Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-17-02, 07:45 PM   #1
Needa916
Hugh Jorgen
 
Needa916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 43
Default Media Player crash

After SP1 on XP, everything works perfect, except Media Player. Everytime I open an mpeg or avi or any other Windows media (other than audio), the screen drops to 8-bit color, and I get a message: "windows has recovered from a serious application failure, please save your work and restart Windows".

This has happened each time I have installed XP, and upgraded to SP1. Anyone else have this problem?

Also, I wouldn't mind alternitive media players, except no matter how many times I do the file associations with the new player, Windows Media player keeps associating the files back to itself.

What has changed since it worked has been my motherboard. I got a new mobo (and fresh XP install), and since then Media player won't work.
__________________
XP 2600+
Epox 8RDA+
Audigy 2
ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
XP Home
512MB x 2 Crucial 2700

2002 GSX-R 750
Needa916 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-02, 07:55 PM   #2
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

just don't load up wmp anymore, as long as you don't load it up, and remove it from your startup, the file associations shouldn't revert back to wmp. for an all around player, check out winamp3.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-02, 08:51 PM   #3
Matthyahuw
Registered User
 
Matthyahuw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 919
Send a message via ICQ to Matthyahuw Send a message via AIM to Matthyahuw Send a message via Yahoo to Matthyahuw
Default

I've been having similar issues sine I went with WMP9 and SP1...WMP crashes all the time on vids (not sound), and I have other crashes outside of WMP since SP1...gonna reformat soon and kill SP1...
__________________
Shalom!
Matthyahuw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-02, 09:19 PM   #4
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

there is a new wmp beta going around, newer than the sp1 one, give it a try. check out betanews.com
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-02, 11:19 PM   #5
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Default

I downloaded it but for some reason I couldn't "fast forward" on video clips.
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-02, 11:22 PM   #6
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

dats weird, do you mean divx files? when u fast forward with those you gotta give it like five seconds.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-02, 11:24 PM   #7
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Default

Nah, I mean the slider was stuck in the begining. It did not move at all and whenever I tried to click on it it restarted the clip. With DiVX files I never had delay but I just couldn't FF with that beta.
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-02, 11:32 PM   #8
Cereal-Killer
Posts: 4159
 
Cereal-Killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by |TX|-LORD-EX-BU
Nah, I mean the slider was stuck in the begining. It did not move at all and whenever I tried to click on it it restarted the clip. With DiVX files I never had delay but I just couldn't FF with that beta.
I have the same problem with WMP9 (v2799). I hope they get that fixed soon.
Cereal-Killer is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-17-02, 11:58 PM   #9
netviper13
Treehugger
 
netviper13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 942
Default

I had that problem when I was running WMP9. The only way to fix it that I know of other than uninstalling is to stop the clip after the first time you play it, then play it again.

In other words, launch the file, let it play for like 5 seconds, stop it, and then play it again. Worked for me at least.
netviper13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-02, 12:17 AM   #10
Cereal-Killer
Posts: 4159
 
Cereal-Killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by netviper13
In other words, launch the file, let it play for like 5 seconds, stop it, and then play it again. Worked for me at least.
Hey, works for me too! Thanks
Cereal-Killer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-02, 12:20 AM   #11
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Talking

I just uninstalled it and put it back on. Works fine now. I probably had the virus scanner going when I installed it.
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-02, 01:03 AM   #12
Needa916
Hugh Jorgen
 
Needa916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 43
Default

It was the Movie Maker update on Windows Update that was crashing my *feces, excrement, crap*.

I re-loaded XP agian (since I messed up a bunch of things trying to get UT2003 to run smoothly), and just installed all the critical updates including SP1, no more lockups.

Ya WMP9 Beta won't let me fast forward or do anything, so I didn't load it this time. Is it really that much better than the one that came with XP? Also, how to enable DVD playback in media player?

Edit, I didn't know they blocked certain words.
__________________
XP 2600+
Epox 8RDA+
Audigy 2
ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
XP Home
512MB x 2 Crucial 2700

2002 GSX-R 750
Needa916 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$292.49 - JVC EXAD KD-AVX77 Media Player - DVD/CD/AM-FM/LCD Monitor News Newegg Daily Deals 0 12-13-12 02:00 AM
$13.99 - DIAMOND HD Media Wonder Mini Media Player MP700 News Newegg Daily Deals 0 11-27-12 11:30 AM
First Impressions From Himedia HD900A 3D Multimedia Player News Archived News Items 0 11-01-12 12:50 PM
VLC Media Player 2.0.2 (64-bit) News Archived News Items 0 08-29-12 11:10 AM
ArcSoft Total Media Theatre 5 Software Blu-ray 3D Player Promo News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 06:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.