Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-16-04, 10:23 PM   #1
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Well I splurged

Good things and bad things have happened this week.

I picked up a Thermaltake 480W, However something was wrong with it. Comp USA didnt tell me.

When I got home. I plugged it into my motherboard, and the it sent a surge to the motherboard and KILLED my mainboard. It turns out Comp USA sold me a faulty PSU (From Thermaltake)

Bye Bye Asus A7n8x Deluxe

Comp USA would not reimburse me onbviously.. Even though I consider it somewhat their responcibility for selling me bad goods..


Anyway, So I had to buy a new motherboard, But I didnt stop there, I purchased 2 512 Sticks of PNY DDR400 memory,

And Athlon XP 2500+ Barton.

And a new Albatron Nforce mainboard, Has everything my asus had,

http://www.albatron.com.tw/images/pr...KX18DProII.jpg

but active cooling on the northebridge.

And of course a working thermal take 480 Watt PSU.



So Now I'm home. Boot up. Clock the FSB up to 200, Shoots my Barton up to 3200+ speeds, Dual Channel DDR512 Sticks of Memory Operating @ 200 mhz.

Cas Latency of 2.

I'm hoping I'm rdy for a new high end card, with this system.



So in essence

Athlon XP 2500+ @ 3200+ Speeds
Geforce FX 5900 Ultra 450/850
1 Gig DDR400 Memory
480 Watt PSU,


Performance increase is definately there, More Memory, More Speed, and well only thing left holding my system back is the Geforce FX 5900 Ultra

System is doing about 15,700 3dmarks @ this speeds with 57.72 Drivers for my FX 5900 Ultra. (With 2001SE)


P.S Check out the 480 Wat Thermtal Take Butterfly Power Supply I got.

Has shifting Color LED lights, Really fancy

http://www.thermaltake.com/purepower/main.htm
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members

Last edited by ChrisRay; 06-18-04 at 04:40 AM.
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-04, 10:32 PM   #2
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Well I splurged

If that PSU had a stronger rating on the +12v line, I would have bought that instead of the 560W TT Purepower that's in my machine now.

BTW, did you get the PM I sent you earlier today concerning your review?
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-04, 02:07 AM   #3
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: Well I splurged

Yes I got it. I like this Power Supply, Hope its enough for things to come though. The speed Boost has been immediately noticable in all my games though. Always had bad luck with OCing in the past, But this CPU is humming along perfectly @ 45C max load at 2.2 Ghz and 400 FSB

One problem is I cant seem to find a way to monitor temps within windows
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members

Last edited by ChrisRay; 06-17-04 at 02:45 AM.
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-04, 08:06 AM   #4
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Well I splurged

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisRay
One problem is I cant seem to find a way to monitor temps within windows

Motherboard Monitor
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-04, 08:43 AM   #5
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: Well I splurged

I just splurged too, Athlon64 3500+ & ASUS A8V DELUXE *clenches* £450 aka $825US. My Girlfriend is going to butcher me
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-04, 09:40 AM   #6
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default Re: Well I splurged

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazz
I just splurged too, Athlon64 3500+ & ASUS A8V DELUXE *clenches* £450 aka $825US. My Girlfriend is going to butcher me
As did I

A week or two ago I got a 2nd 15" NEC LCD, and last night I ordered an A64-3200 and Gigabyte K8NS Pro.

Horray for June and all it's expensive glory!
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-04, 11:34 AM   #7
TheTaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 621
Default Re: Well I splurged

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisRay
Yes I got it. I like this Power Supply, Hope its enough for things to come though. The speed Boost has been immediately noticable in all my games though. Always had bad luck with OCing in the past, But this CPU is humming along perfectly @ 45C max load at 2.2 Ghz and 400 FSB

One problem is I cant seem to find a way to monitor temps within windows
Grats on the new rig.

Is that a Mobile 2500+ (1.45 Volt / 266 Core) or a Desktop 2500+ (1.65 Volt / 333 core)?

If it's a mobile... you should be able to push it further, since the multiplier is unlocked and it uses less voltage.

As for CPU temp monitoring, I just used the utility off the ABit site for my Abit motherboard. Might want to check if Albatron has one... just in case that's more accurate than a 3rd party monitor (Polls more often or whatever).

Regards,

Taz
TheTaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-04, 02:32 PM   #8
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default Re: Well I splurged

MBM is also a good temp monitoring tool.
__________________
primary MBP Core i5 2010 | HR | OCZ 120GB SSD
gaming Core i5-2500K @ 4.1GHz w/ CM Hyper212+ | MSI N560GTX-Ti TF II/OC | MSI P67A-GD55 | Silverstone FT02 | X360 250GB + Kinect
htpc IONITX-A-U | 2GB | M350 | XBMC Linux | SABnzbd, sickbeard, couchpotato | NAS Synology DS411J | 4TB
hometheater KURO PDP-5020 | Marantz SR6005 | Definitive BP7001s, CLR3000, BPVXPs
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-17-04, 07:01 PM   #9
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: Well I splurged

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTaz
Grats on the new rig.

Is that a Mobile 2500+ (1.45 Volt / 266 Core) or a Desktop 2500+ (1.65 Volt / 333 core)?

If it's a mobile... you should be able to push it further, since the multiplier is unlocked and it uses less voltage.

As for CPU temp monitoring, I just used the utility off the ABit site for my Abit motherboard. Might want to check if Albatron has one... just in case that's more accurate than a 3rd party monitor (Polls more often or whatever).

Regards,

Taz
I'm Using Motherboard Monitor, Still doing 45C rock stable @ Full load. I figure it might hit 50C if tempatures if room tempatures increased substancially. But with currentl room temps its doing 45C, which is about 12C cooler than my tbredb did @ 2.1 Ghz.

It's not a mobile and it aint unlocked. I dont really see any need to Overclock any further. 2 sticks of DDR400 Memory operating in Dual Channel Mode +2500 to 3200+ speeds is a pretty satisfying Overclock for me, I have no need to "push" the candle. This is all on the default 1.65 vcore too. Since the performance I am getting is more than acceptable.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.