Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-08-04, 02:17 PM   #1
Jarred
OUTCAST
 
Jarred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: south cali
Posts: 1,033
Default hmmm.. 3800 or FX?

been looking at the benches on the two, their pretty close to the same, and there also close in price....

arrg! which one!? I think i'm gonna flip a coin...
__________________
3d Artist
http://www.industryoutcast.com

"I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones."
Albert Einstein
Jarred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-04, 03:52 PM   #2
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: hmmm.. 3800 or FX?

A 3800 is cheaper
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-04, 04:50 PM   #3
Jarred
OUTCAST
 
Jarred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: south cali
Posts: 1,033
Default Re: hmmm.. 3800 or FX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
A 3800 is cheaper

yeah but not buy that much, I mean really, when I'm spending 700bucks for a proc I can care less about an extra 50 or so....

but whats the REAL diff between the two? their both so close in performance, and price.
__________________
3d Artist
http://www.industryoutcast.com

"I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones."
Albert Einstein
Jarred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-04, 07:11 PM   #4
GlowStick
CoD4!
 
GlowStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,786
Send a message via AIM to GlowStick
Default Re: hmmm.. 3800 or FX?

FX-53 defiantly. Multiplyer unlocked. : )
__________________
Intel i7-2600K, Corsair 8Gig, Corsair H100, Corsair 650D, Corsair HX750, ATi 6970, WD Caviar Black 2TB
Sony Vaio SB: i7, 8Gig, Intel 320 300gig
GlowStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-04, 07:34 PM   #5
Jarred
OUTCAST
 
Jarred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: south cali
Posts: 1,033
Default Re: hmmm.. 3800 or FX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GlowStick
FX-53 defiantly. Multiplyer unlocked. : )
huh?

their both 64bit right? ....
__________________
3d Artist
http://www.industryoutcast.com

"I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones."
Albert Einstein
Jarred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-04, 07:38 PM   #6
GlowStick
CoD4!
 
GlowStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,786
Send a message via AIM to GlowStick
Default Re: hmmm.. 3800 or FX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarred
huh?

their both 64bit right? ....
yes, that has nothing to do with it.

The mutiplyer determines what clock speed the CPU is going to run at. the FX series allows you to change it.

Basicly, your CPU speed is determined by this <multiplyer> X Front Side Bus

So the FX-53 is a 12 x 200 = 2400mhz eg 2.4ghz

Now, you can change the multiplyer to lets say 13 and you can get 13 x 200 = 2600mhz or 2.6ghz.

THen again, no one can gaurentee the OC will work so its a gamble for sure : \
__________________
Intel i7-2600K, Corsair 8Gig, Corsair H100, Corsair 650D, Corsair HX750, ATi 6970, WD Caviar Black 2TB
Sony Vaio SB: i7, 8Gig, Intel 320 300gig
GlowStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-04, 08:11 PM   #7
MUYA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,794
Send a message via MSN to MUYA
Default Re: hmmm.. 3800 or FX?

what GS is saying that Jarred, you can overclock better thru use of unlocked multiplier in the FX. So you don't have to push the fsb too much as the on-die memory controller on the K8s are a bit suspect wrt to overcloking the fsb. At xtreme org many ppl have made keychains of athlon64s by aggresively overclocking the fsb beyond specs.

BTW FX53 has 1 MB l2 cache and the athlon64 3800+ only has 512KB..but the difference is not felt that much in most gaming situations.
__________________
I5-2500k@4.7GHz - MSI Z77A-GD65 - 4GB X2 A-DATA DDR3 1600 - Corsair H100 - Antec Quatro 850W
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 680 OC - Dell 24" IPS
Intel 320 300 GB SSD - 1 TB Hitachi HDD - 2x 250 GB WD HDD
Corsair K90 - Corsair Venegance 2000 Headset - Razer Naga Epic
Corsair 600T Case
MUYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-04, 08:13 PM   #8
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default Re: hmmm.. 3800 or FX?

Well the only thing I don't like about the FX besides the high price, is that you need to use ECC registered memory which is also very expensive. A regular Athlon64 will take any kind of DDR memory you throw at it
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-08-04, 08:16 PM   #9
Jarred
OUTCAST
 
Jarred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: south cali
Posts: 1,033
Default Re: hmmm.. 3800 or FX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gator
Well the only thing I don't like about the FX besides the high price, is that you need to use ECC registered memory which is also very expensive. A regular Athlon64 will take any kind of DDR memory you throw at it
aH! ok, these are the answers I'm looking for Thanx a bunch guys, I think I'll go with the new 3800 /939/ with ddr 400? (do'nt think I'll be doing any overclocking) will it take anything higher than 400?
__________________
3d Artist
http://www.industryoutcast.com

"I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones."
Albert Einstein
Jarred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-04, 08:19 PM   #10
MUYA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,794
Send a message via MSN to MUYA
Default Re: hmmm.. 3800 or FX?

I suggest not overclocking unless u know everything u are doing and with a good watercooling setup as your minmum form of cooling. Otherwise it's going to be an expensive key chain
__________________
I5-2500k@4.7GHz - MSI Z77A-GD65 - 4GB X2 A-DATA DDR3 1600 - Corsair H100 - Antec Quatro 850W
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 680 OC - Dell 24" IPS
Intel 320 300 GB SSD - 1 TB Hitachi HDD - 2x 250 GB WD HDD
Corsair K90 - Corsair Venegance 2000 Headset - Razer Naga Epic
Corsair 600T Case
MUYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-04, 08:56 PM   #11
Jarred
OUTCAST
 
Jarred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: south cali
Posts: 1,033
Default Re: hmmm.. 3800 or FX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MUYA
I suggest not overclocking unless u know everything u are doing and with a good watercooling setup as your minmum form of cooling. Otherwise it's going to be an expensive key chain
LOL, yeah, I'm not to much nito tweaking my hardware, I can see how some people can enjoy doing it but I'm the type of person who just likes to buy the good **** and leave it alone, not have to invest more time into it.
__________________
3d Artist
http://www.industryoutcast.com

"I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones."
Albert Einstein
Jarred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-04, 02:33 AM   #12
Viral
Registered User of Women
 
Viral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: hmmm.. 3800 or FX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gator
Well the only thing I don't like about the FX besides the high price, is that you need to use ECC registered memory which is also very expensive. A regular Athlon64 will take any kind of DDR memory you throw at it
No, the S939 FX-53 DOES NOT require registered memory. It uses the same memory as the 3800+ will.

Get the FX. For $50 more you get unlocked multipliers and more cache (higher IPC). At that price $50 isn't much.. if they were cheaper or if it was $100 difference then it would be different.

Also, the FX-53 will have a better resale value if that means anything to you
__________________
Q9550 w/ Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme | 4GB Team Xtreme Dark 800MHz CL4 | Gigabyte X48-DS5
ASUS Radeon 5870 | 240GB OCZ Vertex 2 | 1TB WD Green Power | BenQ V2400W 24" LCD
Corsair HX-1000w | LG GGW-H20L 6x DL Blu-Ray Burner/HD-DVD Reader | Coolermaster Cosmos S

Acer TravelMate 4002WNLCi: Pentium M 725 @ 1.6GHz | Mobility Radeon 9700/64MB | 2GB DDR400 | 15.4" WXGA
Viral is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hmmm: The Old Republic 'Looking At' Free-To-Play News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Hmmm: Pass Some Time With Passengers News Archived News Items 0 05-11-12 05:40 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.