jAkUp.
Nandro is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-12-04, 06:13 AM   #525
SlamDunk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 497
Default Re: My 6800 Ultra

Has this been posted yet? Someone posted Far Cry pics that show HDR and VDM enabled. He's using a GF 6800 Ultra, or that's what his "My PC Specs" are showing...

X800 Game Screenshots!

Last edited by SlamDunk; 06-12-04 at 07:41 AM.
SlamDunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-04, 08:35 AM   #526
rudedog
Not so Rude
 
rudedog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,500
Default Re: My 6800 Ultra

Hey Jackup great info, Just got my eVGA 6800U EE installed and having lots of problems with BF-V. Do you have this game or have you tried it?

I have used 60.85, 61.40 and 61.12 all weird terrain problems with every video setting.

Nothing overclocked

P4 3.2 EE
6800 U EE
2 gigs ram
raptor 10K 74gig SATA drive

Good scores in 3DMark and aquamark but BFV looks terrible. UT2004 runs great.
__________________
Not so Rude, Rudedog FPSadmin.com | twitter | Microsoft MVP 2009-2012 - Games for Windows
Main Box:Intel QX6850|Asus Formula Maximus|4GB(1GBx4) @ 1066|Evga 285GTX - 182.05|150Gig Raptor SATA|2x WD 250Gb SATA|2x Lite-on 1673S DVDRW-all|Pioneer
BDR-202|X-Fi Fatal1ty 2.07.0004|Logitec G7-setpoint 3.1.116|Ergodex DX1-firmware 1.1-driver1.3|Dell UltraSharp 2405FPW 24" LCD|PCPower and Cooling TurboCool 1000 SLI|Windows 7 Ultimate|Klipsch THX 5.1
Imac: Snow Leopard|27" screen|i7 2.93|12 GB|ATI HD 5750 1G|WD 1T SATA|2xWD 2T firewire 800|Sharing Dell 24"
Laptop: MBP|2.16|2GB ram|160drive
Laptop 2: MBP Unibody|2.66|4GB ram|320drive
Camera: D700 + MB-D10 + EN-EL3e + GP1|Nikon14-24 f2.8|nikon24-70 f2.8|nikon70-200 f2.8|nikon 50 f1.4|Sigma 150-500
Car: 2010 Dodge Challenger R/T Classic Plum Crazy Purl|6 Speed|Power roof|Super Track Pack|20" classic rims|Functional ram air hood
rudedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-04, 10:11 AM   #527
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: My 6800 Ultra

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlamDunk
Has this been posted yet? Someone posted Far Cry pics that show HDR and VDM enabled. He's using a GF 6800 Ultra, or that's what his "My PC Specs" are showing...

X800 Game Screenshots!
man these shots looks so sweet!
Patch 1.3 gonna be awesome
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-04, 10:20 AM   #528
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,993
Default Re: My 6800 Ultra

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlamDunk
Has this been posted yet? Someone posted Far Cry pics that show HDR and VDM enabled. He's using a GF 6800 Ultra, or that's what his "My PC Specs" are showing...

X800 Game Screenshots!
Yes, it appears as if he is using a GF 6800 Ultra according to this comment in that thread.
Quote:
But all I can say is wow... Looks quite a bit more advanced than the X800's.
Of course, there's also this comment so *shrug* at this point.
Quote:
There will be no difference in graphics between the X800's and the GeForce card once the patch comes out - simply because the effects can already be done on 9700/9800 cards, never mind the X800 series.
I find that comment to be a bit misleading. Sure, the 9700/9800 series can likely do those effects...but at what price being that it will be w/ PS2.0 and not 3.0? There could be a substantial efficiency/speed issue. Looks like we'll start finding out soon.
Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.