Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 06-19-04, 05:55 AM   #1
hope22

Default nvidia driver makes x flicker at random times

This is my first posting so I suppose it will show. Please, bear with me and give me a hand.

I have been using the nvidia driver for about a couple of months. Everything seems to work fine except that the screen flickers at times. It usually happens when I move the mouse someplace or I use the wheel for scrolling or minimize/maximize a window.

There is no flickering when using the vesa driver. But there are huge disadvantages to using this driver. For starters, I can't get it to work with a 1280x800 resolution on my P15 toshiba laptop. The graphics card is an NVIDIA® GeForce™ FX Go5100.

The nv driver is not good either. This one really is unstable for me. It makes X crash, etc.

Incidentally, let me mention that I have not seen the screen flicker since I started composing this message. Sometimes it goes a long time without doing anything, but if I start moving windows around, it does not take long for the flickering to occur.

By the way, I do not have the most recent version of the driver right now. I changed to the version I have right now after using the new version for about a month. The new version and the old version present the same problem to me. Random flickering.

Thanks to anyone that can help. I would also like to know whether I am the only one with this issue.

Oh well, I just saw one of those "nice" flickering instances. This time it just happenend because I moved the mouse.
Attached Files
File Type: txt XF86Config-4.txt (4.7 KB, 679 views)
File Type: txt XFree86.0.log.txt (34.0 KB, 478 views)
hope22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-04, 12:10 PM   #2
uberpenguin
BISCUIT HAMMER

Send a message via AIM to uberpenguin Send a message via Yahoo to uberpenguin
Default Re: nvidia driver makes x flicker at random times