Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-12-04, 11:51 AM   #25
PaiN
Don't make me MAD!
 
PaiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 2,111
Default Re: I took the plung, bought amd-fx-53

Glow, I was thinking...."This sounds like a RAM issue" as I was reading your tail of wowes.
GL with the rest of the tweaking......
__________________
Core i5 2500K @ 4.2ghz | EVGA Superclock M020 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 8gb G.Skill Ripjaws X PC1600 | EVGA GTX760SC | SB X-Fi Xtremegamer | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610w PSU | (2) WD Black 640gb in RAID"0" | MSI SATA DVD-RW | Saitek Eclipse kb | Logi G5v2 mouse / Steelseries QcK | Antec P182 "Gunmetal" | Logitech 5300a THX 5.1 speakers | ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD
-Windows7 64bit
PaiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-04, 12:32 PM   #26
GlowStick
CoD4!
 
GlowStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,786
Send a message via AIM to GlowStick
Default Re: I took the plung, bought amd-fx-53

My big headache, is the ram is weather to rma the ram, or if its normal and that low latency just isnt comptaible with my system.

Also could someone be tell me exactly name of the latencys eg when they say 2-2-2-5 what numbers corrospond with wihat timing?
__________________
Intel i7-2600K, Corsair 8Gig, Corsair H100, Corsair 650D, Corsair HX750, ATi 6970, WD Caviar Black 2TB
Sony Vaio SB: i7, 8Gig, Intel 320 300gig
GlowStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-04, 12:54 PM   #27
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: I took the plung, bought amd-fx-53

the numbers are basically tCL - TRCD - TRAS - TRP

RAS - Row Address Strobe or Row Address Select.
CAS - Column Address Strobe or Column Address Select.
tRAS - Active to precharge delay. This is the delay between the precharge and activation of a row.
tRCD - RAS to CAS Delay. The time required between RAS and CAS access.
tCL - (or CL) CAS Latency.
tRP - RAS Precharge. The time required to switch from one row to the next row, i.e. switch internal memory banks.
tCLK - CLocK. The length of a clock cycle.
Command Rate - This is the delay between Chip Select (CS) or when a IC is selected and the time commands can be issued to the IC.
Latency - The time between when a request is made and the request is answered. I.E, if you are in a restaurant, the latency would be the time between when you ordered your meal to the time you received it. Therefore, in memory terms, it is the total time required before data can be written to or read from the memory.

I can run mine as I said on a standard 2-3-3-6 or 2-3-3-5 depending on mood @ the time if needed...

on a day-to-day basis i seek stability above all else so I just auto-it... the cas latency increases to 2.5 and the other numbers also go up

IIRC its something like 2.5-3-3-8 or something...
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-04, 01:10 PM   #28
GlowStick
CoD4!
 
GlowStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,786
Send a message via AIM to GlowStick
Default Re: I took the plung, bought amd-fx-53

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar
the numbers are basically tCL - TRCD - TRAS - TRP

RAS - Row Address Strobe or Row Address Select.
CAS - Column Address Strobe or Column Address Select.
tRAS - Active to precharge delay. This is the delay between the precharge and activation of a row.
tRCD - RAS to CAS Delay. The time required between RAS and CAS access.
tCL - (or CL) CAS Latency.
tRP - RAS Precharge. The time required to switch from one row to the next row, i.e. switch internal memory banks.
tCLK - CLocK. The length of a clock cycle.
Command Rate - This is the delay between Chip Select (CS) or when a IC is selected and the time commands can be issued to the IC.
Latency - The time between when a request is made and the request is answered. I.E, if you are in a restaurant, the latency would be the time between when you ordered your meal to the time you received it. Therefore, in memory terms, it is the total time required before data can be written to or read from the memory.

I can run mine as I said on a standard 2-3-3-6 or 2-3-3-5 depending on mood @ the time if needed...

on a day-to-day basis i seek stability above all else so I just auto-it... the cas latency increases to 2.5 and the other numbers also go up

IIRC its something like 2.5-3-3-8 or something...
Sweet thanks for that! Hehe, if i auto it its set at 2-2-2-5 witch my system dosnet like.

i gotta print that out and do some testing, thx a ton again!
__________________
Intel i7-2600K, Corsair 8Gig, Corsair H100, Corsair 650D, Corsair HX750, ATi 6970, WD Caviar Black 2TB
Sony Vaio SB: i7, 8Gig, Intel 320 300gig
GlowStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-04, 03:01 PM   #29
GlowStick
CoD4!
 
GlowStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,786
Send a message via AIM to GlowStick
Default Re: I took the plung, bought amd-fx-53

Wow, its working at the 'Plug and Frag' speeds pritty stable, i dont know why i didnt do it before but i upped the ram voltage and it seems to just work fine now.

I have to say, in 3dmark03 my score only goes up about 500 points, but in Unreal2004 my fps has more than dobuled! Im gonna say it could of been the ram along with the processor that is helped it out. I dont get any studder points in UT2k4 any more also. It is great!
__________________
Intel i7-2600K, Corsair 8Gig, Corsair H100, Corsair 650D, Corsair HX750, ATi 6970, WD Caviar Black 2TB
Sony Vaio SB: i7, 8Gig, Intel 320 300gig
GlowStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-04, 04:05 PM   #30
PaiN
Don't make me MAD!
 
PaiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 2,111
Default Re: I took the plung, bought amd-fx-53

That sound right since the 3Dm03 scores is very vid card dependent and UT04 is much more CPU / memory dependent.
__________________
Core i5 2500K @ 4.2ghz | EVGA Superclock M020 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 8gb G.Skill Ripjaws X PC1600 | EVGA GTX760SC | SB X-Fi Xtremegamer | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610w PSU | (2) WD Black 640gb in RAID"0" | MSI SATA DVD-RW | Saitek Eclipse kb | Logi G5v2 mouse / Steelseries QcK | Antec P182 "Gunmetal" | Logitech 5300a THX 5.1 speakers | ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD
-Windows7 64bit
PaiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-04, 04:55 PM   #31
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: I took the plung, bought amd-fx-53

yah it is possible your ram may desire more juice than the auto settings provided... didn't think about that...



3dmark03 is gpu dependent so a cpu change should not affect it much... otoh your 3dmark2001SE and other scores should go up...



congrats on your purchase...
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-04, 08:01 PM   #32
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default Re: I took the plung, bought amd-fx-53

Quote:
Originally Posted by GlowStick
...but in Unreal2004 my fps has more than dobuled! Im gonna say it could of been the ram along with the processor that is helped it out. I dont get any studder points in UT2k4 any more also. It is great!
Tell me about it, I'm almost having to re-learn how to play! Had to turn down the sensitivity on my mouse cause it ran almost too smooth. Really starting to love these A64's now, heh
__________________
primary MBP Core i5 2010 | HR | OCZ 120GB SSD
gaming Core i5-2500K @ 4.1GHz w/ CM Hyper212+ | MSI N560GTX-Ti TF II/OC | MSI P67A-GD55 | Silverstone FT02 | X360 250GB + Kinect
htpc IONITX-A-U | 2GB | M350 | XBMC Linux | SABnzbd, sickbeard, couchpotato | NAS Synology DS411J | 4TB
hometheater KURO PDP-5020 | Marantz SR6005 | Definitive BP7001s, CLR3000, BPVXPs
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-12-04, 08:31 PM   #33
GlowStick
CoD4!
 
GlowStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,786
Send a message via AIM to GlowStick
Default Re: I took the plung, bought amd-fx-53

Quote:
Originally Posted by |JuiceZ|
Tell me about it, I'm almost having to re-learn how to play! Had to turn down the sensitivity on my mouse cause it ran almost too smooth. Really starting to love these A64's now, heh
Oh yeah, for example in ONS-Torlan i would get about 30fps at 1280x1024 noaa/af now i get 80fps, so i may have to turn on some af

I do think some or maybe even alot of the gain came from my ram increase, because ut2k4 usto have huge load times and studder when i enterd, not anymore : )

And, ive wanted to say this for a while now.


The Athlon FX-53 is choise, if you have the means, i highly recomend it.
__________________
Intel i7-2600K, Corsair 8Gig, Corsair H100, Corsair 650D, Corsair HX750, ATi 6970, WD Caviar Black 2TB
Sony Vaio SB: i7, 8Gig, Intel 320 300gig
GlowStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-04, 09:29 AM   #34
PaiN
Don't make me MAD!
 
PaiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 2,111
Default Re: I took the plung, bought amd-fx-53

Quote:
The Athlon FX-53 is choise, if you have the means, i highly recomend it.
I'm dying to compair one to the EE....mono-e-mono
It'll be alittle while longer.....
__________________
Core i5 2500K @ 4.2ghz | EVGA Superclock M020 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 8gb G.Skill Ripjaws X PC1600 | EVGA GTX760SC | SB X-Fi Xtremegamer | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610w PSU | (2) WD Black 640gb in RAID"0" | MSI SATA DVD-RW | Saitek Eclipse kb | Logi G5v2 mouse / Steelseries QcK | Antec P182 "Gunmetal" | Logitech 5300a THX 5.1 speakers | ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD
-Windows7 64bit
PaiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-04, 05:06 PM   #35
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default Re: I took the plung, bought amd-fx-53

Quote:
Originally Posted by -=Gib-McFragger=-
Sweet, and to think. Your STILL 1GHz slower than me.
yea you're *virtually* 1ghz faster than me, you and your *cough* 30% slower IPC goodness
__________________
primary MBP Core i5 2010 | HR | OCZ 120GB SSD
gaming Core i5-2500K @ 4.1GHz w/ CM Hyper212+ | MSI N560GTX-Ti TF II/OC | MSI P67A-GD55 | Silverstone FT02 | X360 250GB + Kinect
htpc IONITX-A-U | 2GB | M350 | XBMC Linux | SABnzbd, sickbeard, couchpotato | NAS Synology DS411J | 4TB
hometheater KURO PDP-5020 | Marantz SR6005 | Definitive BP7001s, CLR3000, BPVXPs
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-04, 08:15 PM   #36
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: I took the plung, bought amd-fx-53

So is now a good time to bite on an s939 FX? Or should it wait a while? That ASUS is a VIA chipset and I have heard practically nothing but bad about VIA it seems.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Takes Graphics Crown with AMD Radeon HD 7970 GHz Edition (AMD) News Archived News Items 0 06-22-12 04:50 AM
AMD FX-8120 Black Edition CPU Review (with Asus M5A99X EVO) News Archived News Items 0 06-21-12 09:30 AM
AMD Gooses the Clocks on 'Bulldozer' Opterons News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 03:24 PM
AMD vs Intel druga runda CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 7 08-20-02 02:09 PM
AMD 333MHz and nForce Speculation TheTaz Rumor Mill 5 08-17-02 12:28 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.