Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 10-17-02, 05:18 PM   #1
darkchiild

Default X crashes, no errors.

Problem:

After running startx, the screen goes black for about 30 seconds, then a red ansi block appears in the upper left hand corner. After that it's a hard crash. Can't do anything but reboot.

Installation:

I used the tar files to install

NVIDIA_GLX-1.0-3123.tar.gz and
NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-3123.tar.gz

Everything seemed to install successfully, the kernel module loaded properly, etc.

I edited the XF86Config file as specified in the docs, and even played with things a little to no avail (changing resolution, depths, etc).

Errors:

The don't appear to be an error or warning messages in the X log file. I tried using the -logverbose option specified in the docs eg:

XFree86 -logverbose

Not sure if that's what's supposed to do it or not, I'm still fairly new to linux. In any event, it just seems to stop processing half way through. No errors or anything.

Hardware:

Athlon 1800XP
Asus A7V w/ Ali Chipset rev 1006
RH8.0 knl ver: 2.4.18-14
XFree v 2.2 Gnome

BTW, I tried setting the AGP 'fast write' (turbo doesn't exist) in the BIOS to off already. Didn't do the trick.

I'm at a dead end. I've tried everything i can think of I read through the docs, and there doesn't seem to be anything else that applies to me. I scanned the newsgroups, and nothing there... So here I am. Any help anybody can throw my way would be greatly appreciated.

Going to attach X logs.
Attached Files
File Type: txt xfree86.0.log.txt (20.6 KB, 123 views)
Old 10-17-02, 07:23 PM   #2
bwkaz

According to your log, you aren't loading glx. I don't know if it will help with this problem, but you might try it.