Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-18-04, 11:01 PM   #61
Viral
Registered User of Women
 
Viral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: I took the plung, bought amd-fx-53

Stock is 1.5v, but your board may undervolt or report a lower voltage.

1.65 isn't that high, but i would set your max to 1.7v.. [H] recently overclocked a 3000+ to 2.45GHz and said it ran fine at 1.8v (it diddn't need that high a voltage) for weeks.
__________________
Q9550 w/ Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme | 4GB Team Xtreme Dark 800MHz CL4 | Gigabyte X48-DS5
ASUS Radeon 5870 | 240GB OCZ Vertex 2 | 1TB WD Green Power | BenQ V2400W 24" LCD
Corsair HX-1000w | LG GGW-H20L 6x DL Blu-Ray Burner/HD-DVD Reader | Coolermaster Cosmos S

Acer TravelMate 4002WNLCi: Pentium M 725 @ 1.6GHz | Mobility Radeon 9700/64MB | 2GB DDR400 | 15.4" WXGA
Viral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-04, 02:47 AM   #62
GlowStick
CoD4!
 
GlowStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,786
Send a message via AIM to GlowStick
Default Re: I took the plung, bought amd-fx-53

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viral
Stock is 1.5v, but your board may undervolt or report a lower voltage.

1.65 isn't that high, but i would set your max to 1.7v.. [H] recently overclocked a 3000+ to 2.45GHz and said it ran fine at 1.8v (it diddn't need that high a voltage) for weeks.
Ah great, dose anyone know what other programs i should use to test my oc more? This one seems to be a keeper! 2.6ghz woot!
__________________
Intel i7-2600K, Corsair 8Gig, Corsair H100, Corsair 650D, Corsair HX750, ATi 6970, WD Caviar Black 2TB
Sony Vaio SB: i7, 8Gig, Intel 320 300gig
GlowStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-04, 07:49 AM   #63
Woodelf
I should be gaming.
 
Woodelf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ferelden
Posts: 908
Default Re: I took the plung, bought amd-fx-53

Quote:
Originally Posted by GlowStick
Ah great, dose anyone know what other programs i should use to test my oc more? This one seems to be a keeper! 2.6ghz woot!
This is just My experience, but unless MY comp is going to be mission critical, Ill just do the sandra cpu/mulimedia test burn in overnight and a 3dMark 2001se/2003 bench. I've never been able to pass prime95 with an over clock that is 100% stable in every other applicaion I've run, (I.E. Games, DVD burning, Photoshop) blend fails right away, and small crashes after 3min. I would be wasting MHZ if I relied on prime95. I would give this method a try, and if You just keep it in the back of your mind that You did fail prime, You can under clock a little for any application (not benchmark) that would cause a crash, I havent found one though.
__________________
i7920 @ 4.0 DO - Gigabyte ud4p - g.skill trident 6x2 ddr3 2000 @1600 7.7.7.18.1 - Cogage true spirit/sythe kaze 2000 - 2x Raid "0" WD 500GB (black) - xfi fatal1ty pro - Asus 5970 900/1200 - Corsair 1000HX - Samsung px2370
Woodelf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-04, 09:42 AM   #64
PaiN
Don't make me MAD!
 
PaiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 2,111
Default Re: I took the plung, bought amd-fx-53

I would definately, try some other apps for stability / heat testing. 3dm03 is to video intensive the fully test the CPU/Mem sub-system.
Prime95 is a good one...
My favorite way to test CPU\mem is: Running 3dm01se looping demo at 640x480x32, software T & L, drivers in full performance mode. Pass an overnight run of this and you can be assured of stability at that speed.

at 51C imo, that's getting alittle hot for an OC'd CPU
__________________
Core i5 2500K @ 4.2ghz | EVGA Superclock M020 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 8gb G.Skill Ripjaws X PC1600 | EVGA GTX760SC | SB X-Fi Xtremegamer | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610w PSU | (2) WD Black 640gb in RAID"0" | MSI SATA DVD-RW | Saitek Eclipse kb | Logi G5v2 mouse / Steelseries QcK | Antec P182 "Gunmetal" | Logitech 5300a THX 5.1 speakers | ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD
-Windows7 64bit
PaiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-04, 09:52 AM   #65
Bad_Boy
god of war.
 
Bad_Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: greensboro, nc.
Posts: 2,912
Send a message via AIM to Bad_Boy
Default Re: I took the plung, bought amd-fx-53

im thinking about getting a gig of that memory from newegg. its like 345
but i got alot of memory to sell so it shouldnt be too much after my profits.
__________________
[PS ID: Bad_Boy]
Bad_Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-04, 09:58 AM   #66
PaiN
Don't make me MAD!
 
PaiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 2,111
Default Re: I took the plung, bought amd-fx-53

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad_Boy
im thinking about getting a gig of that memory from newegg. its like 345
but i got alot of memory to sell so it shouldnt be too much after my profits.
That's the best way to do it, got to sell the old to take the sting out of the new hell if I didn't...I'd be seriously poor, broke & starving

Anyway, imo...1gb is min. for a gaming rig...with the likes of D3, HL2 and STALKER on the way....
__________________
Core i5 2500K @ 4.2ghz | EVGA Superclock M020 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 8gb G.Skill Ripjaws X PC1600 | EVGA GTX760SC | SB X-Fi Xtremegamer | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610w PSU | (2) WD Black 640gb in RAID"0" | MSI SATA DVD-RW | Saitek Eclipse kb | Logi G5v2 mouse / Steelseries QcK | Antec P182 "Gunmetal" | Logitech 5300a THX 5.1 speakers | ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD
-Windows7 64bit
PaiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-04, 10:04 AM   #67
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: I took the plung, bought amd-fx-53

Where would one obtain this hacked BIOS for the a8v?
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-04, 10:08 AM   #68
Bad_Boy
god of war.
 
Bad_Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: greensboro, nc.
Posts: 2,912
Send a message via AIM to Bad_Boy
Default Re: I took the plung, bought amd-fx-53

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaiN
That's the best way to do it, got to sell the old to take the sting out of the new hell if I didn't...I'd be seriously poor, broke & starving

Anyway, imo...1gb is min. for a gaming rig...with the likes of D3, HL2 and STALKER on the way....

yeah i could really use a gig of faster memory.

i have enough saved for 6800 or x800xt-pe, im just waiting.

the memory i have to sell is
2x512 of pc2100, 256mb of pc133, and 2x256 of pc4200. im hoping i can sell that around 345 for this newer memory.
__________________
[PS ID: Bad_Boy]
Bad_Boy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-19-04, 12:09 PM   #69
GlowStick
CoD4!
 
GlowStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,786
Send a message via AIM to GlowStick
Default Re: I took the plung, bought amd-fx-53

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riptide
Where would one obtain this hacked BIOS for the a8v?
I found it off a googlesearch that directed me to some fourm. But ill host it.

http://home.insightbb.com/~glowstick...eluxe-1005.zip

im gonna try prime95
__________________
Intel i7-2600K, Corsair 8Gig, Corsair H100, Corsair 650D, Corsair HX750, ATi 6970, WD Caviar Black 2TB
Sony Vaio SB: i7, 8Gig, Intel 320 300gig
GlowStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-04, 01:26 PM   #70
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: I took the plung, bought amd-fx-53

Quote:
Originally Posted by GlowStick
I found it off a googlesearch that directed me to some fourm. But ill host it.
Thanks
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-04, 01:55 PM   #71
GlowStick
CoD4!
 
GlowStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,786
Send a message via AIM to GlowStick
Default Re: I took the plung, bought amd-fx-53

Hm, i cant get it to pass prime95, but i get the same result at stock clocks with stock voltages? Im a bit confused and dissapointed right now hmm.
__________________
Intel i7-2600K, Corsair 8Gig, Corsair H100, Corsair 650D, Corsair HX750, ATi 6970, WD Caviar Black 2TB
Sony Vaio SB: i7, 8Gig, Intel 320 300gig
GlowStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-04, 05:09 PM   #72
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: I took the plung, bought amd-fx-53

No prime95 @ stock settings?? Bummer... Wonder why. Did you say it passes memtest OK?
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Takes Graphics Crown with AMD Radeon HD 7970 GHz Edition (AMD) News Archived News Items 0 06-22-12 04:50 AM
AMD FX-8120 Black Edition CPU Review (with Asus M5A99X EVO) News Archived News Items 0 06-21-12 09:30 AM
AMD Gooses the Clocks on 'Bulldozer' Opterons News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 03:24 PM
AMD vs Intel druga runda CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 7 08-20-02 02:09 PM
AMD 333MHz and nForce Speculation TheTaz Rumor Mill 5 08-17-02 12:28 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.