Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-20-04, 03:55 AM   #85
Skrot
The 5900XT that could.
 
Skrot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 402
Send a message via ICQ to Skrot
Default Re: Coolbits 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by rewt
Ahhh, sounds like you have an ASUS card? ASUS cards have 1 mode only, in which it runs 3d speeds all the time. There is no fluctuation between 2d/3d. I personally like this concept, which is why I "Force constant performance level = 3D" on my BFG card with RivaTuner.
Can you direct me to the whereabouts of this option? I should like to enable it.

I have a Leadtek 5900XT if it matters.

Cheers
Skrot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-04, 08:16 AM   #86
rewt
mmm, Beer.. :drooling:
 
rewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,667
Lightbulb Re: Coolbits 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skrot
Can you direct me to the whereabouts of this option? I should like to enable it.

I have a Leadtek 5900XT if it matters.

Cheers
1. Open Rivatuner 2.0 RC 15
2. Click "Power User" tab at the top. You will get a Warning! prompt, click OK
3. Scroll down to 'RivaTuner 2.0 RC 15 \ NVIDIA\ Overclocking' click the + sign beside it
4. Set 'DisableInternalClockTest', 'EnableLowPower3DControl', and 'EnablePerfLevelForcing' each to the value of '1'.
5. Look up top, go back to the "Main" tab
6. Underneath where it says 'Driver Settings', click 'Customize' arrow
7. Click on the small picture of the VGA adaptor ("System settings" tooltip).
8. On the "Overclocking" tab, choose "Force Constant Performance Level" and set to "Performance 3D".
9. Click Apply and then OK
10. It will ask you to reboot. Do so and you will now have constant 3D clocks upon Windows startup.

*Note - The card will run slightly higher temps at idle (approx 5 degrees depending on cooling), because its frequencies and voltages have increased. You DO NOT have to check the "Enable Overclocking" box for this feature to work. Although you can set 3D clocks to whatever you wish, then set constant performance level to 3D and it will force those overclock settings at startup. Just be sure the card isn't getting too hot RT has a thermal monitoring system in which you can check the speeds, voltages, temperatures, etc.
__________________
My pimp'n rig
Athlon64 Venice 3000+ @ 2.6GHz (4100+) · Win XP Pro x86, Vista Ultimate x64 · eVGA K8-NF41 nForce4 SLi · Corsair XMS 1.5GB PC3200 CAS2/1T · eVGA 2x 6600GT SLi · Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP Deluxe · Western Digital Caviar SE ½TB RAID 0/1 · PowerLink LPK2-30 400W · LiteON LDW-411S OC to 811S 8x DVD±R/RW/ROM · MicroAdvantage 64MB QuickiDrive · Samsung SyncMaster 931B 19" LCD · Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB · Sony PSXtoUSB Analog Gamepads · Memorex MX2700 Multimedia Keyboard · Lexmark 3200 Color Jetprinter · nForce Network Controller 1Gb/s LAN (Cable ~3Mb/s down) · ΩPioneer Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound

Last edited by rewt; 07-20-04 at 08:36 AM.
rewt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-04, 08:34 AM   #87
Skrot
The 5900XT that could.
 
Skrot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 402
Send a message via ICQ to Skrot
Default Re: Coolbits 2

Ah, brilliant. Thanks much Rewt
Skrot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-04, 02:51 AM   #88
Sandman187
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 26
Default Re: Coolbits 2

Hey, I have been having artifacts in Q3, RTCW and Warcraft 3. Finally fixed Q3 and RTCW today by turning off GL-Extensions in game. But still can't figure out how to remove them from Warcraft 3. Farcry, UT2004 and Halo all play perfectly so it's not the card. I was wondering whether turning on Extension Limit in the driver setting's under Advanced would fix this problem ?? Only thing is, it's set to OFF and grayed out so I can't turn it on, anyone here know how to ?? (I asked here cause the Coolbits guy seems to know his sh*t).
Sandman187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-04, 06:33 AM   #89
SoylentGreen
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8
Default Re: Coolbits 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by rent
After applying coolbits2, it said that the card did support Fastwrites. However, the card is unstable after testing with the 61.71s and 62.01s. Even at stock speeds it hard locks my system. Now I have the BFG back in my box and it runs stably, overclocks without complaining and scores just about the same (+/- 50 points or so), but does NOT show fastwrites being enabled.

I have read many warnings indicating that enabling 'fast writes' makes a system unstable. This may be a 'fast write' issue and not a problem with your card.

Last edited by SoylentGreen; 07-29-04 at 06:38 AM. Reason: spelling
SoylentGreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-04, 11:50 AM   #90
protocol7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1
Default Re: Coolbits 2

So.. I went ahead and used Coolbits 2 to check the OC'ing ability of my BFG 6800GT, and now, no matter what I do, no matter how many times I click apply and uncheck the box to use the setting at startup, my card will ALWAYS be at 400/1000 when I start my computer, I have to manually un-overclock it everytime I boot up..

61.76 drivers.

Any ideas that might help..?
protocol7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-04, 04:25 PM   #91
rewt
mmm, Beer.. :drooling:
 
rewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,667
Default Re: Coolbits 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandman187
Hey, I have been having artifacts in Q3, RTCW and Warcraft 3. Finally fixed Q3 and RTCW today by turning off GL-Extensions in game. But still can't figure out how to remove them from Warcraft 3. Farcry, UT2004 and Halo all play perfectly so it's not the card. I was wondering whether turning on Extension Limit in the driver setting's under Advanced would fix this problem ?? Only thing is, it's set to OFF and grayed out so I can't turn it on, anyone here know how to ?? (I asked here cause the Coolbits guy seems to know his sh*t).
The Extension Limit setting was created because of a crashing issue in Medal of Honor. As far as I know the setting can only be manipulated by the driver itself, and not manually. Maybe if you further explain your problems with Warcraft and/or post screenshots of the artifacts I could be of further help.
__________________
My pimp'n rig
Athlon64 Venice 3000+ @ 2.6GHz (4100+) · Win XP Pro x86, Vista Ultimate x64 · eVGA K8-NF41 nForce4 SLi · Corsair XMS 1.5GB PC3200 CAS2/1T · eVGA 2x 6600GT SLi · Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP Deluxe · Western Digital Caviar SE ½TB RAID 0/1 · PowerLink LPK2-30 400W · LiteON LDW-411S OC to 811S 8x DVD±R/RW/ROM · MicroAdvantage 64MB QuickiDrive · Samsung SyncMaster 931B 19" LCD · Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB · Sony PSXtoUSB Analog Gamepads · Memorex MX2700 Multimedia Keyboard · Lexmark 3200 Color Jetprinter · nForce Network Controller 1Gb/s LAN (Cable ~3Mb/s down) · ΩPioneer Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
rewt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-04, 04:29 PM   #92
rewt
mmm, Beer.. :drooling:
 
rewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,667
Lightbulb Re: Coolbits 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by protocol7
So.. I went ahead and used Coolbits 2 to check the OC'ing ability of my BFG 6800GT, and now, no matter what I do, no matter how many times I click apply and uncheck the box to use the setting at startup, my card will ALWAYS be at 400/1000 when I start my computer, I have to manually un-overclock it everytime I boot up..

61.76 drivers.

Any ideas that might help..?
Ever since 6 series drivers, I have found it best to overclock 2d/3d using RivaTuner 2.0 RC 15. I think you will find it quite handy too
__________________
My pimp'n rig
Athlon64 Venice 3000+ @ 2.6GHz (4100+) · Win XP Pro x86, Vista Ultimate x64 · eVGA K8-NF41 nForce4 SLi · Corsair XMS 1.5GB PC3200 CAS2/1T · eVGA 2x 6600GT SLi · Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP Deluxe · Western Digital Caviar SE ½TB RAID 0/1 · PowerLink LPK2-30 400W · LiteON LDW-411S OC to 811S 8x DVD±R/RW/ROM · MicroAdvantage 64MB QuickiDrive · Samsung SyncMaster 931B 19" LCD · Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB · Sony PSXtoUSB Analog Gamepads · Memorex MX2700 Multimedia Keyboard · Lexmark 3200 Color Jetprinter · nForce Network Controller 1Gb/s LAN (Cable ~3Mb/s down) · ΩPioneer Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
rewt is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-29-04, 11:45 PM   #93
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Coolbits 2

Q3 plays awesome for me. I have RTCW, so I will install it and see how it plays. I don't think it's Coolbits 2 that is your problem, Sandman.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-04, 12:54 AM   #94
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Coolbits 2

My clockspeeds always seem to stay.. dunno why mine are and most peoples aren't.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-04, 03:43 AM   #95
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Coolbits 2

My memory clock frequency doesn't always stay at the oc'd speed after rebooting, but sometimes it does. I dunno.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-04, 10:15 AM   #96
tr7man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1
Default Re: Coolbits 2 works with new nVidia driver 61.77

Good news. Coolbits 2 works with the newest nVidia driver 61.77 where as the original Coolbits does not. Awesome app.
tr7man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coolbits on, but missing "Clock Frequencies" tab with 560 Ti jkohen NVIDIA Linux 3 06-24-12 05:18 AM
Official Detonator 40.xx Feedback Thread pelly NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 299 09-22-02 06:54 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.